Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Geographic public school district

Alief ISD

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 36,441 students

Official district websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
78/1002025-26
Change
+3 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+0.6 ptsvs 77.4 average · 170 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
78 of 170tied with 5 others
C78

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 81 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.4 average for 170 rated districts serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
40%vs 38.9% avg · +1.1 pts
Masters
16%vs 13.1% avg · +2.9 pts

Among 170 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.

Read the full rating context and placement

Alief ISD is rated C by TEA, scoring 78 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.4 average for 170 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is up 3 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 78th of 170 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 5 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this district serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Students crossing district lines
  11. Discipline and removal from class
  12. Community around the district
  13. 46 schools in this district
  14. Spending per student
  15. Teachers
  16. Where this district ranks best
  17. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Dated TEA notices for campuses in this district. They are shown separately from the district rating because they describe specific campuses, support programs and transfer eligibility.

Campuses identified for federal improvement support
17

2026 TEA list

Campuses on the final PEG transfer list
3

2026–27 school year

Share of campuses identified for improvement

This district
37.0%
Selected comparison
31.6%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting

+5.4 pts vs similar economic context

Share of campuses on the PEG list

This district
6.5%
Selected comparison
9.6%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting

−3.1 pts vs similar economic context
See the campuses and official reasons
Official improvement and Public Education Grant notices for campuses in Alief ISD
CampusNoticeOfficial status or reason
Hastings HSCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Alief MSTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Asian
Olle MSCSI + PEG transfer listComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Final 2026-27 PEG list
Killough MSTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Asian
O'Donnell MSCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Exited ATS
Youens ElemTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Special Education, Continuously Enrolled
Boone ElemTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Hispanic, English Learners, Special Education, Continuously Enrolled
Kennedy ElemTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Special Education
Heflin ElemTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Special Education, Continuously Enrolled
Hearne ElemTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Continuously Enrolled
Outley ElemTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Special Education
Hicks ElemTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Hispanic, Special Education, Continuously Enrolled
Collins ElemPEG transfer listFinal 2026-27 PEG list
Owens IntATSAdditional Targeted Support · Continuously Enrolled
Klentzman IntTSI + PEG transfer listTargeted Support and Improvement · Continuously Enrolled
Final 2026-27 PEG list
Youngblood IntTSITargeted Support and Improvement · White
Mata IntTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Hispanic, Economically Disadvantaged, Continuously Enrolled
Budewig IntTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Hispanic, White, Asian, Economically Disadvantaged, English Learners, Special Education, Continuously Enrolled

Selected comparison percentages describe how common each dated campus notice is across reporting districts in that group. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes a campus's official status.

Sources: TEA's 2026 Schools Identified for Improvement and Public Education Grant program, fetched 24 August 2026. A PEG listing makes a student assigned to that campus eligible to request a transfer; it does not guarantee acceptance, available space or transportation.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageAlief ISD 7574757578 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 81 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7877.4 170 reporting81.7 1,019 reporting
2024-25C7574.8 170 reporting80.3 1,019 reporting
2023-24C7573.4 169 reporting78.7 1,017 reporting
2022-23C7473.8 169 reporting79.2 1,018 reporting
2021-22C7577.3 169 reporting80.6 1,017 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement73 C−1.0 vs similar economic context · 170 reporting
  • School Progress80 B+1.5 vs similar economic context · 170 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps73 C−1.5 vs similar economic context · 170 reporting
  • Academic Growth71 C+1.7 vs similar economic context · 170 reporting
  • Relative Performance80 B+1.9 vs similar economic context · 170 reporting
  • Alief ISD
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (170 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement73C7
School Progress80B10
Closing the Gaps73C7
Academic Growth71C9
Relative Performance80B10

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 7 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this district that better measure is School Progress (80), so Student Achievement (73) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 80.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level64%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 reporting
  • Meets grade level41%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 169 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 169 reporting
  • Masters grade level17%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 169 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 167 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 167 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 167 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (170 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
87.6%−6.8 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 163 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
91.7%−3.4 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 163 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
89.4%−5.2 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
3.1%+2.1 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
94.0%+8.8 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria94.0%85.2%+8.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 163 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course84.4%49.7%+34.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA24.2%19.5%+4.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)17.3%6.4%+10.9 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course23.4%30.9%−7.5 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification26.1%42.3%−16.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate1.3%3.2%−1.9 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree3.2%5.0%−1.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit10.5%3.4%+7.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness4.3%3.3%+1.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student3.2%9.8%−6.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces2.7%3.1%−0.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 164 rated districts reporting

Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this district minus the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
2,637

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
841

31.9% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
1,253

47.5% of graduates

Not trackable
543

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This district
2,637
Selected comparison
679.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 132 rated districts reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This district
841
Selected comparison
280.5

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 132 rated districts reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This district
31.9%
Selected comparison
42.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 132 rated districts reporting

−10.3 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This district
47.5%
Selected comparison
53.4%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 132 rated districts reporting

−5.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This district
20.6%
Selected comparison
4.4%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 132 rated districts reporting

+16.2 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. HOUSTON CITY COLLEGE (010633)413
  2. UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON (003652)116
  3. U. OF HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN (012826)38

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this district serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
36,441
Economically disadvantaged
86.8%+2.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
58.1%+36.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.4%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.9%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
22.5%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Alief ISD

African American: 22.5%Hispanic: 63.1%White: 3.6%American Indian: 0.7%Asian: 9.8%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 0.2%
  • African American 22.5%
  • Hispanic 63.1%
  • White 3.6%
  • American Indian 0.7%
  • Asian 9.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 0.2%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 reporting for every category shown · 170 in full cohort

African American: 12%Hispanic: 67.9%White: 16.8%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.6%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2.3%
  • African American 12%
  • Hispanic 67.9%
  • White 16.8%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
36,376
Economically disadvantaged students
31,586
Emergent bilingual students
21,142
Special education students
6,675

Early college pathways

Early College High School
398

TEA-published share: 1.1%

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 36,441 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 2,169 (5.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
36,441

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−2,169

Decrease · −5.6%

Change since 2021–22
−4,223

Decrease · −10.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This district
36,441
Selected comparison
7,348.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Alief ISD
School yearStudents enrolledAlief ISDChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 40,664 First available year 7,895.6
2022–23 40,329 Decrease of 335 (0.8%) 7,879.1
2023–24 39,474 Decrease of 855 (2.1%) 7,752.1
2024–25 38,610 Decrease of 864 (2.2%) 7,631
2025–26 36,441 Decrease of 2,169 (5.6%) 7,348.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students crossing district lines

How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.

Transfers in
513

Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26

Transfers out
10,782

Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26

Transfers in minus transfers out
−10,269

Arithmetic context only

Transfers in · 2025–26

This district
513
Selected comparison
335.4

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 146 rated districts reporting

Transfers out · 2025–26

This district
10,782
Selected comparison
1,817.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 168 rated districts reporting

Transfers in minus out · 2025–26

This district
−10,269
Selected comparison
−1,733

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 145 rated districts reporting

Official transfer totals by school year for Alief ISD
School yearTransfers inAlief ISDTransfers outAlief ISDIn minus outAlief ISDTransfers inselected comparison averageTransfers outselected comparison averageIn minus outselected comparison average
2021–22 797 9,599 −8,802 252.7 1,593.5 −1,534
2022–23 828 10,024 −9,196 287.5 1,676.8 −1,605
2023–24 939 10,295 −9,356 297.5 1,747.1 −1,643
2024–25 833 10,534 −9,701 317.1 1,807.9 −1,699
2025–26 513 10,782 −10,269 335.4 1,817.3 −1,733

Largest reported origins for transfers in

  1. Houston ISD 101912200
  2. Fort Bend ISD 079907159
  3. Lamar CISD 07990162
  4. Katy ISD 10191435
  5. Cypress-Fairbanks ISD 10190728

Top reported flows only. TEA published 5 of 18 counterpart counts and masked 13.

Largest reported destinations for transfers out

  1. KIPP Texas Public Schools 2278203,633
  2. Harmony Public Schools - Houston West 1018621,132
  3. International Leadership of Texas (ILTexas) 0578481,026
  4. Harmony Public Schools - Houston South 101846838
  5. School of Science and Technology Discovery 015831661

Top reported flows only. TEA published 34 of 62 counterpart counts and masked 28.

Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
4,262

9.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
9,487

22.05 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
43,034

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This district
9.9%
Selected comparison
12.7%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 159 rated districts reporting

−2.8 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This district
22.05
Selected comparison
30.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting

−8.8 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Alief ISD
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 45,553 1,241 2.7% 2,049 4.50 7.5% 14.5
2021–22 45,828 5,610 12.2% 13,918 30.37 13.2% 30.9
2022–23 45,408 5,705 12.6% 14,161 31.19 14.0% 34.8
2023–24 44,645 4,994 11.2% 11,736 26.29 13.5% 33
2024–25 43,034 4,262 9.9% 9,487 22.05 12.7% 30.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Alief ISD in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 4,262 9.9% 9,487 22.05 12.7% 30.9
In-school suspensions 2,922 6.8% 4,867 11.31 10.3% 20.2
Out-of-school suspensions 2,189 5.1% 3,436 7.98 5.3% 8.9
DAEP placements 919 2.1% 1,106 2.57 3.3% 4.1
Mandatory DAEP placements 442 1.0% 510 1.19 1.9% 2.2
Discretionary DAEP placements 532 1.2% 596 1.38 1.8% 2.1
JJAEP placements 42 0.1% 44 0.10 0.1% 0.1
Mandatory JJAEP placements 16 0.0% 16 0.04 0.0% 0
Discretionary JJAEP placements 27 0.1% 28 0.07 0.3% 0.3
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Community around the district

A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.

People living inside the district boundary
289,792

2024 Census estimate

Children ages 5–17
52,288

Living inside the boundary

Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
17,701

33.9%

School-age child poverty rate
33.9%

17,701 of 52,288

Boundary population

This district
289,792
Selected comparison
50,597.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting

School-age population

This district
52,288
Selected comparison
9,256.2

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting

School-age population in poverty

This district
17,701
Selected comparison
2,411.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting

School-age child poverty rate

This district
33.9%
Selected comparison
25.1%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting

+8.8 pts vs similar economic context

Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.

46 schools in this district

Number of schools in the district

This district
46
Selected comparison
12.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
27
Middle / Jr. High
12
High School
6
K-12
1
Browse all 46 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this district
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Kerr HSHigh SchoolA99810
Alief Early College HSHigh SchoolA99399
Petrosky ElemElementaryA90452
Rees ElemElementaryA90518
Alexander ElemElementaryB89559
Taylor HSHigh SchoolB862,758
Albright MSMiddle / Jr. HighB85931
Kennedy ElemElementaryB85471
Miller IntMiddle / Jr. HighB85748
Youngblood IntMiddle / Jr. HighB83809
Elsik HSHigh SchoolB823,889
Chambers ElemElementaryB82525
Holmquist ElemElementaryB82680
Alief MSMiddle / Jr. HighB81788
Martin ElemElementaryB81611
Best ElemElementaryB81618
Outley ElemElementaryB80776
Holub MSMiddle / Jr. HighC79680
Landis ElemElementaryC79474
Killough MSMiddle / Jr. HighC78702
O'Donnell MSMiddle / Jr. HighC781,184
Mahanay ElemElementaryC78449
Chancellor ElemElementaryC78697
Maria Del Carmen Martinez Early Learning CenterElementaryC78342
Dedre' & Ella Jefferson Early Learning CenterElementaryC78333
Hastings HSHigh SchoolC753,507
Hicks ElemElementaryC75598
Youens ElemElementaryC74628
Hearne ElemElementaryC74608
Sneed ElemElementaryC74925
Collins ElemElementaryC74719
Horn ElemElementaryC74612
Mata IntMiddle / Jr. HighC74687
Klentzman IntMiddle / Jr. HighC72780
Boone ElemElementaryD69464
Smith ElemElementaryD69595
Cummings ElemElementaryD69464
Bush ElemElementaryD69705
Liestman ElemElementaryD68480
Budewig IntMiddle / Jr. HighD681,053
Owens IntMiddle / Jr. HighD65800
Heflin ElemElementaryD64449
Olle MSMiddle / Jr. HighD61980
Alief Learning Ctr (6-12)K-12Not Rated—169
Alief ISD JJAEPHigh SchoolNot Rated—9
Alief Learning Ctr (K-6)ElementaryNot Rated—6

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$11k$18k$25k20182020202220242025
  • Alief ISD
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This district
$16,928
Selected comparison
$23,664

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting

−$6,736 vs similar economic context

This district spends $1,455 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $2,044 less per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearAlief ISDTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$12,701$12,916$13,054$14,451 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting
2019$12,620$12,976$13,108$14,514 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting
2020$12,991$13,925$14,058$15,839 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting
2021$14,091$14,752$14,797$17,449 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting
2022$16,079$15,436$15,708$20,099 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting
2023$15,941$16,223$16,792$22,908 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting
2024$17,279$17,513$18,125$22,557 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting
2025$16,928$18,383$18,972$23,664 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$66,762+$2,222 vs similar economic context
Teachers
2,568+2064.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.2+1.5 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Alief ISD

Beginning: 10.1%1 to 5 years: 30.3%6 to 10 years: 16.7%11 to 20 years: 24.8%21 to 30 years: 15.6%Over 30 years: 2.5%
  • Beginning 10.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 30.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 16.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 24.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.6%
  • Over 30 years 2.5%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 reporting for every category shown · 170 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.3%6 to 10 years: 17.5%11 to 20 years: 26.3%21 to 30 years: 16%Over 30 years: 5.5%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 16%
  • Over 30 years 5.5%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 19.3% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This district
19.3%
Selected comparison
22.9%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated districts reporting

−3.6 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Alief ISD
School yearTeacher turnover rateAlief ISDAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2110.1%18.4%
2021–2213.0%21.7%
2022–2320.1%25.8%
2023–2421.0%23.4%
2024–2519.3%22.9%

TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this district ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

2 measures

  • 2of 19

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course

    Harris County · of the 19 that report this measure

  • 3of 19

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Harris County · of the 19 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

5 measures

  • 6of 167

    Social Studies — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 167 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 6of 19

    College, career or military ready

    Harris County · of the 19 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 6of 19

    Earned a level I or level II certificate

    Harris County · of the 19 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 19

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Harris County · of the 19 that report this measure

  • 8of 19

    Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit

    Harris County · of the 19 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no district would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this district as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset