Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Charter school system

Royal Public Schools

Administrative office: San Antonio · 394 students

Official charter system websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
59/1002025-26
Change
−12 ptssince 2022-23
Score vs similar economic context
−18.8 ptsvs 77.8 average · 65 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
61 of 65tied with 1 other
F59

At a glance

The available rating history is moving down. The current score is below the 77.8 average for 65 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this charter school system.

Read the full rating context and placement

Royal Public Schools is rated F by TEA, scoring 59 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.8 average for 65 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context. It is down 12 points since 2022-23.

Ranks 61st of 65 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context (tied with 1 other).

3 consecutive years rated unacceptable. At three or more years, Texas law provides for state intervention.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this charter school system serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Students entering this charter system
  10. Discipline and removal from class
  11. 1 schools in this charter school system
  12. Spending per student
  13. Teachers
  14. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Dated TEA notices for campuses in this charter school system. They are shown separately from the charter school system rating because they describe specific campuses, support programs and transfer eligibility.

Campuses identified for federal improvement support
1

2026 TEA list

Campuses on the final PEG transfer list
0

2026–27 school year

Share of campuses identified for improvement

This charter school system
100.0%
Selected comparison
34.3%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated charter school systems reporting

+65.7 pts vs similar economic context

Share of campuses on the PEG list

This charter school system
0.0%
Selected comparison
0.0%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated charter school systems reporting

±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
See the campuses and official reasons
Official improvement and Public Education Grant notices for campuses in Royal Public Schools
CampusNoticeOfficial status or reason
Royal Academy of ExcellenceCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance

Selected comparison percentages describe how common each dated campus notice is across reporting charter school systems in that group. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes a campus's official status.

Sources: TEA's 2026 Schools Identified for Improvement and Public Education Grant program, fetched 24 August 2026. A PEG listing makes a student assigned to that campus eligible to request a transfer; it does not guarantee acceptance, available space or transportation.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this charter school system has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averageRoyal Public Schools 71475659 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26F5977.8 65 reporting79.7 165 reporting
2024-25F5676.5 64 reporting79.2 160 reporting
2023-24F4775.9 63 reporting78.2 159 reporting
2022-23C7174.9 63 reporting77.4 158 reporting
2021-22Not Rated—81.3 58 reporting82.4 150 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement53 F−20.5 vs similar economic context · 65 reporting
  • School Progress59 F−19.7 vs similar economic context · 65 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps61 D−14.2 vs similar economic context · 64 reporting
  • Academic Growth59 F−13.2 vs similar economic context · 63 reporting
  • Relative Performance54 F−23.0 vs similar economic context · 64 reporting
  • Royal Public Schools
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (65 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement53F7
School Progress59F1
Closing the Gaps61D9
Academic Growth59F1
Relative Performance54F6

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 1 point below D in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this charter school system that better measure is School Progress (59), so Student Achievement (53) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 59.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level49%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
  • Meets grade level24%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level53%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level46%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
  • Meets grade level20%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level54%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting
  • Meets grade level22%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level17%−53 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 54 reporting
  • Meets grade level8%−33 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 54 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 54 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (65 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter school systems for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this charter school system serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
394
Economically disadvantaged
84.3%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
20.1%−12.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.8%+4.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
91.6%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
32.6%+5.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Royal Public Schools

African American: 2%Hispanic: 91.9%White: 4.3%American Indian: 0.3%Two or More Races: 1.5%
  • African American 2%
  • Hispanic 91.9%
  • White 4.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 1.5%

Selected comparison average For charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting for every category shown · 65 in full cohort

African American: 24.2%Hispanic: 66.8%White: 5%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.7%
  • African American 24.2%
  • Hispanic 66.8%
  • White 5%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
394
Economically disadvantaged students
332
Emergent bilingual students
79
Special education students
74

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 394 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 75 (16.0%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
394

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−75

Decrease · −16.0%

Change since 2021–22
+283

Increase · +255.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This charter school system
394
Selected comparison
3,468.8

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated charter school systems reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Royal Public Schools
School yearStudents enrolledRoyal Public SchoolsChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 111 First available year 3,237.9
2022–23 192 Increase of 81 (73.0%) 3,377.8
2023–24 345 Increase of 153 (79.7%) 3,457.3
2024–25 469 Increase of 124 (35.9%) 3,463.1
2025–26 394 Decrease of 75 (16.0%) 3,468.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter school systems in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this charter school system's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students entering this charter system

How many students live in a geographic school district and attend this charter system. These are movement counts, not a quality rating.

Transfers in
394

Live in a geographic district; attend this charter system · 2025–26

Transfers in · 2025–26

This charter school system
394
Selected comparison
3,468.8

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated charter school systems reporting

Official transfers into Royal Public Schools by school year
School yearTransfers inRoyal Public SchoolsTransfers inselected charter comparison average
2021–22 111 3,237.9
2022–23 192 3,377.8
2023–24 345 3,457.3
2024–25 469 3,463.1
2025–26 394 3,468.8

Largest reported resident-district origins

  1. San Antonio ISD 015907234
  2. Harlandale ISD 01590459
  3. East Central ISD 01591148
  4. South San Antonio ISD 01590812
  5. Northside ISD 01591510

Top reported flows only. TEA published 5 of 15 counterpart counts and masked 10.

TEA does not publish a transfers-out total or a resident population for this charter system. A charter system is not a geographic attendance boundary, so a net transfer balance cannot be calculated and this page does not label the system a transfer gainer or loser.

Selected comparison figures are average reported transfer-in counts among charter systems, not rates; system size affects them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This charter system’s official total does not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The total and origin rows are TEA’s published charter-system figures; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer-in count does not say why a family chose the charter or whether one school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
534

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Royal Public Schools
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2021–22 120 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 217 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 399 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 534 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Royal Public Schools in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter school systems can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this charter school system's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

1 schools in this charter school system

Number of schools in the charter school system

This charter school system
1
Selected comparison
6.4

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated charter school systems reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average charter school system size. This charter school system's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
1
Browse all 1 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this charter school system
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Royal Academy of ExcellenceElementaryF59394

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$12k$26k$40k202220242025
  • Royal Public Schools
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This charter school system
$15,891
Selected comparison
$15,825

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated charter school systems reporting

+$66 vs similar economic context

This charter school system spends $10,038 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $3,081 less per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearRoyal Public SchoolsTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2022$37,873$19,817$15,708$15,436 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 62 rated charter school systems reporting
2023$25,115$21,827$16,792$15,108 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter school systems reporting
2024$19,149$23,517$18,125$15,695 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 64 rated charter school systems reporting
2025$15,891$25,929$18,972$15,825 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated charter school systems reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$61,984−$2,895 vs similar economic context
Teachers
29−169.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.8−2.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Royal Public Schools

Beginning: 12.9%1 to 5 years: 55.2%6 to 10 years: 21%11 to 20 years: 10.5%
  • Beginning 12.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 55.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 21%
  • 11 to 20 years 10.5%

Selected comparison average For charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting for every category shown · 65 in full cohort

Beginning: 11.8%1 to 5 years: 39.5%6 to 10 years: 20%11 to 20 years: 19.1%21 to 30 years: 7.2%Over 30 years: 2.5%
  • Beginning 11.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 39.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 20%
  • 11 to 20 years 19.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 7.2%
  • Over 30 years 2.5%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 8.5% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This charter school system
8.5%
Selected comparison
31.6%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 64 rated charter school systems reporting

−23.1 pts vs similar economic context
Charter-system teacher turnover rate by school year for Royal Public Schools
School yearTeacher turnover rateRoyal Public SchoolsAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2021–22Not reported—
2022–2342.7%35.6%
2023–2454.4%34.6%
2024–258.5%31.6%

TEA defines this charter school system rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the charter school system in the current fall. That can include leaving the charter school system or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this charter school system's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this charter school system as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset