+10.5 ptsvs 81.5 average · 408 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
18 of 408tied with 8 others
Score vs region
+12.1 ptsvs 79.9 average · 58 rated districts in Region 20: San Antonio
Region 20: San Antonio placement
5 of 58tied with 2 others
Score vs county
+7.0 ptsvs 85 average · 5 rated districts in Kerr County
Score vs similar-size group
+8.3 ptsvs 83.7 average · 184 similarly sized rated districts
Similar size placement
37 of 184tied with 9 others
Score vs state
+10.3 ptsvs 81.7 average · 1,019 rated Texas districts
Texas placement
68 of 1,019tied with 29 others
A92
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 87 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 81.5 average for 408 rated districts serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 79.9 average for 58 rated districts in Region 20: San Antonio.The current score is above the 85 average for 5 rated districts in Kerr County.The current score is above the 83.7 average for 184 similarly sized rated districts.The current score is above the 81.7 average for 1,019 rated Texas districts.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
STAAR result
Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters
Meets
86%vs 52.7% avg · +33.3 pts
Masters
52%vs 23% avg · +29 pts
Among 406 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
1st of 406 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
2nd of 406 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.
Read the full rating context and placement
Hunt ISD is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.5 average for 408 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 18th of 408 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 8 others).
Hunt ISD is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.9 average for 58 rated districts in Region 20: San Antonio. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.
Hunt ISD is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 85 average for 5 rated districts in Kerr County. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.
Hunt ISD is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 83.7 average for 184 similarly sized rated districts. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 37th of 184 similarly sized rated districts (tied with 9 others).
Hunt ISD is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.7 average for 1,019 rated Texas districts. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 87 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement93 A+11.2 vs similar economic context · 408 reporting
School Progress93 A+11.8 vs similar economic context · 408 reporting
Closing the Gaps91 A+11.9 vs similar economic context · 407 reporting
Academic Growth83 B+11.1 vs similar economic context · 408 reporting
Relative Performance93 A+12.3 vs similar economic context · 408 reporting
Hunt ISD
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (408 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
93
A
—
School Progress
93
A
—
Closing the Gaps
91
A
—
Academic Growth
83
B
7
Relative Performance
93
A
—
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level97%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
Meets grade level78%+28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
Masters grade level39%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level98%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
Meets grade level80%+25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
Masters grade level48%+28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level98%+26 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
Meets grade level79%+37 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
Masters grade level28%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level100%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 406 reporting
Meets grade level86%+33 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 406 reporting
Masters grade level52%+29 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 406 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
Approaches grade level76%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 400 reporting
Meets grade level43%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 400 reporting
Masters grade level24%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 400 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (408 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this district serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
212
Economically disadvantaged
56.4%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
5.2%−4.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
13.3%−5.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.4%+1.7 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
6.6%−7.7 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Hunt ISD
African American 0.9%
Hispanic 29.4%
White 66.4%
American Indian 0.5%
Pacific Islander 0.5%
Two or More Races 2.4%
Selected comparison averageFor districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting for every category shown · 408 in full cohort
African American 5.3%
Hispanic 37.8%
White 51.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 1%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.7%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 20: San Antonio · 58 reporting for every category shown · 58 in full cohort
African American 2.9%
Hispanic 64.4%
White 29.1%
American Indian 0.2%
Asian 0.8%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 2.4%
Selected comparison averageFor Kerr County · 5 reporting for every category shown · 5 in full cohort
African American 0.6%
Hispanic 40.9%
White 56%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 0.3%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 1.7%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized districts · 184 reporting for every category shown · 184 in full cohort
African American 2.6%
Hispanic 35.9%
White 57.9%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 0.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 2.9%
Statewide average1,019 reporting for every category shown · 1,019 Texas districts in full cohort
African American 6.3%
Hispanic 43.1%
White 45.4%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 1.4%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.3%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
211
Economically disadvantaged students
119
Emergent bilingual students
11
Special education students
28
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 212 students in 2025–26, an increase of 16 (8.2%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
212
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
+16
Increase · +8.2%
Change since 2021–22
+3
Increase · +1.4%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This district
212
Selected comparison
3,821.9
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Hunt ISD
School year
Students enrolledHunt ISD
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
209
First available year
3,794.3
2022–23
202
Decrease of 7 (3.3%)
3,850.6
2023–24
200
Decrease of 2 (1.0%)
3,851.6
2024–25
196
Decrease of 4 (2.0%)
3,865.5
2025–26
212
Increase of 16 (8.2%)
3,821.9
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Students crossing district lines
How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.
Transfers in
78
Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26
Transfers out
70
Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26
Transfers in minus transfers out
+8
Arithmetic context only
Transfers in · 2025–26
This district
78
Selected comparison
212.6
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 391 rated districts reporting
Transfers out · 2025–26
This district
70
Selected comparison
471.4
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 382 rated districts reporting
Transfers in minus out · 2025–26
This district
+8
Selected comparison
−268
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 370 rated districts reporting
Official transfer totals by school year for Hunt ISD
School year
Transfers inHunt ISD
Transfers outHunt ISD
In minus outHunt ISD
Transfers inselected comparison average
Transfers outselected comparison average
In minus outselected comparison average
2021–22
74
58
+16
177.7
375.6
−205
2022–23
69
57
+12
192.1
403.8
−221
2023–24
66
65
+1
186.1
424.7
−246
2024–25
74
78
−4
200
459.3
−264
2025–26
78
70
+8
212.6
471.4
−268
Largest reported origins for transfers in
Kerrville ISD 13390337
Ingram ISD 13390430
Top reported flows only. TEA published 2 of 5 counterpart counts and masked 3.
Largest reported destinations for transfers out
Ingram ISD 13390460
Top reported flows only. TEA published 1 of 4 counterpart counts and masked 3.
Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.
Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed
Rate not available
Disciplinary actions
Suppressed
Rate not available
Cumulative year-end enrollment
207
2024–25
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Hunt ISD
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
209
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2021–22
214
Suppressed
—
11
5.14
—
23
2022–23
204
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2023–24
206
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2024–25
207
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Hunt ISD in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
In-school suspensions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
Out-of-school suspensions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Community around the district
A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.
People living inside the district boundary
1,659
2024 Census estimate
Children ages 5–17
205
Living inside the boundary
Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
24
11.7%
School-age child poverty rate
11.7%
24 of 205
Boundary population
This district
1,659
Selected comparison
24,085.3
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
School-age population
This district
205
Selected comparison
4,231.3
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
School-age population in poverty
This district
24
Selected comparison
600
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
School-age child poverty rate
This district
11.7%
Selected comparison
17.1%
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
−5.4 pts vs similar economic context
Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.
1 schools in this district
Number of schools in the district
This district
1
Selected comparison
6.2
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.
Elementary
1
Browse all 1 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Hunt ISD
TEA peer group
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This district
$24,737
Selected comparison
$23,486
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
+$1,251 vs similar economic context
This district spends $1,192 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $5,765 more per student than the state average.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Hunt ISD
TEA peer group
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$13,288
$14,290
$13,054
$14,402
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2019
$12,789
$14,384
$13,108
$14,564
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2020
$15,844
$16,581
$14,058
$15,554
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2021
$17,757
$17,863
$14,797
$16,607
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2022
$16,847
$19,817
$15,708
$18,279
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2023
$19,702
$21,827
$16,792
$19,950
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2024
$25,599
$23,517
$18,125
$22,327
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2025
$24,737
$25,929
$18,972
$23,486
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers
Average salary
$74,317+$9,905 vs similar economic context
Teachers
20−241.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
10.4−1.8 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Hunt ISD
1 to 5 years 14.3%
6 to 10 years 18.7%
11 to 20 years 42.4%
21 to 30 years 25.1%
Selected comparison averageFor districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting for every category shown · 408 in full cohort
Beginning 6.5%
1 to 5 years 23.7%
6 to 10 years 17.2%
11 to 20 years 28.6%
21 to 30 years 18%
Over 30 years 6%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 20: San Antonio · 58 reporting for every category shown · 58 in full cohort
Beginning 4.2%
1 to 5 years 22.8%
6 to 10 years 19.2%
11 to 20 years 30.9%
21 to 30 years 19.3%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Selected comparison averageFor Kerr County · 5 reporting for every category shown · 5 in full cohort
Beginning 2.3%
1 to 5 years 25.6%
6 to 10 years 17.7%
11 to 20 years 32.9%
21 to 30 years 18.9%
Over 30 years 2.8%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized districts · 184 reporting for every category shown · 184 in full cohort
Beginning 7.4%
1 to 5 years 22.3%
6 to 10 years 16.4%
11 to 20 years 28.4%
21 to 30 years 18.9%
Over 30 years 6.6%
Statewide average1,019 reporting for every category shown · 1,019 Texas districts in full cohort
Beginning 6.4%
1 to 5 years 23.9%
6 to 10 years 17.7%
11 to 20 years 28.7%
21 to 30 years 17.7%
Over 30 years 5.5%
Teacher turnover over time
TEA reported a 18.8% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.
Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25
This district
18.8%
Selected comparison
21.2%
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
−2.4 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Hunt ISD
School year
Teacher turnover rateHunt ISD
Average turnover rateselected comparison
2020–21
15.8%
16.3%
2021–22
11.7%
19.8%
2022–23
13.9%
23.3%
2023–24
0.2%
21.1%
2024–25
18.8%
21.2%
TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.
Out of 96 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
#1 rankings
First-place results
5 measures
1of 1,019
Math — Approaches
Texas average · of the 1,019 that report this measure · tied with 1 · full ranking
1of 1,012
Science — Approaches
Texas average · of the 1,012 that report this measure · tied with 7 · full ranking
1of 408
All Subjects — Approaches
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 408 that report this measure
1of 408
Reading — Approaches
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 408 that report this measure · tied with 1
1of 406
Science — Meets
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 406 that report this measure
#2–3 rankings
Second- and third-place results
9 measures
2of 408
Reading — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 408 that report this measure
2of 406
Science — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 406 that report this measure
2of 58
School Progress
Region 20: San Antonio · of the 58 that report this measure
2of 58
Relative Performance
Region 20: San Antonio · of the 58 that report this measure
2of 58
Math — Meets
Region 20: San Antonio · of the 58 that report this measure
3of 408
All Subjects — Meets
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 408 that report this measure
3of 408
All Subjects — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 408 that report this measure
3of 408
Reading — Meets
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 408 that report this measure · tied with 1
3of 58
Attendance
Region 20: San Antonio · of the 58 that report this measure · tied with 1
#4–10 rankings
Fourth- through tenth-place results
6 measures
4of 58
Student Achievement
Region 20: San Antonio · of the 58 that report this measure · tied with 1
4of 58
Academic Growth
Region 20: San Antonio · of the 58 that report this measure · tied with 1
5of 58
Overall score
Region 20: San Antonio · of the 58 that report this measure · tied with 2 · full ranking
5of 58
Chronically absent (lowest is best)
Region 20: San Antonio · of the 58 that report this measure
6of 58
Math — Masters
Region 20: San Antonio · of the 58 that report this measure · tied with 1
7of 58
Closing the Gaps
Region 20: San Antonio · of the 58 that report this measure
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above
this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears
once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any
tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones
no district would put in a press release.
Where this comes from
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.