Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Geographic public school district

Mathis ISD

San Patricio County · Region 02: Corpus Christi · 1,366 students

Official district websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
81/1002025-26
Change
±0 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+3.4 ptsvs 77.6 average · 254 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
80 of 254tied with 7 others
B81

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is flat; under the rules in force back then it scored 83 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.6 average for 254 rated districts serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 2 points

79 to 81 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 81 is 3.4 points above the 77.6 average among 254 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Academic Growth rose 9 points

65 to 74 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 74 is 4.5 points above the 69.5 average among 254 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
51%vs 44.5% avg · +6.5 pts
Masters
18%vs 14.4% avg · +3.6 pts

Among 254 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.

Read the full rating context and placement

Mathis ISD is rated B by TEA, scoring 81 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.6 average for 254 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is unchanged since 2021-22.

Ranks 80th of 254 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 7 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this district serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Students crossing district lines
  11. Discipline and removal from class
  12. Community around the district
  13. 4 schools in this district
  14. Spending per student
  15. Teachers
  16. Where this district ranks best
  17. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Dated TEA notices for campuses in this district. They are shown separately from the district rating because they describe specific campuses, support programs and transfer eligibility.

Campuses identified for federal improvement support
1

2026 TEA list

Campuses on the final PEG transfer list
0

2026–27 school year

Share of campuses identified for improvement

This district
25.0%
Selected comparison
30.7%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting

−5.7 pts vs similar economic context

Share of campuses on the PEG list

This district
0.0%
Selected comparison
7.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting

−7.2 pts vs similar economic context
See the campuses and official reasons
Official improvement and Public Education Grant notices for campuses in Mathis ISD
CampusNoticeOfficial status or reason
Mathis MSATSAdditional Targeted Support · White

Selected comparison percentages describe how common each dated campus notice is across reporting districts in that group. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes a campus's official status.

Sources: TEA's 2026 Schools Identified for Improvement and Public Education Grant program, fetched 24 August 2026. A PEG listing makes a student assigned to that campus eligible to request a transfer; it does not guarantee acceptance, available space or transportation.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMathis ISD 8175787981 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 83 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8177.6 254 reporting81.7 1,019 reporting
2024-25C7975.5 254 reporting80.3 1,019 reporting
2023-24C7873.7 254 reporting78.7 1,017 reporting
2022-23C7574.4 253 reporting79.2 1,018 reporting
2021-22B8177.1 253 reporting80.6 1,017 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement76 C+1.0 vs similar economic context · 254 reporting
  • School Progress82 B+3.3 vs similar economic context · 254 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps79 C+4.6 vs similar economic context · 253 reporting
  • Academic Growth74 C+4.5 vs similar economic context · 254 reporting
  • Relative Performance82 B+3.7 vs similar economic context · 254 reporting
  • Mathis ISD
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (254 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement76C4
School Progress82B8
Closing the Gaps79C1
Academic Growth74C6
Relative Performance82B8

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this district that better measure is School Progress (82), so Student Achievement (76) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 82.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level71%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level77%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 reporting
  • Meets grade level51%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%±0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 252 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 252 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 252 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 250 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 250 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 250 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (254 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
95.2%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 244 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
97.2%+1.5 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 245 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
96.2%+1.0 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 245 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
0.7%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated districts reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
91.0%+4.9 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria91.0%86.1%+4.9 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 244 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course32.0%53.1%−21.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA14.0%20.8%−6.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%6.4%−6.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course29.0%30.1%−1.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification75.0%42.6%+32.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%2.8%−2.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%4.3%−4.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%2.8%−2.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%4.0%−4.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student16.0%9.9%+6.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces3.0%3.2%−0.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated districts reporting

Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this district minus the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
97

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
40

41.2% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
56

57.7% of graduates

Not trackable
1

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This district
97
Selected comparison
634.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 200 rated districts reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This district
40
Selected comparison
270.4

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 200 rated districts reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This district
41.2%
Selected comparison
42.4%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 200 rated districts reporting

−1.2 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This district
57.7%
Selected comparison
53.5%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 200 rated districts reporting

+4.2 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This district
1.0%
Selected comparison
4.1%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 200 rated districts reporting

−3.1 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. TEXAS A&M UNIV-CORPUS CHRISTI (011161)12
  2. DEL MAR COLLEGE (003563)9
  3. TEXAS A&M UNIV-KINGSVILLE (003639)7

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this district serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,366
Economically disadvantaged
79.8%+1.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
1.4%−18.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
20.9%+2.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.2%−1.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
27.4%+6.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Mathis ISD

African American: 0.4%Hispanic: 85.6%White: 12.7%American Indian: 0.1%Asian: 0.3%Two or More Races: 0.8%
  • African American 0.4%
  • Hispanic 85.6%
  • White 12.7%
  • American Indian 0.1%
  • Asian 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 0.8%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 reporting for every category shown · 254 in full cohort

African American: 10.5%Hispanic: 62.7%White: 23.1%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.8%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2.6%
  • African American 10.5%
  • Hispanic 62.7%
  • White 23.1%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,364
Economically disadvantaged students
1,088
Emergent bilingual students
19
Special education students
285

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,366 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 63 (4.4%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,366

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−63

Decrease · −4.4%

Change since 2021–22
−77

Decrease · −5.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This district
1,366
Selected comparison
7,014.4

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Mathis ISD
School yearStudents enrolledMathis ISDChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,443 First available year 7,352.1
2022–23 1,485 Increase of 42 (2.9%) 7,365.9
2023–24 1,447 Decrease of 38 (2.6%) 7,297.9
2024–25 1,429 Decrease of 18 (1.2%) 7,242.9
2025–26 1,366 Decrease of 63 (4.4%) 7,014.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students crossing district lines

How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.

Transfers in
62

Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26

Transfers out
150

Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26

Transfers in minus transfers out
−88

Arithmetic context only

Transfers in · 2025–26

This district
62
Selected comparison
441.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 225 rated districts reporting

Transfers out · 2025–26

This district
150
Selected comparison
1,452.2

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 248 rated districts reporting

Transfers in minus out · 2025–26

This district
−88
Selected comparison
−1,174

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 221 rated districts reporting

Official transfer totals by school year for Mathis ISD
School yearTransfers inMathis ISDTransfers outMathis ISDIn minus outMathis ISDTransfers inselected comparison averageTransfers outselected comparison averageIn minus outselected comparison average
2021–22 55 177 −122 278 1,259.2 −1,117
2022–23 54 167 −113 318.4 1,318 −1,150
2023–24 64 152 −88 364.3 1,394.6 −1,158
2024–25 66 157 −91 417.9 1,430.1 −1,146
2025–26 62 150 −88 441.6 1,452.2 −1,174

Largest reported origins for transfers in

  1. Orange Grove ISD 12590337

Top reported flows only. TEA published 1 of 10 counterpart counts and masked 9.

Largest reported destinations for transfers out

  1. Skidmore-Tynan ISD 01390541
  2. Calallen ISD 17890320
  3. Hallsville ISD 10290418
  4. Orange Grove ISD 12590312
  5. Tuloso-Midway ISD 17891210

Top reported flows only. TEA published 5 of 22 counterpart counts and masked 17.

Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
159

10.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
316

20.59 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,535

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This district
10.4%
Selected comparison
12.4%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 240 rated districts reporting

−2.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This district
20.59
Selected comparison
29.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 242 rated districts reporting

−9.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Mathis ISD
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,632 53 3.3% 71 4.35 8.0% 16.4
2021–22 1,641 128 7.8% 183 11.15 12.8% 30.4
2022–23 1,593 219 13.8% 504 31.64 13.5% 33.6
2023–24 1,562 189 12.1% 404 25.86 12.9% 31.7
2024–25 1,535 159 10.4% 316 20.59 12.4% 29.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Mathis ISD in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 159 10.4% 316 20.59 12.4% 29.9
In-school suspensions 136 8.9% 202 13.16 10.2% 20
Out-of-school suspensions 49 3.2% 57 3.71 5.0% 8.2
DAEP placements 46 3.0% 57 3.71 3.1% 3.8
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Community around the district

A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.

People living inside the district boundary
8,732

2024 Census estimate

Children ages 5–17
1,533

Living inside the boundary

Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
467

30.5%

School-age child poverty rate
30.5%

467 of 1,533

Boundary population

This district
8,732
Selected comparison
46,898

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 253 rated districts reporting

School-age population

This district
1,533
Selected comparison
8,493.7

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 253 rated districts reporting

School-age population in poverty

This district
467
Selected comparison
1,974.1

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 253 rated districts reporting

School-age child poverty rate

This district
30.5%
Selected comparison
23.1%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 253 rated districts reporting

+7.4 pts vs similar economic context

Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.

4 schools in this district

Number of schools in the district

This district
4
Selected comparison
11.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
2
High School
1
Middle / Jr. High
1
Browse all 4 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this district
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Mathis HSHigh SchoolA92397
Mathis ElemElementaryC77345
Mathis IntElementaryC77317
Mathis MSMiddle / Jr. HighC72307

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$11k$20k$28k20182020202220242025
  • Mathis ISD
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This district
$21,071
Selected comparison
$22,569

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting

−$1,498 vs similar economic context

This district spends $1,310 more per student than TEA's peer group, and $2,099 more per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMathis ISDTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$13,702$12,629$13,054$14,190 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting
2019$14,047$12,702$13,108$14,376 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting
2020$17,392$13,729$14,058$15,537 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting
2021$20,723$14,629$14,797$16,980 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting
2022$22,716$15,859$15,708$18,945 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting
2023$21,613$17,414$16,792$21,424 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting
2024$20,818$19,844$18,125$21,429 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting
2025$21,071$19,761$18,972$22,569 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$63,838−$412 vs similar economic context
Teachers
100−371.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.6−0.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Mathis ISD

Beginning: 6.9%1 to 5 years: 24%6 to 10 years: 20.6%11 to 20 years: 28.5%21 to 30 years: 13.1%Over 30 years: 7%
  • Beginning 6.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 24%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 13.1%
  • Over 30 years 7%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 reporting for every category shown · 254 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.4%1 to 5 years: 27.7%6 to 10 years: 17.5%11 to 20 years: 25.5%21 to 30 years: 16.4%Over 30 years: 5.5%
  • Beginning 7.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 25.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.4%
  • Over 30 years 5.5%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 25.7% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This district
25.7%
Selected comparison
23.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated districts reporting

+2.5 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Mathis ISD
School yearTeacher turnover rateMathis ISDAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2124.6%18.8%
2021–2215.2%22.0%
2022–2326.7%26.1%
2023–2424.5%23.5%
2024–2525.7%23.2%

TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this district ranks best

Out of 160 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

2 measures

  • 3of 35

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 3of 35

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 35 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no district would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this district as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset