Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Geographic public school district

George West ISD

Live Oak County · Region 02: Corpus Christi · 1,037 students

Official district websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
92/1002025-26
Change
+6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+12.1 ptsvs 79.9 average · 385 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
16 of 385tied with 2 others
A92

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 92 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.9 average for 385 rated districts serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

School Progress rose 3 points

90 to 93 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 93 is 12.5 points above the 80.5 average among 385 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
78%vs 50.6% avg · +27.4 pts
Masters
39%vs 17.3% avg · +21.7 pts

Among 385 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

  • 3rd of 385 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
71%vs 46% avg · +25 pts
Masters
35%vs 16.6% avg · +18.4 pts

Among 385 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.

Read the full rating context and placement

George West ISD is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.9 average for 385 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is up 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 16th of 385 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 2 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this district serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Students crossing district lines
  10. Discipline and removal from class
  11. Community around the district
  12. 4 schools in this district
  13. Spending per student
  14. Teachers
  15. Where this district ranks best
  16. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageGeorge West ISD 8686889192 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 92 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9279.9 385 reporting81.7 1,019 reporting
2024-25A9178.6 385 reporting80.3 1,019 reporting
2023-24B8876.8 385 reporting78.7 1,017 reporting
2022-23B8677.5 385 reporting79.2 1,018 reporting
2021-22B8678.7 384 reporting80.6 1,017 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement92 A+12.6 vs similar economic context · 385 reporting
  • School Progress93 A+12.5 vs similar economic context · 385 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps88 B+11.0 vs similar economic context · 384 reporting
  • Academic Growth82 B+11.1 vs similar economic context · 385 reporting
  • Relative Performance93 A+12.9 vs similar economic context · 385 reporting
  • George West ISD
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (385 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement92A—
School Progress93A—
Closing the Gaps88B2
Academic Growth82B8
Relative Performance93A—

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this district that better measure is School Progress (93), so Student Achievement (92) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 93.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level90%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 reporting
  • Meets grade level71%+25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 reporting
  • Masters grade level35%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level92%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 reporting
  • Meets grade level78%+27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 reporting
  • Masters grade level39%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 reporting
  • Meets grade level69%+30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 382 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 382 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 382 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting
  • Masters grade level35%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (385 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
98.0%+1.5 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 370 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
98.3%+1.4 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 368 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
94.9%−1.7 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 367 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
96.0%+7.3 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria96.0%88.7%+7.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 370 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course74.5%56.3%+18.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA27.3%24.2%+3.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)18.2%5.1%+13.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course18.2%33.0%−14.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification61.8%43.3%+18.5 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%1.8%−1.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%3.6%−3.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit29.1%2.3%+26.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness3.6%3.6%+0.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student5.5%9.2%−3.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces7.3%3.7%+3.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting

Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this district minus the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
54

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
24

44.4% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
30

55.6% of graduates

Not trackable
0

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This district
54
Selected comparison
359.1

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 279 rated districts reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This district
24
Selected comparison
156.4

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 279 rated districts reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This district
44.4%
Selected comparison
43.5%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 279 rated districts reporting

+0.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This district
55.6%
Selected comparison
53.1%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 279 rated districts reporting

+2.5 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This district
0.0%
Selected comparison
3.4%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 279 rated districts reporting

−3.4 pts vs similar economic context

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this district serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,037
Economically disadvantaged
66.2%+0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
6.1%−6.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
13.5%−5.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.5%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
16.4%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

George West ISD

African American: 0.2%Hispanic: 59.7%White: 37.7%American Indian: 0.6%Asian: 0.5%Two or More Races: 1.3%
  • African American 0.2%
  • Hispanic 59.7%
  • White 37.7%
  • American Indian 0.6%
  • Asian 0.5%
  • Two or More Races 1.3%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 reporting for every category shown · 385 in full cohort

African American: 6.3%Hispanic: 45.6%White: 43.5%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 0.8%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 3.4%
  • African American 6.3%
  • Hispanic 45.6%
  • White 43.5%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 0.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 3.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,036
Economically disadvantaged students
686
Emergent bilingual students
63
Special education students
140

Early college pathways

Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
178

TEA-published share: 17.2%

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,037 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 26 (2.4%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,037

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−26

Decrease · −2.4%

Change since 2021–22
+1

Increase · +0.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This district
1,037
Selected comparison
3,721.1

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting

Student enrollment by school year for George West ISD
School yearStudents enrolledGeorge West ISDChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,036 First available year 3,749.5
2022–23 1,083 Increase of 47 (4.5%) 3,794.4
2023–24 1,059 Decrease of 24 (2.2%) 3,783.1
2024–25 1,063 Increase of 4 (0.4%) 3,789.6
2025–26 1,037 Decrease of 26 (2.4%) 3,721.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students crossing district lines

How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.

Transfers in
87

Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26

Transfers out
96

Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26

Transfers in minus transfers out
−9

Arithmetic context only

Transfers in · 2025–26

This district
87
Selected comparison
267.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 362 rated districts reporting

Transfers out · 2025–26

This district
96
Selected comparison
503.4

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 370 rated districts reporting

Transfers in minus out · 2025–26

This district
−9
Selected comparison
−254

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 350 rated districts reporting

Official transfer totals by school year for George West ISD
School yearTransfers inGeorge West ISDTransfers outGeorge West ISDIn minus outGeorge West ISDTransfers inselected comparison averageTransfers outselected comparison averageIn minus outselected comparison average
2021–22 81 109 −28 182.2 411.5 −245
2022–23 75 107 −32 207.3 430.7 −241
2023–24 87 90 −3 224.7 467.2 −256
2024–25 92 106 −14 255.8 487.6 −243
2025–26 87 96 −9 267.9 503.4 −254

Largest reported origins for transfers in

  1. Three Rivers ISD 14990261

Top reported flows only. TEA published 1 of 10 counterpart counts and masked 9.

Largest reported destinations for transfers out

  1. Orange Grove ISD 12590339
  2. Three Rivers ISD 14990219

Top reported flows only. TEA published 2 of 14 counterpart counts and masked 12.

Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
156

13.6% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
330

28.82 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,145

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This district
13.6%
Selected comparison
11.5%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 345 rated districts reporting

+2.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This district
28.82
Selected comparison
25.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated districts reporting

+2.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for George West ISD
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,147 97 8.5% 245 21.36 8.6% 17.7
2021–22 1,148 115 10.0% 246 21.43 11.7% 26.3
2022–23 1,164 141 12.1% 380 32.65 12.1% 28.2
2023–24 1,135 148 13.0% 354 31.19 11.8% 27.5
2024–25 1,145 156 13.6% 330 28.82 11.5% 25.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for George West ISD in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 156 13.6% 330 28.82 11.5% 25.9
In-school suspensions 141 12.3% 245 21.40 10.0% 19.1
Out-of-school suspensions 33 2.9% 54 4.72 3.9% 5.9
DAEP placements 22 1.9% 27 2.36 2.8% 3.4
Mandatory DAEP placements 13 1.1% 15 1.31 1.7% 2
Discretionary DAEP placements 10 0.9% 12 1.05 1.5% 1.8
JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Community around the district

A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.

People living inside the district boundary
6,848

2024 Census estimate

Children ages 5–17
1,057

Living inside the boundary

Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
196

18.5%

School-age child poverty rate
18.5%

196 of 1,057

Boundary population

This district
6,848
Selected comparison
22,748.7

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting

School-age population

This district
1,057
Selected comparison
4,116.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting

School-age population in poverty

This district
196
Selected comparison
756.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting

School-age child poverty rate

This district
18.5%
Selected comparison
19.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting

−0.7 pts vs similar economic context

Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.

4 schools in this district

Number of schools in the district

This district
4
Selected comparison
6.4

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
2
High School
1
Middle / Jr. High
1
Browse all 4 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this district
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
George West HSHigh SchoolA94279
George West PriElementaryA93351
George West JHMiddle / Jr. HighA90164
George West ElemElementaryA90243

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$11k$19k$28k20182020202220242025
  • George West ISD
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This district
$22,233
Selected comparison
$23,143

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting

−$910 vs similar economic context

This district spends $2,472 more per student than TEA's peer group, and $3,261 more per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearGeorge West ISDTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$13,052$13,246$13,054$14,133 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting
2019$12,593$12,865$13,108$14,402 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting
2020$12,027$13,729$14,058$15,389 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting
2021$13,789$14,629$14,797$16,312 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting
2022$16,574$15,859$15,708$17,852 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting
2023$14,632$17,414$16,792$19,559 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting
2024$15,789$19,844$18,125$21,246 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting
2025$22,233$19,761$18,972$23,143 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$65,388+$1,485 vs similar economic context
Teachers
75−176.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.8+0.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

George West ISD

Beginning: 2.5%1 to 5 years: 20.2%6 to 10 years: 17.6%11 to 20 years: 39%21 to 30 years: 13.2%Over 30 years: 7.6%
  • Beginning 2.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 20.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 39%
  • 21 to 30 years 13.2%
  • Over 30 years 7.6%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 reporting for every category shown · 385 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.1%1 to 5 years: 25.5%6 to 10 years: 17.5%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 17%Over 30 years: 5.9%
  • Beginning 7.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 25.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 17%
  • Over 30 years 5.9%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 14.9% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This district
14.9%
Selected comparison
22.7%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 385 rated districts reporting

−7.8 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for George West ISD
School yearTeacher turnover rateGeorge West ISDAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2118.1%17.6%
2021–2221.0%21.7%
2022–2319.9%24.9%
2023–2414.3%22.4%
2024–2514.9%22.7%

TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this district ranks best

Out of 160 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

4 measures

  • 1of 268

    School Progress

    Similar size · of the 268 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 1of 268

    Relative Performance

    Similar size · of the 268 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 1of 42

    All Subjects — Masters

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 1of 42

    Reading — Masters

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure · tied with 1

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

11 measures

  • 2of 42

    Math — Approaches

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure

  • 2of 42

    Math — Meets

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure

  • 2of 42

    Math — Masters

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 2of 35

    Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 2of 35

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 3of 42

    Overall score

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure · full ranking

  • 3of 42

    Student Achievement

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure

  • 3of 42

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure

  • 3of 42

    All Subjects — Meets

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure

  • 3of 42

    Reading — Approaches

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 42

    Reading — Meets

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

11 measures

  • 4of 35

    Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 5of 39

    Social Studies — Masters

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 39 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 42

    Closing the Gaps

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 35

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 8of 39

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 39 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 8of 39

    Social Studies — Meets

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 39 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 35

    College, career or military ready

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 35 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 42

    Academic Growth

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 42 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 41

    Science — Masters

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 41 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 35

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 9of 35

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Region 02: Corpus Christi · of the 35 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no district would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this district as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset