Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Open-enrollment charter campus

IDEA Burke Academy

IDEA Public Schools · San Antonio · 680 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
73/1002025-26
Change
−19 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−8.3 ptsvs 81.3 average · 150 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
115 of 150tied with 3 others
C73

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 94 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 81.3 average for 150 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
65%vs 51.5% avg · +13.5 pts
Masters
36%vs 21.4% avg · +14.6 pts

Among 150 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

10.9% −14.2 pts vs 25.1%

  • 10.9% is 14.2 percentage points lower than the 25.1% average among 143 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Attendance above the similar-context average

95.1% +3 pts vs 92.1%

  • 95.1% is 3 percentage points above the 92.1% average among 143 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

IDEA Burke Academy is rated C by TEA, scoring 73 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 81.3 average for 150 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context. It is down 19 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 115th of 150 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context (tied with 3 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averageIDEA Burke Academy 9281838573 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 94 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26C7381.3 150 reporting81.7 829 reporting
2024-25B8583.2 143 reporting81.3 797 reporting
2023-24B8381.5 134 reporting79.5 776 reporting
2022-23B8183.0 128 reporting79.6 749 reporting
2021-22A9284.9 119 reporting84.5 700 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement73 C−7.3 vs similar economic context · 150 reporting
  • School Progress74 C−7.2 vs similar economic context · 150 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps72 C−6.1 vs similar economic context · 145 reporting
  • Academic Growth58 F−15.2 vs similar economic context · 139 reporting
  • Relative Performance74 C−6.1 vs similar economic context · 148 reporting
  • IDEA Burke Academy
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (150 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement73C7
School Progress74C6
Closing the Gaps72C8
Academic Growth58F2
Relative Performance74C6

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 6 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (74), so Student Achievement (73) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 74.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level70%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 reporting
  • Masters grade level20%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 reporting
  • Meets grade level65%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 reporting
  • Masters grade level36%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level58%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level64%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 143 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 143 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 143 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (150 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
680
Economically disadvantaged
62.5%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
15.6%−6.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
10.0%−3.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.1%+3.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
10.9%−14.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

IDEA Burke Academy

African American: 13.8%Hispanic: 74.1%White: 8.5%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.8%
  • African American 13.8%
  • Hispanic 74.1%
  • White 8.5%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.8%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 reporting for every category shown · 150 in full cohort

African American: 21.5%Hispanic: 53.8%White: 15.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 5.9%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.1%
  • African American 21.5%
  • Hispanic 53.8%
  • White 15.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 5.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.1%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
680
Economically disadvantaged students
425
Emergent bilingual students
106
Special education students
68

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
51
Students in TEA mobility denominator
648
TEA-published mobility rate
7.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 680 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 50 (6.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
680

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−50

Decrease · −6.8%

Change since 2021–22
+13

Increase · +1.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
680
Selected comparison
506.3

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 rated charter campuses reporting

Student enrollment by school year for IDEA Burke Academy
School yearStudents enrolledIDEA Burke AcademyChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 667 First available year 470.1
2022–23 610 Decrease of 57 (8.5%) 486.9
2023–24 720 Increase of 110 (18.0%) 502.2
2024–25 730 Increase of 10 (1.4%) 505.4
2025–26 680 Decrease of 50 (6.8%) 506.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
754

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for IDEA Burke Academy
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 616 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 720 Suppressed — 12 1.67 — 15.6
2022–23 647 Suppressed — 12 1.85 — 15.8
2023–24 779 11 1.4% 14 1.80 10.1% 17.8
2024–25 754 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for IDEA Burke Academy in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$8k$14k$20k2020202220242025
  • IDEA Burke Academy
  • Parent district: IDEA Public Schools
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,624
Selected comparison
$11,557

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting

−$1,933 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,624 per student for this campus, $14,202 per student for its parent district, IDEA Public Schools, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearIDEA Burke AcademyParent district: IDEA Public SchoolsTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2020$10,938$11,676$14,058$8,877 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 109 rated charter campuses reporting
2021$8,800$11,823$14,797$9,361 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 118 rated charter campuses reporting
2022$10,641$13,328$15,708$10,972 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 123 rated charter campuses reporting
2023$11,662$12,890$16,792$11,214 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 129 rated charter campuses reporting
2024$9,551$13,294$18,125$11,370 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 134 rated charter campuses reporting
2025$9,624$14,202$18,972$11,557 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$64,944+$2,948 vs similar economic context
Teachers
31+0.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
22.1+4.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

IDEA Burke Academy

Beginning: 15.6%1 to 5 years: 68.2%6 to 10 years: 13%11 to 20 years: 2.9%
  • Beginning 15.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 68.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 13%
  • 11 to 20 years 2.9%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 reporting for every category shown · 150 in full cohort

Beginning: 16.5%1 to 5 years: 42.7%6 to 10 years: 20.1%11 to 20 years: 15.3%21 to 30 years: 4.5%Over 30 years: 0.9%
  • Beginning 16.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 42.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 15.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 4.5%
  • Over 30 years 0.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for IDEA Burke Academy in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classIDEA Burke Academy · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten2520.3
Grade 125.721.9
Grade 231.823
Grade 332.122.8
Grade 431.723.2
Grade 534.223

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 108807192.