Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Charter school system

IDEA Public Schools

Administrative office: Weslaco · 79,608 students

Official charter system websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
82/1002025-26
Change
−8 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+4.0 ptsvs 78 average · 63 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
24 of 63tied with 1 other
B82

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 89 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 78 average for 63 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Top placement

Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)

65.1% 1st of 35 charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure · 2025-26

See the full measure

Top placement

Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA

94.3% 1st of 35 charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure · 2025-26

See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
46%vs 39.1% avg · +6.9 pts
Masters
18%vs 14.9% avg · +3.1 pts

Among 63 charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this charter school system.

Read the full rating context and placement

IDEA Public Schools is rated B by TEA, scoring 82 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 78 average for 63 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 24th of 63 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context (tied with 1 other).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this charter school system serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Students entering this charter system
  11. Discipline and removal from class
  12. 127 schools in this charter school system
  13. Spending per student
  14. Teachers
  15. Where this charter school system ranks best
  16. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Dated TEA notices for campuses in this charter school system. They are shown separately from the charter school system rating because they describe specific campuses, support programs and transfer eligibility.

Campuses identified for federal improvement support
29

2026 TEA list

Campuses on the final PEG transfer list
0

2026–27 school year

Share of campuses identified for improvement

This charter school system
22.8%
Selected comparison
34.8%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter school systems reporting

−12.0 pts vs similar economic context

Share of campuses on the PEG list

This charter school system
0.0%
Selected comparison
0.0%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter school systems reporting

±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
See the campuses and official reasons
Official improvement and Public Education Grant notices for campuses in IDEA Public Schools
CampusNoticeOfficial status or reason
IDEA Mesa Hills College PreparatoryCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Achieve College PreparatoryCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Robindale College PreparatoryCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Spears College PreparatoryCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Hidden Meadow College PreparatoryCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Donna AcademyCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Pharr AcademyTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Special Education
IDEA Edinburg AcademyTSITargeted Support and Improvement · White
IDEA South Flores AcademyTSITargeted Support and Improvement · English Learners
IDEA Monterrey Park AcademyCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Walzem AcademyCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Najim AcademyCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Brackenridge AcademyCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Ewing Halsell AcademyTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Special Education
IDEA Rundberg AcademyTSITargeted Support and Improvement · English Learners, Special Education
IDEA Bluff Springs AcademyCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Rise AcademyCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Achieve AcademyTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Hispanic, English Learners
IDEA Parmer Park AcademyATSAdditional Targeted Support · Special Education
IDEA Spears AcademyATSAdditional Targeted Support · Hispanic, Continuously Enrolled
IDEA Hidden Meadow AcademyTSITargeted Support and Improvement · White
IDEA Horizon Vista College PreparatoryCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA La Joya College PreparatoryCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Southeast College PreparatoryCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Yukon College PreparatoryATSAdditional Targeted Support · White
IDEA Edgecliff AcademyATSAdditional Targeted Support · Special Education
IDEA La Joya AcademyCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
IDEA Ambrose and Freda Robinson AcademyTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Continuously Enrolled
IDEA Southeast AcademyCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance

Selected comparison percentages describe how common each dated campus notice is across reporting charter school systems in that group. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes a campus's official status.

Sources: TEA's 2026 Schools Identified for Improvement and Public Education Grant program, fetched 24 August 2026. A PEG listing makes a student assigned to that campus eligible to request a transfer; it does not guarantee acceptance, available space or transportation.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this charter school system has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averageIDEA Public Schools 9085828382 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 89 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26B8278.0 63 reporting79.7 165 reporting
2024-25B8376.8 62 reporting79.2 160 reporting
2023-24B8275.7 62 reporting78.2 159 reporting
2022-23B8574.8 62 reporting77.4 158 reporting
2021-22A9081.1 57 reporting82.4 150 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement78 C+4.2 vs similar economic context · 63 reporting
  • School Progress83 B+4.2 vs similar economic context · 63 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps78 C+2.3 vs similar economic context · 62 reporting
  • Academic Growth70 C−2.5 vs similar economic context · 61 reporting
  • Relative Performance83 B+6.0 vs similar economic context · 62 reporting
  • IDEA Public Schools
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (63 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement78C2
School Progress83B7
Closing the Gaps78C2
Academic Growth70C10
Relative Performance83B7

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 2 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this charter school system that better measure is School Progress (83), so Student Achievement (78) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 83.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level72%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting
  • Meets grade level52%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting
  • Meets grade level37%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 reporting
  • Masters grade level20%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 52 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 52 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 52 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (63 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
94.4%+13.7 pts vs similar economic context average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 28 rated charter school systems reporting
Five-Year
97.0%+21.3 pts vs similar economic context average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 28 rated charter school systems reporting
Six-Year
98.2%+22.0 pts vs similar economic context average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 28 rated charter school systems reporting
Dropout Rate
1.0%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 28 rated charter school systems reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only charter school systems in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported charter school system rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
99.0%+25.0 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria99.0%74.0%+25.0 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter school systems reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course94.3%51.1%+43.2 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter school systems reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA94.3%26.8%+67.5 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter school systems reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)65.1%17.9%+47.2 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter school systems reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course0.5%24.7%−24.2 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter school systems reporting
Earned an industry-based certification1.1%16.8%−15.7 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter school systems reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%1.0%−1.0 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter school systems reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%5.0%−5.0 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter school systems reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit3.4%6.1%−2.7 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter school systems reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness2.1%1.3%+0.8 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter school systems reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student8.7%8.7%+0.0 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter school systems reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces2.0%2.2%−0.2 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter school systems reporting

Every row is a share of this charter school system's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this charter school system minus the average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported charter school system percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter school systems for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
2,291

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
1,776

77.5% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
406

17.7% of graduates

Not trackable
109

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This charter school system
2,291
Selected comparison
291.4

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 32 rated charter school systems reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This charter school system
1,776
Selected comparison
155.9

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 32 rated charter school systems reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This charter school system
77.5%
Selected comparison
41.9%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 32 rated charter school systems reporting

+35.6 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This charter school system
17.7%
Selected comparison
53.4%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 32 rated charter school systems reporting

−35.7 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This charter school system
4.8%
Selected comparison
4.7%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 32 rated charter school systems reporting

+0.1 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. U. OF TEXAS-RIO GRANDE VALLEY (003599)640
  2. SOUTH TEXAS COLLEGE (031034)227
  3. TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY (003632)118

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this charter school system serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
79,608
Economically disadvantaged
81.5%−1.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
43.5%+13.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
12.4%−2.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.5%+2.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
15.7%−11.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

IDEA Public Schools

African American: 7.6%Hispanic: 85.2%White: 5.2%American Indian: 0.1%Asian: 1.1%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 0.6%
  • African American 7.6%
  • Hispanic 85.2%
  • White 5.2%
  • American Indian 0.1%
  • Asian 1.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 0.6%

Selected comparison average For charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting for every category shown · 63 in full cohort

African American: 24.4%Hispanic: 65.9%White: 5.7%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 1.9%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.9%
  • African American 24.4%
  • Hispanic 65.9%
  • White 5.7%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 1.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.9%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
79,607
Economically disadvantaged students
64,849
Emergent bilingual students
34,601
Special education students
9,899

Early college pathways

Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
90

TEA-published share: 0.1%

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 79,608 students in 2025–26, an increase of 178 (0.2%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
79,608

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+178

Increase · +0.2%

Change since 2021–22
+11,620

Increase · +17.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This charter school system
79,608
Selected comparison
3,551.6

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter school systems reporting

Student enrollment by school year for IDEA Public Schools
School yearStudents enrolledIDEA Public SchoolsChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 67,988 First available year 3,121.3
2022–23 74,217 Increase of 6,229 (9.2%) 3,285.4
2023–24 76,819 Increase of 2,602 (3.5%) 3,368.7
2024–25 79,430 Increase of 2,611 (3.4%) 3,499.9
2025–26 79,608 Increase of 178 (0.2%) 3,551.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter school systems in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this charter school system's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students entering this charter system

How many students live in a geographic school district and attend this charter system. These are movement counts, not a quality rating.

Transfers in
79,608

Live in a geographic district; attend this charter system · 2025–26

Transfers in · 2025–26

This charter school system
79,608
Selected comparison
3,551.6

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter school systems reporting

Official transfers into IDEA Public Schools by school year
School yearTransfers inIDEA Public SchoolsTransfers inselected charter comparison average
2021–22 67,988 3,121.3
2022–23 74,217 3,285.4
2023–24 76,819 3,368.7
2024–25 79,430 3,499.9
2025–26 79,608 3,551.6

Largest reported resident-district origins

  1. Brownsville ISD 0319015,979
  2. Edinburg CISD 1089044,394
  3. Northside ISD 0159153,943
  4. La Joya ISD 1089123,599
  5. Fort Worth ISD 2209053,343

Top reported flows only. TEA published 102 of 171 counterpart counts and masked 69.

TEA does not publish a transfers-out total or a resident population for this charter system. A charter system is not a geographic attendance boundary, so a net transfer balance cannot be calculated and this page does not label the system a transfer gainer or loser.

Selected comparison figures are average reported transfer-in counts among charter systems, not rates; system size affects them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This charter system’s official total does not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The total and origin rows are TEA’s published charter-system figures; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer-in count does not say why a family chose the charter or whether one school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
4,681

5.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
7,232

8.58 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
84,304

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This charter school system
5.5%
Selected comparison
8.1%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 38 rated charter school systems reporting

−2.5 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This charter school system
8.58
Selected comparison
13.4

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 38 rated charter school systems reporting

−4.8 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for IDEA Public Schools
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 64,844 65 0.1% 85 0.13 2.7% 3.6
2021–22 73,002 2,269 3.1% 3,177 4.35 8.2% 12.1
2022–23 79,075 3,544 4.5% 5,058 6.40 8.6% 14.4
2023–24 82,309 4,025 4.9% 6,035 7.33 9.1% 14.9
2024–25 84,304 4,681 5.5% 7,232 8.58 8.1% 13.4
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for IDEA Public Schools in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 4,681 5.5% 7,232 8.58 8.1% 13.4
In-school suspensions 2,043 2.4% 2,678 3.18 5.1% 8
Out-of-school suspensions 3,248 3.9% 4,499 5.34 5.6% 7.7
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions 53 0.1% 54 0.06 0.7% 0.7
Mandatory expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter school systems can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this charter school system's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

127 schools in this charter school system

Number of schools in the charter school system

This charter school system
127
Selected comparison
6.6

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter school systems reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average charter school system size. This charter school system's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
63
K-12
60
Middle / Jr. High
3
High School
1
Browse all 127 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this charter school system
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
IDEA Riverview College PreparatoryK-12A96814
IDEA Quest College PreparatoryK-12A95664
IDEA Ingram Hills College PreparatoryK-12A95508
IDEA Rundberg College PreparatoryK-12A95792
IDEA Frontier College PreparatoryK-12A94793
IDEA San Benito College PreparatoryK-12A94800
IDEA Edgemere College PreparatoryK-12A94598
IDEA Mission College PreparatoryK-12A93806
IDEA Pharr College PreparatoryK-12A93864
IDEA Carver College PreparatoryK-12A93599
IDEA Monterrey Park College PreparatoryK-12A93716
IDEA Sports Park College PreparatoryK-12A93493
IDEA Edinburg College PreparatoryK-12A92804
IDEA McAllen College PreparatoryK-12A92895
IDEA Weslaco Pike College PreparatoryK-12A92735
IDEA North Mission College PreparatoryK-12A92794
IDEA Toros College PreparatoryHigh SchoolA92199
IDEA Kyle College PreparatoryK-12A92692
IDEA San Juan College PreparatoryK-12A91720
IDEA Brownsville College PreparatoryK-12A91761
IDEA Rio Grande City College PreparatoryK-12A91681
IDEA Tres Lagos College PreparatoryK-12A91659
IDEA Pflugerville College PreparatoryK-12A91656
IDEA Round Rock Tech College PreparatoryK-12A91534
IDEA Walzem College PreparatoryK-12A90681
IDEA Najim College PreparatoryK-12A90503
IDEA Owassa College PreparatoryK-12A90674
IDEA Donna College PreparatoryK-12B89828
IDEA Elsa College PreparatoryK-12B88739
IDEA Brackenridge College PreparatoryK-12B88699
IDEA Los Encinos College PreparatoryK-12B88891
IDEA Health Professions College PreparatoryK-12B88427
IDEA Burke College PreparatoryK-12B88747
IDEA Rio Grande City AcademyElementaryB88701
IDEA Alamo College PreparatoryK-12B87750
IDEA Montopolis College PreparatoryK-12B87824
IDEA Riverview AcademyElementaryB87718
IDEA South Flores College PreparatoryK-12B86704
IDEA Ewing Halsell College PreparatoryK-12B86584
IDEA Rio Vista College PreparatoryK-12B86632
IDEA Quest AcademyElementaryB86557
IDEA Elsa AcademyElementaryB86702
IDEA Robindale AcademyElementaryB86642
IDEA Weslaco College PreparatoryK-12B85713
IDEA Mission AcademyElementaryB85581
IDEA Judson AcademyElementaryB85643
IDEA Edgemere AcademyElementaryB85712
IDEA Judson College PreparatoryK-12B84731
IDEA Mays College PreparatoryK-12B84701
IDEA Mesquite Hills College PreparatoryK-12B84415
IDEA Round Rock Tech AcademyElementaryB84689
IDEA Lake Houston AcademyElementaryB84718
IDEA Bluff Springs College PreparatoryK-12B83701
IDEA Parmer Park College PreparatoryK-12B83708
IDEA Harlingen College PreparatoryK-12B83551
IDEA Palmview College PreparatoryK-12B83532
IDEA San Benito AcademyElementaryB83673
IDEA A W Brown College PreparatoryMiddle / Jr. HighB83192
IDEA Eastside College PreparatoryK-12B82500
IDEA Mesa Hills AcademyElementaryB82638
IDEA North Mission AcademyElementaryB81682
IDEA Tres Lagos AcademyElementaryB81605
IDEA Health Professions AcademyElementaryB81329
IDEA Rise College PreparatoryK-12B80644
IDEA Pharr AcademyElementaryB80674
IDEA Mays AcademyElementaryB80615
IDEA Owassa AcademyElementaryB80638
IDEA Los Encinos AcademyElementaryB80718
IDEA Harlingen AcademyElementaryB80620
IDEA Lopez College PreparatoryMiddle / Jr. HighB80122
IDEA Spears College PreparatoryK-12C79702
IDEA Alamo AcademyElementaryC79668
IDEA Edgecliff College PreparatoryK-12C79738
IDEA Lake Houston College PreparatoryK-12C79623
IDEA Mesquite Hills AcademyElementaryC79623
IDEA Frontier AcademyElementaryC77706
IDEA McAllen AcademyElementaryC77739
IDEA Eastside AcademyElementaryC77370
IDEA Edinburg AcademyElementaryC76715
IDEA Ingram Hills AcademyElementaryC76520
IDEA Rio Vista AcademyElementaryC76600
IDEA Hardy AcademyElementaryC76648
IDEA Hidden Meadow AcademyElementaryC76563
IDEA Horizon Vista AcademyElementaryC76703
IDEA Weslaco Pike AcademyElementaryC75696
IDEA Parmer Park AcademyElementaryC75613
IDEA Robindale College PreparatoryK-12C74780
IDEA Horizon Vista College PreparatoryK-12C74452
IDEA Hardy College PreparatoryK-12C73694
IDEA Ewing Halsell AcademyElementaryC73673
IDEA Burke AcademyElementaryC73680
IDEA Yukon AcademyElementaryC73723
IDEA Mesa Hills College PreparatoryK-12C72612
IDEA Brownsville AcademyElementaryC72636
IDEA Kyle AcademyElementaryC72600
IDEA Yukon College PreparatoryK-12C72604
IDEA Achieve College PreparatoryK-12C71490
IDEA Converse College PreparatoryK-12C71577
IDEA Weslaco AcademyElementaryC71582
IDEA Hidden Meadow College PreparatoryK-12C70363
IDEA Carver AcademyElementaryC70419
IDEA San Juan AcademyElementaryD69532
IDEA Rundberg AcademyElementaryD69648
IDEA Pflugerville AcademyElementaryD69652
IDEA Palmview AcademyElementaryD69654
IDEA Edgecliff AcademyElementaryD69730
IDEA La Joya AcademyElementaryD69638
IDEA Donna AcademyElementaryD68729
IDEA Southeast College PreparatoryK-12D68566
IDEA Sports Park AcademyElementaryD67565
IDEA Ambrose and Freda Robinson AcademyElementaryD67438
IDEA South Flores AcademyElementaryD66630
IDEA Ambrose and Freda Robinson College PreparatorMiddle / Jr. HighD65116
IDEA Montopolis AcademyElementaryD64645
IDEA Spears AcademyElementaryD63719
IDEA Converse AcademyElementaryD63682
IDEA Achieve AcademyElementaryD61500
IDEA La Joya College PreparatoryK-12D60514
IDEA A W Brown AcademyElementaryF58478
IDEA Najim AcademyElementaryF56463
IDEA Monterrey Park AcademyElementaryF55554
IDEA Southeast AcademyElementaryF54683
IDEA Brackenridge AcademyElementaryF52611
IDEA Bluff Springs AcademyElementaryF52517
IDEA Walzem AcademyElementaryF50604
IDEA Rise AcademyElementaryF48641
IDEA Lopez AcademyElementaryNot Rated—362

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$9k$14k$20k20182020202220242025
  • IDEA Public Schools
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This charter school system
$14,202
Selected comparison
$15,629

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter school systems reporting

−$1,427 vs similar economic context

This charter school system spends $4,181 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $4,770 less per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearIDEA Public SchoolsTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$10,855$12,916$13,054$10,397 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 54 rated charter school systems reporting
2019$11,089$12,976$13,108$10,588 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 55 rated charter school systems reporting
2020$11,676$13,925$14,058$11,344 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 rated charter school systems reporting
2021$11,823$14,752$14,797$12,459 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 58 rated charter school systems reporting
2022$13,328$15,436$15,708$15,565 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated charter school systems reporting
2023$12,890$16,223$16,792$15,260 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 62 rated charter school systems reporting
2024$13,294$17,513$18,125$15,876 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter school systems reporting
2025$14,202$18,383$18,972$15,629 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter school systems reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$63,999+$194 vs similar economic context
Teachers
4,528+4316.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
17.6+1.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

IDEA Public Schools

Beginning: 15.2%1 to 5 years: 64.4%6 to 10 years: 15.8%11 to 20 years: 4.3%21 to 30 years: 0.3%Over 30 years: 0.1%
  • Beginning 15.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 64.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 15.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 4.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 0.3%
  • Over 30 years 0.1%

Selected comparison average For charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting for every category shown · 63 in full cohort

Beginning: 10.3%1 to 5 years: 39.5%6 to 10 years: 21%11 to 20 years: 19.6%21 to 30 years: 7.2%Over 30 years: 2.4%
  • Beginning 10.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 39.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 21%
  • 11 to 20 years 19.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 7.2%
  • Over 30 years 2.4%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 17.2% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This charter school system
17.2%
Selected comparison
31.4%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter school systems reporting

−14.2 pts vs similar economic context
Charter-system teacher turnover rate by school year for IDEA Public Schools
School yearTeacher turnover rateIDEA Public SchoolsAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2117.1%24.6%
2021–2218.5%28.5%
2022–2324.5%35.2%
2023–2422.7%33.4%
2024–2517.2%31.4%

TEA defines this charter school system rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the charter school system in the current fall. That can include leaving the charter school system or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this charter school system's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this charter school system ranks best

Out of 80 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

2 measures

  • 1of 35

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 1of 35

    Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 35 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

3 measures

  • 5of 35

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 8of 35

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 9of 35

    Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 35 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this charter school system ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this charter school system; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no charter school system would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this charter school system as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset