Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Waggoner Creek Elem

Bowie County · Region 08: Mt Pleasant · 334 students

Current score
74/1002025-26
Change
−17 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−9.2 ptsvs 83.2 average · 1,506 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,270 of 1,506tied with 47 others
C74

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 87 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 83.2 average for 1,506 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
63%vs 60.8% avg · +2.2 pts
Masters
36%vs 26.7% avg · +9.3 pts

Among 1,462 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

7.4% −5.9 pts vs 13.3%

  • 7.4% is 5.9 percentage points lower than the 13.3% average among 1,458 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Waggoner Creek Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 74 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 83.2 average for 1,506 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 17 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,270th of 1,506 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 47 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageWaggoner Creek Elem 9174807674 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 87 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7483.2 1,506 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7683.6 1,474 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8081.6 1,451 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7482.1 1,436 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9184.4 1,416 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement75 C−8.3 vs similar economic context · 1,463 reporting
  • School Progress75 C−7.0 vs similar economic context · 1,460 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps70 C−10.5 vs similar economic context · 1,451 reporting
  • Academic Growth75 C−1.8 vs similar economic context · 1,434 reporting
  • Relative Performance67 D−12.3 vs similar economic context · 1,460 reporting
  • Waggoner Creek Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,506 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement75C5
School Progress75C5
Closing the Gaps70C10
Academic Growth75C5
Relative Performance67D3

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 5 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level73%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,463 reporting
  • Meets grade level47%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,463 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,463 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level83%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,462 reporting
  • Meets grade level63%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,462 reporting
  • Masters grade level36%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,462 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,458 reporting
  • Meets grade level36%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,458 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,458 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,353 reporting
  • Meets grade level26%−29 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,353 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,353 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,506 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
334
Economically disadvantaged
44.4%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
1.2%−10.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
16.5%−1.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.8%+1.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
7.4%−5.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Waggoner Creek Elem

African American: 17.7%Hispanic: 9.3%White: 58%American Indian: 0.9%Asian: 2.7%Two or More Races: 11.4%
  • African American 17.7%
  • Hispanic 9.3%
  • White 58%
  • American Indian 0.9%
  • Asian 2.7%
  • Two or More Races 11.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,506 reporting for every category shown · 1,506 in full cohort

African American: 9.2%Hispanic: 38%White: 44.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.8%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.3%
  • African American 9.2%
  • Hispanic 38%
  • White 44.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
333
Economically disadvantaged students
148
Emergent bilingual students
4
Special education students
55

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
27
Students in TEA mobility denominator
286
TEA-published mobility rate
9.4%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 334 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 3 (0.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
334

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−3

Decrease · −0.9%

Change since 2021–22
+30

Increase · +9.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
334
Selected comparison
679.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,468 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Waggoner Creek Elem
School yearStudents enrolledWaggoner Creek ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 304 First available year 676.6
2022–23 338 Increase of 34 (11.2%) 682.2
2023–24 347 Increase of 9 (2.7%) 682.8
2024–25 337 Decrease of 10 (2.9%) 679.3
2025–26 334 Decrease of 3 (0.9%) 679.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
23

6.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
46

13.11 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
351

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
6.5%
Selected comparison
11.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,157 rated schools reporting

−4.8 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
13.11
Selected comparison
24.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,246 rated schools reporting

−11.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Waggoner Creek Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 304 16 5.3% 25 8.22 9.4% 17.7
2021–22 327 28 8.6% 47 14.37 11.3% 24.3
2022–23 355 25 7.0% 40 11.27 11.7% 25.6
2023–24 356 19 5.3% 29 8.15 11.7% 26.2
2024–25 351 23 6.5% 46 13.11 11.3% 24.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Waggoner Creek Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 23 6.5% 46 13.11 11.3% 24.5
In-school suspensions 22 6.3% 31 8.83 10.1% 18.9
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — 11 3.13 — 7.6
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$20k$34k20182020202220242025
  • Waggoner Creek Elem
  • Parent district: Texarkana ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,274
Selected comparison
$12,030

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,475 rated schools reporting

−$1,756 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,274 per student for this campus, $32,607 per student for its parent district, Texarkana ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearWaggoner Creek ElemParent district: Texarkana ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,173$11,321$13,054$7,807 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,354 rated schools reporting
2019$7,548$11,880$13,108$8,011 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,375 rated schools reporting
2020$9,211$11,720$14,058$8,447 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,384 rated schools reporting
2021$10,141$12,558$14,797$8,862 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,404 rated schools reporting
2022$10,687$14,786$15,708$10,236 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,417 rated schools reporting
2023$10,568$17,217$16,792$10,635 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,436 rated schools reporting
2024$9,731$21,801$18,125$11,670 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,452 rated schools reporting
2025$10,274$32,607$18,972$12,030 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,475 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$57,296−$9,943 vs similar economic context
Teachers
23−21.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.5−6.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Waggoner Creek Elem

Beginning: 8.7%1 to 5 years: 30%6 to 10 years: 17.4%11 to 20 years: 14.8%21 to 30 years: 24.8%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 8.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 30%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 14.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 24.8%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,506 reporting for every category shown · 1,506 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.4%1 to 5 years: 23.7%6 to 10 years: 19.5%11 to 20 years: 30.3%21 to 30 years: 16.9%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 5.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 30.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Waggoner Creek Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classWaggoner Creek Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten20.318
Grade 11818.4
Grade 22018.6
Grade 32119.3
Grade 421.519.2
Grade 52220.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

3 measures

  • 7of 38

    Reading — Masters

    Bowie County · of the 38 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 39

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Bowie County · of the 39 that report this measure

  • 10of 39

    Attendance

    Bowie County · of the 39 that report this measure · tied with 2

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 019907117.