Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

G W Carver MS

McLennan County · Region 12: Waco · 625 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
57/1002025-26
Change
−2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−20.7 ptsvs 77.7 average · 1,827 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,747 of 1,827tied with 14 others
F57

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 59 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.7 average for 1,827 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

G W Carver MS is rated F by TEA, scoring 57 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.7 average for 1,827 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,747th of 1,827 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 14 others).

4 consecutive years rated unacceptable. At three or more years, Texas law provides for state intervention.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Comprehensive Support and Improvement

Official support label: Comprehensive Progress

Identification reason: CSI Low Performance

TEA track year 5 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

2026-27 school year

Public Education Grant transfer eligibility

Students assigned to this campus may request a transfer under the state's PEG program.

A request is not guaranteed. A receiving district may apply its enrollment rules, and transportation is not automatically provided.

Read the official PEG rules and list

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
33.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,827 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
9.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,827 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageG W Carver MS 5959504557 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 59 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26F5777.7 1,827 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25F4577.5 1,810 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24F5073.9 1,794 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23F5973.3 1,790 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22F5982.0 1,768 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement47 F−23.3 vs similar economic context · 1,696 reporting
  • School Progress55 F−23.9 vs similar economic context · 1,693 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps63 D−12.1 vs similar economic context · 1,684 reporting
  • Academic Growth55 F−18.4 vs similar economic context · 1,671 reporting
  • Relative Performance50 F−26.9 vs similar economic context · 1,692 reporting
  • G W Carver MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,827 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement47F13
School Progress55F5
Closing the Gaps63D7
Academic Growth55F5
Relative Performance50F10

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 5 points below D in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (55), so Student Achievement (47) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 55.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level35%−32 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 reporting
  • Meets grade level15%−26 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 reporting
  • Masters grade level3%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level47%−22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 reporting
  • Meets grade level20%−24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level25%−41 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,693 reporting
  • Meets grade level9%−30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,693 reporting
  • Masters grade level3%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,693 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level37%−26 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,601 reporting
  • Meets grade level16%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,601 reporting
  • Masters grade level2%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,601 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level28%−34 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 527 reporting
  • Meets grade level13%−21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 527 reporting
  • Masters grade level5%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 527 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,827 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
625
Economically disadvantaged
94.9%+2.8 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
26.9%−15.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
30.4%+12.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
88.6%−4.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
39.3%+15.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

G W Carver MS

African American: 41%Hispanic: 51.2%White: 5%American Indian: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.7%
  • African American 41%
  • Hispanic 51.2%
  • White 5%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,827 reporting for every category shown · 1,827 in full cohort

African American: 14.9%Hispanic: 77.3%White: 4.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.4%
  • African American 14.9%
  • Hispanic 77.3%
  • White 4.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
625
Economically disadvantaged students
593
Emergent bilingual students
168
Special education students
190

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
236
Students in TEA mobility denominator
877
TEA-published mobility rate
26.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 625 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 98 (13.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
625

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−98

Decrease · −13.6%

Change since 2021–22
+112

Increase · +21.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
625
Selected comparison
561.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,808 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for G W Carver MS
School yearStudents enrolledG W Carver MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 513 First available year 609.6
2022–23 404 Decrease of 109 (21.2%) 605.8
2023–24 776 Increase of 372 (92.1%) 595.6
2024–25 723 Decrease of 53 (6.8%) 588.7
2025–26 625 Decrease of 98 (13.6%) 561.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
404

48.3% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
2,298

274.55 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
837

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
48.3%
Selected comparison
13.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,069 rated schools reporting

+35.2 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
274.55
Selected comparison
30.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,159 rated schools reporting

+243.7 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for G W Carver MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 579 154 26.6% 309 53.37 6.8% 13
2021–22 563 252 44.8% 1,214 215.63 12.5% 29.7
2022–23 457 196 42.9% 1,002 219.26 13.6% 32.8
2023–24 858 455 53.0% 2,897 337.65 13.7% 33
2024–25 837 404 48.3% 2,298 274.55 13.1% 30.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for G W Carver MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 404 48.3% 2,298 274.55 13.1% 30.9
In-school suspensions 278 33.2% 841 100.48 11.4% 21.9
Out-of-school suspensions 324 38.7% 1,347 160.93 9.6% 16
DAEP placements 84 10.0% 99 11.83 5.1% 6.2
Mandatory DAEP placements 78 9.3% 87 10.39 3.9% 4.6
Discretionary DAEP placements 11 1.3% 12 1.43 3.3% 4
JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$18k$29k20182020202220242025
  • G W Carver MS
  • Parent district: Waco ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,408
Selected comparison
$13,276

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,809 rated schools reporting

−$2,868 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,408 per student for this campus, $22,564 per student for its parent district, Waco ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearG W Carver MSParent district: Waco ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$10,062$12,104$13,054$8,359 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,724 rated schools reporting
2019$9,956$12,288$13,108$8,372 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,748 rated schools reporting
2020$10,067$12,730$14,058$8,868 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,751 rated schools reporting
2021$11,165$14,324$14,797$9,712 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,753 rated schools reporting
2022$10,727$16,776$15,708$11,228 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,769 rated schools reporting
2023$19,693$25,534$16,792$11,864 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,790 rated schools reporting
2024$14,048$27,839$18,125$12,725 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,798 rated schools reporting
2025$10,408$22,564$18,972$13,276 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,809 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$59,899−$8,587 vs similar economic context
Teachers
59+19.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
10.7−4.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

G W Carver MS

Beginning: 20.5%1 to 5 years: 25.6%6 to 10 years: 29.2%11 to 20 years: 18.8%Over 30 years: 6%
  • Beginning 20.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 25.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 29.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 18.8%
  • Over 30 years 6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,827 reporting for every category shown · 1,827 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.6%1 to 5 years: 27%6 to 10 years: 18.7%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 27%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for G W Carver MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classG W Carver MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 612.917.3
Secondary English12.815.1
Secondary languages other than English19.118.2
Secondary math15.516.8
Secondary science17.117.7
Secondary social studies17.917.7

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 161914050.