Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Geographic public school district

Forney ISD

Kaufman County · Region 10: Richardson · 19,695 students

Official district websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
79/1002025-26
Change
+3 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−3.3 ptsvs 82.3 average · 360 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
240 of 360tied with 17 others
C79

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 81 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 82.3 average for 360 rated districts serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

College, career or military ready above the similar-context average

99% +10.4 pts vs 88.6%

  • 99% is 10.4 percentage points above the 88.6% average among 347 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s) above the similar-context average

12.7% +5.8 pts vs 6.9%

  • 12.7% is 5.8 percentage points above the 6.9% average among 348 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.

Read the full rating context and placement

Forney ISD is rated C by TEA, scoring 79 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 82.3 average for 360 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is up 3 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 240th of 360 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 17 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this district serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Students crossing district lines
  11. Discipline and removal from class
  12. Community around the district
  13. 24 schools in this district
  14. Spending per student
  15. Teachers
  16. Where this district ranks best
  17. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Dated TEA notices for campuses in this district. They are shown separately from the district rating because they describe specific campuses, support programs and transfer eligibility.

Campuses identified for federal improvement support
4

2026 TEA list

Campuses on the final PEG transfer list
0

2026–27 school year

Share of campuses identified for improvement

This district
16.7%
Selected comparison
17.9%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting

−1.2 pts vs similar economic context

Share of campuses on the PEG list

This district
0.0%
Selected comparison
1.8%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting

−1.8 pts vs similar economic context
See the campuses and official reasons
Official improvement and Public Education Grant notices for campuses in Forney ISD
CampusNoticeOfficial status or reason
Brown MSTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Special Education
Jackson MSTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Two or More Races
Rhodes IntTSITargeted Support and Improvement · African American, Economically Disadvantaged, Special Education
Dewberry ElemTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Economically Disadvantaged, Continuously Enrolled

Selected comparison percentages describe how common each dated campus notice is across reporting districts in that group. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes a campus's official status.

Sources: TEA's 2026 Schools Identified for Improvement and Public Education Grant program, fetched 24 August 2026. A PEG listing makes a student assigned to that campus eligible to request a transfer; it does not guarantee acceptance, available space or transportation.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageForney ISD 7680787979 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 81 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7982.3 360 reporting81.7 1,019 reporting
2024-25C7981.5 360 reporting80.3 1,019 reporting
2023-24C7879.7 360 reporting78.7 1,017 reporting
2022-23B8080.2 360 reporting79.2 1,018 reporting
2021-22C7681.0 359 reporting80.6 1,017 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement79 C−3.8 vs similar economic context · 360 reporting
  • School Progress77 C−4.3 vs similar economic context · 360 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps78 C−2.0 vs similar economic context · 359 reporting
  • Academic Growth72 C−0.9 vs similar economic context · 360 reporting
  • Relative Performance77 C−3.7 vs similar economic context · 360 reporting
  • Forney ISD
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (360 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement79C1
School Progress77C3
Closing the Gaps78C2
Academic Growth72C8
Relative Performance77C3

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this district that better measure is Student Achievement (79), so School Progress (77) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 79.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level70%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting
  • Meets grade level51%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting
  • Meets grade level42%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 359 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 359 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 359 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 353 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 353 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 353 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (360 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
94.1%−1.7 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 349 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
92.8%−3.3 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 346 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
94.1%−2.2 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 347 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
2.1%+1.7 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 350 rated districts reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
99.0%+10.4 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria99.0%88.6%+10.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 347 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course80.6%55.9%+24.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA22.3%28.4%−6.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)12.7%6.9%+5.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course25.3%35.8%−10.5 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification33.5%41.4%−7.9 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate2.1%1.4%+0.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree4.2%2.4%+1.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.2%3.3%−3.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness1.9%3.1%−1.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student7.1%8.1%−1.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces2.6%3.6%−1.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated districts reporting

Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this district minus the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
1,094

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
454

41.5% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
617

56.4% of graduates

Not trackable
23

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This district
1,094
Selected comparison
422.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 273 rated districts reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This district
454
Selected comparison
183.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 273 rated districts reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This district
41.5%
Selected comparison
46.9%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 273 rated districts reporting

−5.4 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This district
56.4%
Selected comparison
50.0%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 273 rated districts reporting

+6.4 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This district
2.1%
Selected comparison
3.1%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 273 rated districts reporting

−1.0 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. DALLAS COLLEGE DISTRICT (009331)105
  2. TRINITY VALLEY COMM COLLEGE (003572)42
  3. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH TEXAS (003594)30

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this district serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
19,695
Economically disadvantaged
51.3%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
13.8%+4.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.8%+0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.4%−1.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
19.4%+5.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Forney ISD

African American: 45.2%Hispanic: 27.8%White: 19.4%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 2.8%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.3%
  • African American 45.2%
  • Hispanic 27.8%
  • White 19.4%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 2.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.3%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting for every category shown · 360 in full cohort

African American: 4.8%Hispanic: 34.8%White: 55.1%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 1.1%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 4.8%
  • Hispanic 34.8%
  • White 55.1%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 1.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
19,643
Economically disadvantaged students
10,086
Emergent bilingual students
2,714
Special education students
3,685

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 19,695 students in 2025–26, an increase of 1,130 (6.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
19,695

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+1,130

Increase · +6.1%

Change since 2021–22
+5,346

Increase · +37.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This district
19,695
Selected comparison
4,511.7

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Forney ISD
School yearStudents enrolledForney ISDChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 14,349 First available year 4,393.7
2022–23 16,211 Increase of 1,862 (13.0%) 4,483.9
2023–24 17,002 Increase of 791 (4.9%) 4,515.2
2024–25 18,565 Increase of 1,563 (9.2%) 4,547.3
2025–26 19,695 Increase of 1,130 (6.1%) 4,511.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students crossing district lines

How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.

Transfers in
312

Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26

Transfers out
981

Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26

Transfers in minus transfers out
−669

Arithmetic context only

Transfers in · 2025–26

This district
312
Selected comparison
241.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 341 rated districts reporting

Transfers out · 2025–26

This district
981
Selected comparison
518.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 339 rated districts reporting

Transfers in minus out · 2025–26

This district
−669
Selected comparison
−292

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 324 rated districts reporting

Official transfer totals by school year for Forney ISD
School yearTransfers inForney ISDTransfers outForney ISDIn minus outForney ISDTransfers inselected comparison averageTransfers outselected comparison averageIn minus outselected comparison average
2021–22 274 606 −332 197.8 408 −219
2022–23 222 709 −487 201.8 441.5 −250
2023–24 234 924 −690 208.3 454.9 −258
2024–25 249 976 −727 225.2 504.4 −290
2025–26 312 981 −669 241.9 518.9 −292

Largest reported origins for transfers in

  1. Crandall ISD 12990165
  2. Terrell ISD 12990656
  3. Mesquite ISD 05791443
  4. Rockwall ISD 19990129
  5. Dallas ISD 05790525

Top reported flows only. TEA published 8 of 37 counterpart counts and masked 29.

Largest reported destinations for transfers out

  1. Dallas ISD 057905151
  2. Mesquite ISD 057914150
  3. Hallsville ISD 10290478
  4. Rockwall ISD 19990162
  5. Uplift Education 05780362

Top reported flows only. TEA published 18 of 59 counterpart counts and masked 41.

Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
3,098

15.3% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
9,912

49.11 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
20,183

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This district
15.3%
Selected comparison
10.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 314 rated districts reporting

+5.2 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This district
49.11
Selected comparison
21.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 322 rated districts reporting

+27.2 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Forney ISD
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 13,914 924 6.6% 1,983 14.25 8.1% 15.7
2021–22 16,115 2,454 15.2% 6,991 43.38 10.2% 21.9
2022–23 17,583 2,680 15.2% 7,694 43.76 10.8% 23.2
2023–24 18,585 3,006 16.2% 8,952 48.17 10.5% 23.1
2024–25 20,183 3,098 15.3% 9,912 49.11 10.2% 21.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Forney ISD in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 3,098 15.3% 9,912 49.11 10.2% 21.9
In-school suspensions 2,765 13.7% 7,312 36.23 8.9% 16.5
Out-of-school suspensions 1,181 5.8% 2,172 10.76 3.1% 4.6
DAEP placements 368 1.8% 417 2.07 2.4% 2.8
Mandatory DAEP placements 261 1.3% 293 1.45 1.5% 1.8
Discretionary DAEP placements 119 0.6% 124 0.61 1.2% 1.4
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Community around the district

A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.

People living inside the district boundary
76,083

2024 Census estimate

Children ages 5–17
18,030

Living inside the boundary

Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
2,054

11.4%

School-age child poverty rate
11.4%

2,054 of 18,030

Boundary population

This district
76,083
Selected comparison
27,543

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting

School-age population

This district
18,030
Selected comparison
4,946.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting

School-age population in poverty

This district
2,054
Selected comparison
632.1

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting

School-age child poverty rate

This district
11.4%
Selected comparison
15.4%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting

−4.0 pts vs similar economic context

Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.

24 schools in this district

Number of schools in the district

This district
24
Selected comparison
6.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
12
Middle / Jr. High
8
High School
3
K-12
1
Browse all 24 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this district
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Johnson ElemElementaryA92726
Forney Learning AcademyHigh SchoolA9096
Griffin ElemElementaryA90828
Warren MSMiddle / Jr. HighB89725
Forney HSHigh SchoolB872,813
Themer MSMiddle / Jr. HighB87729
North Forney HSHigh SchoolB852,754
Crosby ElemElementaryB85611
Forney Virtual AcademyK-12B82278
Jackson MSMiddle / Jr. HighB82894
Blackburn ElemElementaryB81668
Criswell ElemElementaryB80575
Claybon ElemElementaryB80551
Lewis ElemElementaryC76759
Rhea IntMiddle / Jr. HighC76689
Jones IntMiddle / Jr. HighC73836
Rhodes IntMiddle / Jr. HighC72875
Wilson ElemElementaryC72895
Smith IntMiddle / Jr. HighC71598
Henderson ElemElementaryD69595
Brown MSMiddle / Jr. HighD68516
Willett ElemElementaryD67856
Dewberry ElemElementaryF59715
Early Childhood CenterElementaryNot Rated—113

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$9k$21k$34k20182020202220242025
  • Forney ISD
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This district
$19,790
Selected comparison
$23,635

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting

−$3,845 vs similar economic context

This district spends $820 more per student than TEA's peer group, and $818 more per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearForney ISDTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$9,960$13,287$13,054$14,064 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting
2019$12,041$13,321$13,108$14,362 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting
2020$13,290$14,168$14,058$15,540 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting
2021$20,660$14,814$14,797$16,402 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting
2022$21,445$15,701$15,708$18,020 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting
2023$28,149$17,110$16,792$19,678 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting
2024$32,204$18,355$18,125$22,212 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting
2025$19,790$18,970$18,972$23,635 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$66,881+$1,730 vs similar economic context
Teachers
1,303+993.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.1+2.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Forney ISD

Beginning: 9%1 to 5 years: 39.7%6 to 10 years: 18%11 to 20 years: 21.6%21 to 30 years: 10.5%Over 30 years: 1.2%
  • Beginning 9%
  • 1 to 5 years 39.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 18%
  • 11 to 20 years 21.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 10.5%
  • Over 30 years 1.2%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting for every category shown · 360 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.9%1 to 5 years: 22.6%6 to 10 years: 17.6%11 to 20 years: 29.6%21 to 30 years: 18.3%Over 30 years: 6%
  • Beginning 5.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 18.3%
  • Over 30 years 6%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 21.1% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This district
21.1%
Selected comparison
19.7%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 rated districts reporting

+1.4 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Forney ISD
School yearTeacher turnover rateForney ISDAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2116.8%15.5%
2021–2222.6%18.9%
2022–2331.5%22.1%
2023–2424.3%20.7%
2024–2521.1%19.7%

TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this district ranks best

Out of 160 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 60

    College, career or military ready

    Similar size · of the 60 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 10of 60

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course

    Similar size · of the 60 that report this measure

  • 10of 60

    Earned a level I or level II certificate

    Similar size · of the 60 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no district would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this district as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset