Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Mathis Int

San Patricio County · Region 02: Corpus Christi · 317 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
77/1002025-26
Change
−9 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−0.5 ptsvs 77.5 average · 2,228 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,233 of 2,228tied with 65 others
C77

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 84 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.5 average for 2,228 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
45%vs 41.7% avg · +3.3 pts
Masters
19%vs 16.3% avg · +2.7 pts

Among 2,058 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
52%vs 46.2% avg · +5.8 pts
Masters
25%vs 18.1% avg · +6.9 pts

Among 2,056 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
38%vs 36.8% avg · +1.2 pts
Masters
18%vs 15% avg · +3 pts

Among 1,902 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Mathis Int is rated C by TEA, scoring 77 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.5 average for 2,228 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 9 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,233rd of 2,228 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 65 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMathis Int 8678758177 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 84 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7777.5 2,228 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8177.1 2,213 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7574.5 2,196 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7874.9 2,180 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8681.7 2,159 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement73 C+1.0 vs similar economic context · 2,058 reporting
  • School Progress81 B+2.3 vs similar economic context · 2,051 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps66 D−8.6 vs similar economic context · 2,037 reporting
  • Academic Growth65 D−7.2 vs similar economic context · 2,005 reporting
  • Relative Performance81 B+4.0 vs similar economic context · 2,051 reporting
  • Mathis Int
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,228 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement73C7
School Progress81B9
Closing the Gaps66D4
Academic Growth65D5
Relative Performance81B9

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 4 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (81), so Student Achievement (73) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 81.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level71%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,058 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,058 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,058 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level77%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,056 reporting
  • Meets grade level52%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,056 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,056 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,046 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,046 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,046 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,228 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
317
Economically disadvantaged
81.4%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
1.6%−29.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
28.4%+9.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.3%+1.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
20.2%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Mathis Int

African American: 0.6%Hispanic: 90.5%White: 8.2%American Indian: 0.3%Two or More Races: 0.3%
  • African American 0.6%
  • Hispanic 90.5%
  • White 8.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 0.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,228 reporting for every category shown · 2,228 in full cohort

African American: 14.2%Hispanic: 69.1%White: 12.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.6%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.5%
  • African American 14.2%
  • Hispanic 69.1%
  • White 12.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
317
Economically disadvantaged students
258
Emergent bilingual students
5
Special education students
90

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
25
Students in TEA mobility denominator
342
TEA-published mobility rate
7.3%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 317 students in 2025–26, an increase of 2 (0.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
317

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+2

Increase · +0.6%

Change since 2021–22
+77

Increase · +32.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
317
Selected comparison
625.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,198 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Mathis Int
School yearStudents enrolledMathis IntChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 240 First available year 653.2
2022–23 323 Increase of 83 (34.6%) 654.7
2023–24 303 Decrease of 20 (6.2%) 648.3
2024–25 315 Increase of 12 (4.0%) 644.7
2025–26 317 Increase of 2 (0.6%) 625.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
342

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Mathis Int
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 253 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 295 11 3.7% 16 5.42 13.0% 31.1
2022–23 343 10 2.9% 14 4.08 13.8% 34.4
2023–24 323 11 3.4% 17 5.26 13.8% 34.3
2024–25 342 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Mathis Int in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$15k$24k20182020202220242025
  • Mathis Int
  • Parent district: Mathis ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,512
Selected comparison
$13,152

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,212 rated schools reporting

−$1,640 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,512 per student for this campus, $21,071 per student for its parent district, Mathis ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMathis IntParent district: Mathis ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,822$13,702$13,054$8,199 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,091 rated schools reporting
2019$8,757$14,047$13,108$8,302 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,117 rated schools reporting
2020$9,690$17,392$14,058$8,804 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,132 rated schools reporting
2021$11,359$20,723$14,797$9,477 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,142 rated schools reporting
2022$11,056$22,716$15,708$10,912 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,160 rated schools reporting
2023$10,543$21,613$16,792$11,443 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,180 rated schools reporting
2024$11,961$20,818$18,125$12,421 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,196 rated schools reporting
2025$11,512$21,071$18,972$13,152 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,212 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$64,075−$3,216 vs similar economic context
Teachers
20−22.9 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.8+1.5 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Mathis Int

Beginning: 10%1 to 5 years: 10%6 to 10 years: 23%11 to 20 years: 35%21 to 30 years: 17.5%Over 30 years: 5%
  • Beginning 10%
  • 1 to 5 years 10%
  • 6 to 10 years 23%
  • 11 to 20 years 35%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.5%
  • Over 30 years 5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,228 reporting for every category shown · 2,228 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.9%1 to 5 years: 27.7%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 6.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Mathis Int in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMathis Int · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 31818.9
Grade 41518.9
Grade 515.320

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 3 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 8of 24

    Reading — Masters

    San Patricio County · of the 24 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 205904102.