Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Geographic public school district

Waco ISD

McLennan County · Region 12: Waco · 12,908 students

Official district websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
66/1002025-26
Change
−3 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−10.8 ptsvs 76.8 average · 144 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
133 of 144tied with 5 others
D66

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 75 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 76.8 average for 144 rated districts serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s) above the similar-context average

12.5% +5.8 pts vs 6.7%

  • 12.5% is 5.8 percentage points above the 6.7% average among 138 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.

Read the full rating context and placement

Waco ISD is rated D by TEA, scoring 66 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 76.8 average for 144 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is down 3 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 133rd of 144 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 5 others).

2 consecutive years rated unacceptable.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this district serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Students crossing district lines
  11. Discipline and removal from class
  12. Community around the district
  13. 22 schools in this district
  14. Spending per student
  15. Teachers
  16. Where this district ranks best
  17. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Dated TEA notices for campuses in this district. They are shown separately from the district rating because they describe specific campuses, support programs and transfer eligibility.

Campuses identified for federal improvement support
17

2026 TEA list

Campuses on the final PEG transfer list
7

2026–27 school year

Share of campuses identified for improvement

This district
77.3%
Selected comparison
32.0%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting

+45.3 pts vs similar economic context

Share of campuses on the PEG list

This district
31.8%
Selected comparison
10.3%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting

+21.5 pts vs similar economic context
See the campuses and official reasons
Official improvement and Public Education Grant notices for campuses in Waco ISD
CampusNoticeOfficial status or reason
Waco HSCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Cesar Chavez MSCSI + PEG transfer listComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Final 2026-27 PEG list
Tennyson MSCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
G W Carver MSCSI + PEG transfer listComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Final 2026-27 PEG list
Kendrick ElemTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Special Education
Bell's Hill ElemATSAdditional Targeted Support · Special Education
Brook Avenue ElemATSAdditional Targeted Support · Special Education
Cedar Ridge ElemTSITargeted Support and Improvement · African American
Crestview ElemCSI + PEG transfer listComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Final 2026-27 PEG list
Dean Highland ElemCSI + PEG transfer listComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Final 2026-27 PEG list
Hillcrest PDS MagnetTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Hispanic, Continuously Enrolled
JH Hines ElemCSI + PEG transfer listComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Final 2026-27 PEG list
Mountainview ElemCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Parkdale ElemTSI + PEG transfer listTargeted Support and Improvement · Hispanic, English Learners, Continuously Enrolled
Final 2026-27 PEG list
Lake Air Montessori SchoolTSITargeted Support and Improvement · Economically Disadvantaged, Special Education
West Avenue ElemCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
South Waco ElemCSI + PEG transfer listComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Final 2026-27 PEG list

Selected comparison percentages describe how common each dated campus notice is across reporting districts in that group. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes a campus's official status.

Sources: TEA's 2026 Schools Identified for Improvement and Public Education Grant program, fetched 24 August 2026. A PEG listing makes a student assigned to that campus eligible to request a transfer; it does not guarantee acceptance, available space or transportation.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageWaco ISD 6965646366 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 75 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26D6676.8 144 reporting81.7 1,019 reporting
2024-25D6374.3 144 reporting80.3 1,019 reporting
2023-24D6473.0 143 reporting78.7 1,017 reporting
2022-23D6573.2 143 reporting79.2 1,018 reporting
2021-22D6976.6 143 reporting80.6 1,017 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement62 D−11.3 vs similar economic context · 144 reporting
  • School Progress67 D−11.0 vs similar economic context · 144 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps63 D−10.9 vs similar economic context · 144 reporting
  • Academic Growth63 D−6.1 vs similar economic context · 144 reporting
  • Relative Performance67 D−10.5 vs similar economic context · 144 reporting
  • Waco ISD
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (144 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement62D8
School Progress67D3
Closing the Gaps63D7
Academic Growth63D7
Relative Performance67D3

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 3 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this district that better measure is School Progress (67), so Student Achievement (62) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 67.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level54%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level57%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level47%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 reporting
  • Meets grade level22%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level60%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 143 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 143 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 143 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 141 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 141 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 141 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (144 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
88.2%−5.5 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 139 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
84.7%−10.0 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
86.6%−7.8 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 139 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
3.6%+2.5 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 139 rated districts reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
81.0%−3.5 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria81.0%84.5%−3.5 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course57.6%48.5%+9.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA24.9%20.1%+4.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)12.5%6.7%+5.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course11.1%31.8%−20.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification36.0%41.9%−5.9 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%3.6%−3.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree2.9%5.7%−2.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%3.2%−3.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness4.6%3.0%+1.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student7.8%9.6%−1.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces2.4%3.2%−0.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated districts reporting

Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this district minus the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
810

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
310

38.3% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
473

58.4% of graduates

Not trackable
27

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This district
810
Selected comparison
625.5

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 114 rated districts reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This district
310
Selected comparison
262

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 114 rated districts reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This district
38.3%
Selected comparison
42.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 114 rated districts reporting

−3.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This district
58.4%
Selected comparison
53.5%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 114 rated districts reporting

+4.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This district
3.3%
Selected comparison
4.4%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 114 rated districts reporting

−1.1 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. MCLENNAN COMMUNITY COLLEGE (003590)194
  2. TEXAS STATE T. C. in WACO (003634)28
  3. TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY (003632)11

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this district serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
12,908
Economically disadvantaged
89.1%+3.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
26.0%+3.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
21.1%+2.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
91.5%−1.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
27.9%+4.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Waco ISD

African American: 27.1%Hispanic: 62.1%White: 7.5%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.8%
  • African American 27.1%
  • Hispanic 62.1%
  • White 7.5%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.8%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 reporting for every category shown · 144 in full cohort

African American: 12.5%Hispanic: 70.8%White: 13.9%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.5%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2.1%
  • African American 12.5%
  • Hispanic 70.8%
  • White 13.9%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2.1%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
12,892
Economically disadvantaged students
11,491
Emergent bilingual students
3,356
Special education students
2,722

Early college pathways

Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
114

TEA-published share: 0.9%

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 12,908 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 468 (3.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
12,908

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−468

Decrease · −3.5%

Change since 2021–22
−1,178

Decrease · −8.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This district
12,908
Selected comparison
6,831.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Waco ISD
School yearStudents enrolledWaco ISDChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 14,086 First available year 7,303.7
2022–23 13,824 Decrease of 262 (1.9%) 7,298
2023–24 13,517 Decrease of 307 (2.2%) 7,189.9
2024–25 13,376 Decrease of 141 (1.0%) 7,101
2025–26 12,908 Decrease of 468 (3.5%) 6,831.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students crossing district lines

How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.

Transfers in
246

Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26

Transfers out
2,741

Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26

Transfers in minus transfers out
−2,495

Arithmetic context only

Transfers in · 2025–26

This district
246
Selected comparison
357.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 123 rated districts reporting

Transfers out · 2025–26

This district
2,741
Selected comparison
1,568.4

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated districts reporting

Transfers in minus out · 2025–26

This district
−2,495
Selected comparison
−1,427

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 122 rated districts reporting

Official transfer totals by school year for Waco ISD
School yearTransfers inWaco ISDTransfers outWaco ISDIn minus outWaco ISDTransfers inselected comparison averageTransfers outselected comparison averageIn minus outselected comparison average
2021–22 206 2,499 −2,293 265.6 1,428.3 −1,339
2022–23 225 2,634 −2,409 308.6 1,478 −1,380
2023–24 171 2,572 −2,401 315.5 1,512 −1,354
2024–25 147 2,627 −2,480 341.8 1,571.6 −1,416
2025–26 246 2,741 −2,495 357.8 1,568.4 −1,427

Largest reported origins for transfers in

  1. Midway ISD 16190372
  2. La Vega ISD 16190639
  3. Connally ISD 16192133
  4. China Spring ISD 16192027
  5. Robinson ISD 16192224

Top reported flows only. TEA published 5 of 24 counterpart counts and masked 19.

Largest reported destinations for transfers out

  1. Harmony Public Schools - North Texas 1618071,065
  2. Rapoport Academy Public School 161802691
  3. Midway ISD 161903184
  4. La Vega ISD 161906131
  5. University of Texas University Charter School 227806102

Top reported flows only. TEA published 15 of 46 counterpart counts and masked 31.

Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
2,587

17.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
9,399

65.21 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
14,413

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This district
17.9%
Selected comparison
12.7%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 133 rated districts reporting

+5.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This district
65.21
Selected comparison
31.5

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 134 rated districts reporting

+33.7 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Waco ISD
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 15,381 1,656 10.8% 4,312 28.03 6.8% 13
2021–22 15,211 2,946 19.4% 11,575 76.10 13.1% 31.3
2022–23 14,865 2,757 18.6% 11,104 74.70 14.0% 35.6
2023–24 14,725 3,122 21.2% 13,439 91.27 13.4% 33.3
2024–25 14,413 2,587 17.9% 9,399 65.21 12.7% 31.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Waco ISD in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 2,587 17.9% 9,399 65.21 12.7% 31.5
In-school suspensions 1,856 12.9% 4,405 30.56 10.2% 20.3
Out-of-school suspensions 1,543 10.7% 4,277 29.67 5.5% 9.3
DAEP placements 465 3.2% 554 3.84 3.3% 4.1
Mandatory DAEP placements 353 2.5% 400 2.78 1.9% 2.1
Discretionary DAEP placements 141 1.0% 154 1.07 1.8% 2.1
JJAEP placements 120 0.8% 131 0.91 0.1% 0.1
Mandatory JJAEP placements 12 0.1% 12 0.08 0.0% 0
Discretionary JJAEP placements 111 0.8% 119 0.83 0.3% 0.3
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Community around the district

A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.

People living inside the district boundary
112,508

2024 Census estimate

Children ages 5–17
17,636

Living inside the boundary

Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
4,757

27.0%

School-age child poverty rate
27.0%

4,757 of 17,636

Boundary population

This district
112,508
Selected comparison
45,016.5

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting

School-age population

This district
17,636
Selected comparison
8,433.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting

School-age population in poverty

This district
4,757
Selected comparison
2,203.2

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting

School-age child poverty rate

This district
27.0%
Selected comparison
26.0%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting

+1.0 pts vs similar economic context

Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.

22 schools in this district

Number of schools in the district

This district
22
Selected comparison
11.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
14
High School
3
Middle / Jr. High
3
K-12
2
Browse all 22 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this district
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Cedar Ridge ElemElementaryB82400
University HSHigh SchoolB801,755
Lake Air Montessori SchoolElementaryC76705
Hillcrest PDS MagnetElementaryC75436
Provident Heights ElemElementaryC72356
Waco HSHigh SchoolC701,704
Tennyson MSMiddle / Jr. HighD69999
Parkdale ElemElementaryD67488
Brook Avenue ElemElementaryD65360
Kendrick ElemElementaryD64804
Bell's Hill ElemElementaryD61719
Crestview ElemElementaryF59461
Cesar Chavez MSMiddle / Jr. HighF58836
JH Hines ElemElementaryF58360
G W Carver MSMiddle / Jr. HighF57625
Dean Highland ElemElementaryF57573
Mountainview ElemElementaryF54334
South Waco ElemElementaryF49610
West Avenue ElemElementaryF48268
Challenge AcademyK-12Not Rated—52
G L Wiley Opportunity CenterK-12Not Rated—43
Bill Logue Detention CenterHigh SchoolNot Rated—20

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$11k$20k$29k20182020202220242025
  • Waco ISD
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This district
$22,564
Selected comparison
$23,791

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting

−$1,227 vs similar economic context

This district spends $3,594 more per student than TEA's peer group, and $3,592 more per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearWaco ISDTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$12,104$13,287$13,054$14,645 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting
2019$12,288$13,321$13,108$14,708 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting
2020$12,730$14,168$14,058$15,810 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting
2021$14,324$14,814$14,797$17,190 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting
2022$16,776$15,701$15,708$20,423 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting
2023$25,534$17,110$16,792$23,105 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting
2024$27,839$18,355$18,125$22,634 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting
2025$22,564$18,970$18,972$23,791 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$62,640−$2,068 vs similar economic context
Teachers
968+489.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.3+0.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Waco ISD

Beginning: 12.1%1 to 5 years: 29.5%6 to 10 years: 24.2%11 to 20 years: 21.8%21 to 30 years: 8.8%Over 30 years: 3.7%
  • Beginning 12.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 29.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 24.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 21.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 8.8%
  • Over 30 years 3.7%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 reporting for every category shown · 144 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.8%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 17.7%11 to 20 years: 26.2%21 to 30 years: 15.8%Over 30 years: 5.4%
  • Beginning 7.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.8%
  • Over 30 years 5.4%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 21.3% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This district
21.3%
Selected comparison
23.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 144 rated districts reporting

−1.9 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Waco ISD
School yearTeacher turnover rateWaco ISDAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2118.4%18.4%
2021–2223.3%22.0%
2022–2324.9%26.2%
2023–2423.6%24.2%
2024–2521.3%23.2%

TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this district ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 2of 17

    Earned an associate degree

    McLennan County · of the 17 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

6 measures

  • 5of 18

    Per-student spending

    McLennan County · of the 18 that report this measure

  • 7of 17

    Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)

    McLennan County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 7of 17

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    McLennan County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 8of 17

    Earned an industry-based certification

    McLennan County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 9of 17

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    McLennan County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 10of 17

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    McLennan County · of the 17 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no district would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this district as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset