Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Charter school system · Alternative Education Accountability

Texans Can Academies

Administrative office: Dallas · 2,935 students

Official charter system websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
81/1002025-26
Change
+4 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+3.2 ptsvs 77.8 average · 71 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
30 of 71tied with 3 others
B81

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 84 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.8 average for 71 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 6 points

75 to 81 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 81 is 3.2 points above the 77.8 average among 71 charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

School Progress rose 7 points

76 to 83 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 83 is 4.1 points above the 78.9 average among 71 charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Academic Growth above the similar-context average

77 +4.3 pts vs 72.7

  • 77 is 4.3 points above the 72.7 average among 69 charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this charter school system.

Read the full rating context and placement

Texans Can Academies is rated B by TEA, scoring 81 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.8 average for 71 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context. It is up 4 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 30th of 71 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context (tied with 3 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this charter school system serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Students entering this charter system
  11. Discipline and removal from class
  12. 11 schools in this charter school system
  13. Spending per student
  14. Teachers
  15. Where this charter school system ranks best
  16. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Dated TEA notices for campuses in this charter school system. They are shown separately from the charter school system rating because they describe specific campuses, support programs and transfer eligibility.

Campuses identified for federal improvement support
11

2026 TEA list

Campuses on the final PEG transfer list
0

2026–27 school year

Share of campuses identified for improvement

This charter school system
100.0%
Selected comparison
39.5%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 rated charter school systems reporting

+60.5 pts vs similar economic context

Share of campuses on the PEG list

This charter school system
0.0%
Selected comparison
0.0%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 rated charter school systems reporting

±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
See the campuses and official reasons
Official improvement and Public Education Grant notices for campuses in Texans Can Academies
CampusNoticeOfficial status or reason
Texans Can Academy - Dallas NorthCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Graduation Rate
Texans Can Academy - Oak CliffCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Graduation Rate
Texans Can Academy - Carrollton Farmers BranchCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Graduation Rate
Texans Can Academy - Pleasant GroveCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Graduation Rate
Texans Can Academy - Grant EastCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Graduation Rate
Texans Can Academy - Fort Worth WestcreekCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Graduation Rate
Texans Can Academy - Fort Worth Lancaster AvenueCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Graduation Rate
Texans Can Academy - Houston NorthCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Graduation Rate
Texans Can Academy - Houston HobbyCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Graduation Rate
Texans Can Academy - Houston SouthwestCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Graduation Rate
Texans Can Academy - GarlandCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Graduation Rate

Selected comparison percentages describe how common each dated campus notice is across reporting charter school systems in that group. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes a campus's official status.

Sources: TEA's 2026 Schools Identified for Improvement and Public Education Grant program, fetched 24 August 2026. A PEG listing makes a student assigned to that campus eligible to request a transfer; it does not guarantee acceptance, available space or transportation.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this charter school system has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averageTexans Can Academies 7777817581 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 84 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26B8177.8 71 reporting79.7 165 reporting
2024-25C7576.1 70 reporting79.2 160 reporting
2023-24B8176.0 69 reporting78.2 159 reporting
2022-23C7774.4 69 reporting77.4 158 reporting
2021-22C7781.3 63 reporting82.4 150 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement75 C+1.8 vs similar economic context · 71 reporting
  • School Progress83 B+4.1 vs similar economic context · 71 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps75 C+0.3 vs similar economic context · 70 reporting
  • Academic Growth77 C+4.3 vs similar economic context · 69 reporting
  • Relative Performance83 B+5.8 vs similar economic context · 70 reporting
  • Texans Can Academies
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (71 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement75C5
School Progress83B7
Closing the Gaps75C5
Academic Growth77C3
Relative Performance83B7

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 5 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this charter school system that better measure is School Progress (83), so Student Achievement (75) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 83.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level59%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 reporting
  • Meets grade level16%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 reporting
  • Masters grade level2%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level41%−27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 reporting
  • Meets grade level14%−29 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 reporting
  • Masters grade level0%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 reporting
  • Meets grade level12%−21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 reporting
  • Masters grade level3%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level81%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 69 reporting
  • Meets grade level14%−22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 69 reporting
  • Masters grade level2%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 69 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level82%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 reporting
  • Meets grade level26%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (71 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Completion

Four-Year
26.8%−41.5 pts vs similar economic context average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 12 rated charter school systems reporting
Five-Year
30.6%−41.6 pts vs similar economic context average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 12 rated charter school systems reporting
Six-Year
29.3%−49.6 pts vs similar economic context average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 12 rated charter school systems reporting
Dropout Rate
25.0%+17.5 pts vs similar economic context average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 12 rated charter school systems reporting

These measures use TEA's alternative-education accountability population. Each comparison average includes only charter school systems in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported charter school system rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
44.0%−30.3 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria44.0%74.3%−30.3 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 36 rated charter school systems reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course1.7%48.8%−47.1 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 36 rated charter school systems reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA0.9%21.1%−20.2 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 36 rated charter school systems reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)1.3%16.0%−14.7 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 36 rated charter school systems reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course2.8%23.1%−20.3 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 36 rated charter school systems reporting
Earned an industry-based certification39.2%17.1%+22.1 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 36 rated charter school systems reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.1%0.9%−0.8 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 36 rated charter school systems reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%3.8%−3.8 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 36 rated charter school systems reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%6.7%−6.7 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 36 rated charter school systems reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.3%1.2%−0.9 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 36 rated charter school systems reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student2.9%8.0%−5.1 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 36 rated charter school systems reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces0.8%2.0%−1.2 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 36 rated charter school systems reporting

Every row is a share of this charter school system's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this charter school system minus the average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported charter school system percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter school systems for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
1,053

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
65

6.2% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
905

85.9% of graduates

Not trackable
83

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This charter school system
1,053
Selected comparison
293.4

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 30 rated charter school systems reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This charter school system
65
Selected comparison
152.3

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 30 rated charter school systems reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This charter school system
6.2%
Selected comparison
38.1%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 30 rated charter school systems reporting

−31.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This charter school system
85.9%
Selected comparison
56.0%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 30 rated charter school systems reporting

+29.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This charter school system
7.9%
Selected comparison
6.0%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 30 rated charter school systems reporting

+1.9 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. DALLAS COLLEGE DISTRICT (009331)21
  2. HOUSTON CITY COLLEGE (010633)7
  3. TARRANT COUNTY COLLEGE DIST (003626)7

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this charter school system serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
2,935
Economically disadvantaged
89.0%+0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
44.0%+8.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
12.4%−1.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
77.8%−14.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
78.7%+53.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Texans Can Academies

African American: 32%Hispanic: 62%White: 3.6%American Indian: 0.7%Asian: 0.8%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 0.8%
  • African American 32%
  • Hispanic 62%
  • White 3.6%
  • American Indian 0.7%
  • Asian 0.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 0.8%

Selected comparison average For charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 reporting for every category shown · 71 in full cohort

African American: 24.5%Hispanic: 67.4%White: 4.2%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 2.2%Two or More Races: 1.4%
  • African American 24.5%
  • Hispanic 67.4%
  • White 4.2%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Two or More Races 1.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
2,880
Economically disadvantaged students
2,562
Emergent bilingual students
1,266
Special education students
357

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 2,935 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 544 (15.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
2,935

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−544

Decrease · −15.6%

Change since 2021–22
−2,102

Decrease · −41.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This charter school system
2,935
Selected comparison
2,899.6

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 rated charter school systems reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Texans Can Academies
School yearStudents enrolledTexans Can AcademiesChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 5,037 First available year 2,673.4
2022–23 3,790 Decrease of 1,247 (24.8%) 2,773.4
2023–24 3,608 Decrease of 182 (4.8%) 2,879.7
2024–25 3,479 Decrease of 129 (3.6%) 2,897.3
2025–26 2,935 Decrease of 544 (15.6%) 2,899.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter school systems in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this charter school system's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students entering this charter system

How many students live in a geographic school district and attend this charter system. These are movement counts, not a quality rating.

Transfers in
2,935

Live in a geographic district; attend this charter system · 2025–26

Transfers in · 2025–26

This charter school system
2,935
Selected comparison
2,899.6

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 rated charter school systems reporting

Official transfers into Texans Can Academies by school year
School yearTransfers inTexans Can AcademiesTransfers inselected charter comparison average
2021–22 5,037 2,673.4
2022–23 3,790 2,773.4
2023–24 3,608 2,879.7
2024–25 3,479 2,897.3
2025–26 2,935 2,899.6

Largest reported resident-district origins

  1. Dallas ISD 0579051,263
  2. Houston ISD 101912710
  3. Fort Worth ISD 220905410
  4. Crowley ISD 22091266
  5. Mesquite ISD 05791464

Top reported flows only. TEA published 15 of 57 counterpart counts and masked 42.

TEA does not publish a transfers-out total or a resident population for this charter system. A charter system is not a geographic attendance boundary, so a net transfer balance cannot be calculated and this page does not label the system a transfer gainer or loser.

Selected comparison figures are average reported transfer-in counts among charter systems, not rates; system size affects them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This charter system’s official total does not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The total and origin rows are TEA’s published charter-system figures; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer-in count does not say why a family chose the charter or whether one school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
507

8.3% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
670

11.01 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
6,086

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This charter school system
8.3%
Selected comparison
7.0%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 41 rated charter school systems reporting

+1.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This charter school system
11.01
Selected comparison
11

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 41 rated charter school systems reporting

+0.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Texans Can Academies
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 7,728 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 9,272 145 1.6% 181 1.95 8.2% 12.3
2022–23 7,298 322 4.4% 404 5.54 8.9% 14.3
2023–24 7,308 329 4.5% 403 5.51 7.8% 12.4
2024–25 6,086 507 8.3% 670 11.01 7.0% 11
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Texans Can Academies in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 507 8.3% 670 11.01 7.0% 11
In-school suspensions 28 0.5% 28 0.46 4.5% 7
Out-of-school suspensions 431 7.1% 545 8.95 4.8% 6.1
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions 95 1.6% 97 1.59 0.5% 0.5
Mandatory expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter school systems can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this charter school system's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

11 schools in this charter school system

Number of schools in the charter school system

This charter school system
11
Selected comparison
5.5

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 rated charter school systems reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average charter school system size. This charter school system's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

High School
11
Browse all 11 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$9k$15k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Texans Can Academies
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This charter school system
$12,461
Selected comparison
$15,972

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 rated charter school systems reporting

−$3,511 vs similar economic context

This charter school system spends $7,029 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $6,511 less per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearTexans Can AcademiesTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$10,151$13,287$13,054$10,558 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 60 rated charter school systems reporting
2019$11,349$13,321$13,108$10,821 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter school systems reporting
2020$12,179$14,168$14,058$11,306 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 64 rated charter school systems reporting
2021$12,432$14,225$14,797$12,512 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated charter school systems reporting
2022$12,979$15,701$15,708$15,607 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 68 rated charter school systems reporting
2023$14,426$16,917$16,792$15,537 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 69 rated charter school systems reporting
2024$14,472$18,225$18,125$15,903 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 70 rated charter school systems reporting
2025$12,461$19,490$18,972$15,972 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 rated charter school systems reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$68,536+$4,029 vs similar economic context
Teachers
97−69.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
29.8+13.5 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Texans Can Academies

Beginning: 2.4%1 to 5 years: 39.3%6 to 10 years: 21.2%11 to 20 years: 24.2%21 to 30 years: 11.9%Over 30 years: 1%
  • Beginning 2.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 39.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 21.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 24.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 11.9%
  • Over 30 years 1%

Selected comparison average For charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 71 reporting for every category shown · 71 in full cohort

Beginning: 10.7%1 to 5 years: 39.8%6 to 10 years: 20.1%11 to 20 years: 19.6%21 to 30 years: 7.4%Over 30 years: 2.3%
  • Beginning 10.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 39.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 19.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 7.4%
  • Over 30 years 2.3%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 44.9% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This charter school system
44.9%
Selected comparison
32.8%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 70 rated charter school systems reporting

+12.1 pts vs similar economic context
Charter-system teacher turnover rate by school year for Texans Can Academies
School yearTeacher turnover rateTexans Can AcademiesAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2121.8%25.5%
2021–2233.5%30.0%
2022–2338.6%35.7%
2023–2441.0%34.8%
2024–2544.9%32.8%

TEA defines this charter school system rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the charter school system in the current fall. That can include leaving the charter school system or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this charter school system's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this charter school system ranks best

Out of 116 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 20

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Similar size · of the 20 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

7 measures

  • 5of 20

    Earned a level I or level II certificate

    Similar size · of the 20 that report this measure

  • 6of 22

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Similar size · of the 22 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 20

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Similar size · of the 20 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 22

    Science — Approaches

    Similar size · of the 22 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 22

    Academic Growth

    Similar size · of the 22 that report this measure

  • 9of 22

    Relative Performance

    Similar size · of the 22 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 10of 22

    School Progress

    Similar size · of the 22 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this charter school system ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this charter school system; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no charter school system would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this charter school system as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset