Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Geographic public school district

Texarkana ISD

Bowie County · Region 08: Mt Pleasant · 7,626 students

Official district websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
76/1002025-26
Change
+1 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−2.6 ptsvs 78.6 average · 302 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
190 of 302tied with 16 others
C76

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 80 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 78.6 average for 302 rated districts serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Social Studies above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
46%vs 41.8% avg · +4.2 pts
Masters
18%vs 16.6% avg · +1.4 pts

Among 295 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.

Read the full rating context and placement

Texarkana ISD is rated C by TEA, scoring 76 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 78.6 average for 302 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.

Ranks 190th of 302 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 16 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this district serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Students crossing district lines
  11. Discipline and removal from class
  12. Community around the district
  13. 12 schools in this district
  14. Spending per student
  15. Teachers
  16. Where this district ranks best
  17. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Dated TEA notices for campuses in this district. They are shown separately from the district rating because they describe specific campuses, support programs and transfer eligibility.

Campuses identified for federal improvement support
3

2026 TEA list

Campuses on the final PEG transfer list
2

2026–27 school year

Share of campuses identified for improvement

This district
25.0%
Selected comparison
28.4%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting

−3.4 pts vs similar economic context

Share of campuses on the PEG list

This district
16.7%
Selected comparison
5.9%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting

+10.8 pts vs similar economic context
See the campuses and official reasons
Official improvement and Public Education Grant notices for campuses in Texarkana ISD
CampusNoticeOfficial status or reason
Digital Academy of TexasCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Graduation Rate
Texas MSCSI + PEG transfer listComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Final 2026-27 PEG list
Westlawn ElemTSI + PEG transfer listTargeted Support and Improvement · African American, White, Economically Disadvantaged, Special Education, Continuously Enrolled
Final 2026-27 PEG list

Selected comparison percentages describe how common each dated campus notice is across reporting districts in that group. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes a campus's official status.

Sources: TEA's 2026 Schools Identified for Improvement and Public Education Grant program, fetched 24 August 2026. A PEG listing makes a student assigned to that campus eligible to request a transfer; it does not guarantee acceptance, available space or transportation.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageTexarkana ISD 7575696976 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 80 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7678.6 302 reporting81.7 1,019 reporting
2024-25D6976.9 302 reporting80.3 1,019 reporting
2023-24D6975.4 302 reporting78.7 1,017 reporting
2022-23C7575.9 302 reporting79.2 1,018 reporting
2021-22C7578.1 302 reporting80.6 1,017 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C−4.9 vs similar economic context · 302 reporting
  • School Progress77 C−2.6 vs similar economic context · 302 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps75 C−0.6 vs similar economic context · 301 reporting
  • Academic Growth71 C+0.9 vs similar economic context · 302 reporting
  • Relative Performance77 C−2.1 vs similar economic context · 302 reporting
  • Texarkana ISD
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (302 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress77C3
Closing the Gaps75C5
Academic Growth71C9
Relative Performance77C3

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 3 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this district that better measure is School Progress (77), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 77.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level66%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 reporting
  • Meets grade level41%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 reporting
  • Meets grade level47%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level58%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level70%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 300 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 300 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 300 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 295 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 295 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 295 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (302 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
90.9%−4.6 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 285 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
88.8%−7.3 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 284 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
85.5%−10.2 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 285 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
2.1%+1.4 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 288 rated districts reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
82.0%−5.7 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria82.0%87.7%−5.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 285 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course34.6%55.7%−21.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 288 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA21.2%22.4%−1.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 288 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)10.1%5.8%+4.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 288 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course52.7%31.4%+21.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 288 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification30.6%43.9%−13.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 288 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate3.1%2.4%+0.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 288 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree7.9%4.5%+3.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 288 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%2.6%−2.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 288 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness3.8%3.9%−0.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 288 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student4.2%10.0%−5.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 288 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces4.8%3.2%+1.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 288 rated districts reporting

Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this district minus the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
457

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
154

33.7% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
293

64.1% of graduates

Not trackable
10

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This district
457
Selected comparison
525.4

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 224 rated districts reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This district
154
Selected comparison
228.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 224 rated districts reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This district
33.7%
Selected comparison
43.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 224 rated districts reporting

−9.5 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This district
64.1%
Selected comparison
53.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 224 rated districts reporting

+10.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This district
2.2%
Selected comparison
3.6%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 224 rated districts reporting

−1.4 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY-TEXARKANA (029269)43
  2. TEXARKANA COLLEGE (003628)42
  3. TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY (003642)8

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this district serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
7,626
Economically disadvantaged
74.8%+1.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
12.1%−4.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
13.3%−5.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.9%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
19.6%+1.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Texarkana ISD

African American: 42%Hispanic: 21.2%White: 28.3%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 6.8%
  • African American 42%
  • Hispanic 21.2%
  • White 28.3%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 6.8%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 reporting for every category shown · 302 in full cohort

African American: 8.4%Hispanic: 56.7%White: 30.9%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 0.7%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2.9%
  • African American 8.4%
  • Hispanic 56.7%
  • White 30.9%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 0.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2.9%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
7,623
Economically disadvantaged students
5,702
Emergent bilingual students
925
Special education students
1,016

Early college pathways

Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
44

TEA-published share: 0.6%

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 7,626 students in 2025–26, an increase of 357 (4.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
7,626

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+357

Increase · +4.9%

Change since 2021–22
+470

Increase · +6.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This district
7,626
Selected comparison
5,547.1

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Texarkana ISD
School yearStudents enrolledTexarkana ISDChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 7,156 First available year 5,752.2
2022–23 7,180 Increase of 24 (0.3%) 5,787.8
2023–24 7,276 Increase of 96 (1.3%) 5,729.8
2024–25 7,269 Decrease of 7 (0.1%) 5,699.8
2025–26 7,626 Increase of 357 (4.9%) 5,547.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students crossing district lines

How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.

Transfers in
1,935

Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26

Transfers out
764

Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26

Transfers in minus transfers out
+1,171

Arithmetic context only

Transfers in · 2025–26

This district
1,935
Selected comparison
352.4

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 279 rated districts reporting

Transfers out · 2025–26

This district
764
Selected comparison
1,109.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 rated districts reporting

Transfers in minus out · 2025–26

This district
+1,171
Selected comparison
−844

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 272 rated districts reporting

Official transfer totals by school year for Texarkana ISD
School yearTransfers inTexarkana ISDTransfers outTexarkana ISDIn minus outTexarkana ISDTransfers inselected comparison averageTransfers outselected comparison averageIn minus outselected comparison average
2021–22 1,489 674 +815 235.4 941.5 −794
2022–23 1,403 639 +764 270.7 988.1 −801
2023–24 1,514 688 +826 295.5 1,049.4 −826
2024–25 1,528 783 +745 340.4 1,092.2 −829
2025–26 1,935 764 +1,171 352.4 1,109.6 −844

Largest reported origins for transfers in

  1. Liberty-Eylau ISD 019908406
  2. Pleasant Grove ISD 019912386
  3. Red Lick ISD 019911112
  4. Redwater ISD 01990679
  5. Houston ISD 10191232

Top reported flows only. TEA published 17 of 323 counterpart counts and masked 306.

Largest reported destinations for transfers out

  1. Pleasant Grove ISD 019912270
  2. Liberty-Eylau ISD 019908137
  3. Red Lick ISD 01991196
  4. Redwater ISD 01990669
  5. Premier High Schools 07280142

Top reported flows only. TEA published 10 of 17 counterpart counts and masked 7.

Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
1,257

15.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
3,341

41.79 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
7,994

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This district
15.7%
Selected comparison
12.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 276 rated districts reporting

+3.5 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This district
41.79
Selected comparison
28.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 283 rated districts reporting

+13.5 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Texarkana ISD
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 8,490 749 8.8% 1,547 18.22 8.6% 17.6
2021–22 7,835 982 12.5% 2,256 28.79 12.6% 28.7
2022–23 7,844 1,180 15.0% 3,039 38.74 12.9% 30.8
2023–24 8,098 1,048 12.9% 2,517 31.08 12.6% 30.3
2024–25 7,994 1,257 15.7% 3,341 41.79 12.2% 28.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Texarkana ISD in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 1,257 15.7% 3,341 41.79 12.2% 28.3
In-school suspensions 1,054 13.2% 2,206 27.60 10.3% 20
Out-of-school suspensions 484 6.0% 839 10.50 4.5% 7.3
DAEP placements 259 3.2% 296 3.70 3.1% 3.8
Mandatory DAEP placements 99 1.2% 104 1.30 1.8% 2.1
Discretionary DAEP placements 172 2.1% 192 2.40 1.7% 2
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Community around the district

A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.

People living inside the district boundary
32,417

2024 Census estimate

Children ages 5–17
6,061

Living inside the boundary

Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
1,802

29.7%

School-age child poverty rate
29.7%

1,802 of 6,061

Boundary population

This district
32,417
Selected comparison
37,204.5

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 301 rated districts reporting

School-age population

This district
6,061
Selected comparison
6,631.7

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 301 rated districts reporting

School-age population in poverty

This district
1,802
Selected comparison
1,437.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 301 rated districts reporting

School-age child poverty rate

This district
29.7%
Selected comparison
21.5%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 301 rated districts reporting

+8.2 pts vs similar economic context

Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.

12 schools in this district

Number of schools in the district

This district
12
Selected comparison
9.5

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
8
High School
2
K-12
1
Middle / Jr. High
1
Browse all 12 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this district
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Martha & Josh Morriss Math & Engineering ElemElementaryA97328
Options Early Graduation HSHigh SchoolA9570
Wake Village ElemElementaryB89538
Texas HSHigh SchoolB821,709
Digital Academy of TexasK-12B81859
Nash ElemElementaryC77650
Texas MSMiddle / Jr. HighC761,372
Paul Laurence Dunbar Early Education CenterElementaryC76409
Waggoner Creek ElemElementaryC74334
Parks ElemElementaryD68777
Theron Jones Early Literacy CenterElementaryF58289
Westlawn ElemElementaryF58291

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$10k$22k$34k20182020202220242025
  • Texarkana ISD
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This district
$32,607
Selected comparison
$23,570

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting

+$9,037 vs similar economic context

This district spends $13,637 more per student than TEA's peer group, and $13,635 more per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearTexarkana ISDTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$11,321$13,287$13,054$14,355 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting
2019$11,880$13,321$13,108$14,635 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting
2020$11,720$14,168$14,058$15,773 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting
2021$12,558$14,814$14,797$16,917 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting
2022$14,786$15,701$15,708$18,197 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting
2023$17,217$17,110$16,792$20,407 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting
2024$21,801$18,355$18,125$21,761 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting
2025$32,607$18,970$18,972$23,570 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$56,726−$7,117 vs similar economic context
Teachers
552+177.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.8+0.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Texarkana ISD

Beginning: 7.6%1 to 5 years: 32%6 to 10 years: 19.8%11 to 20 years: 23.7%21 to 30 years: 13.1%Over 30 years: 3.7%
  • Beginning 7.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 32%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 23.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 13.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.7%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 reporting for every category shown · 302 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 26.6%6 to 10 years: 17.5%11 to 20 years: 26.1%21 to 30 years: 16.9%Over 30 years: 5.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.9%
  • Over 30 years 5.4%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 19.6% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This district
19.6%
Selected comparison
23.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated districts reporting

−3.6 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Texarkana ISD
School yearTeacher turnover rateTexarkana ISDAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2116.4%18.3%
2021–2216.9%22.0%
2022–2318.4%26.2%
2023–2422.6%23.1%
2024–2519.6%23.2%

TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this district ranks best

Out of 184 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 13

    Per-student spending

    Bowie County · of the 13 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

2 measures

  • 3of 102

    Earned college credit for a dual credit course

    Similar size · of the 102 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 42

    Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)

    Region 08: Mt Pleasant · of the 42 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

13 measures

  • 5of 11

    Social Studies — Meets

    Bowie County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 6of 11

    Social Studies — Masters

    Bowie County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 7of 42

    Earned an associate degree

    Region 08: Mt Pleasant · of the 42 that report this measure

  • 7of 11

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Bowie County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 8of 13

    Academic Growth

    Bowie County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 9of 102

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Similar size · of the 102 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 13

    All Subjects — Masters

    Bowie County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 13

    Reading — Masters

    Bowie County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 9of 13

    Science — Masters

    Bowie County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 10of 13

    Student Achievement

    Bowie County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 10of 13

    Closing the Gaps

    Bowie County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 10of 13

    Relative Performance

    Bowie County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 10of 13

    Math — Masters

    Bowie County · of the 13 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no district would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this district as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset