Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Wylie East HS

Collin County · Region 10: Richardson · 2,761 students

Current score
91/1002025-26
Change
±0 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+3.1 ptsvs 87.9 average · 959 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
334 of 959tied with 82 others
A91

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is flat; under the rules in force back then it scored 95 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 87.9 average for 959 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
81%vs 65.5% avg · +15.5 pts
Masters
38%vs 33.7% avg · +4.3 pts

Among 938 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
77%vs 59.8% avg · +17.2 pts
Masters
36%vs 28.5% avg · +7.5 pts

Among 935 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Wylie East HS is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 87.9 average for 959 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is unchanged since 2021-22.

Ranks 334th of 959 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 82 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageWylie East HS 9191909191 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 95 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9187.9 959 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9187.7 945 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9086.5 932 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9186.8 915 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9188.0 900 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement90 A+1.4 vs similar economic context · 938 reporting
  • School Progress87 B+2.4 vs similar economic context · 936 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps92 A+6.6 vs similar economic context · 929 reporting
  • Academic Growth81 B±0.0 vs similar economic context · 919 reporting
  • Relative Performance87 B+7.0 vs similar economic context · 936 reporting
  • Wylie East HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (959 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement90A—
School Progress87B3
Closing the Gaps92A—
Academic Growth81B9
Relative Performance87B3

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (90), so School Progress (87) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 90.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level93%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 938 reporting
  • Meets grade level81%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 938 reporting
  • Masters grade level38%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 938 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level88%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 937 reporting
  • Meets grade level77%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 937 reporting
  • Masters grade level20%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 937 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level95%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 935 reporting
  • Meets grade level77%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 935 reporting
  • Masters grade level36%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 935 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level98%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 855 reporting
  • Meets grade level86%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 855 reporting
  • Masters grade level56%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 855 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level97%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 471 reporting
  • Meets grade level86%+23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 471 reporting
  • Masters grade level60%+25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 471 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (959 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
99.7%+7.8 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 267 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
99.5%+7.8 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 267 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
98.4%+7.0 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 268 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 268 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
83.0%−5.9 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria83.0%88.9%−5.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 268 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course66.6%65.0%+1.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 269 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA51.1%44.8%+6.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 269 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)32.4%22.0%+10.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 269 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course20.7%38.9%−18.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 269 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification31.2%34.4%−3.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 269 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%0.6%−0.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 269 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%4.5%−4.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 269 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%7.1%−7.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 269 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness4.0%2.5%+1.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 269 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student6.3%6.6%−0.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 269 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces3.0%3.0%+0.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 269 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
562

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
303

53.9% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
220

39.1% of graduates

Not trackable
39

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
562
Selected comparison
312.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 225 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
303
Selected comparison
151.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 225 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
53.9%
Selected comparison
49.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 225 rated schools reporting

+4.2 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
39.1%
Selected comparison
43.6%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 225 rated schools reporting

−4.5 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
6.9%
Selected comparison
6.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 225 rated schools reporting

+0.2 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. COLLIN CO COMM COLL DISTRICT (023614)153
  2. U. OF TEXAS AT DALLAS (009741)25
  3. TEXAS STATE UNIVERSITY (003615)16

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
2,761
Economically disadvantaged
28.1%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
8.0%−2.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
13.0%−4.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.5%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
15.2%+5.0 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Wylie East HS

African American: 17.7%Hispanic: 22.9%White: 43%American Indian: 0.1%Asian: 12.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4%
  • African American 17.7%
  • Hispanic 22.9%
  • White 43%
  • American Indian 0.1%
  • Asian 12.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 959 reporting for every category shown · 959 in full cohort

African American: 9%Hispanic: 29%White: 48%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 8.6%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5%
  • African American 9%
  • Hispanic 29%
  • White 48%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 8.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
2,755
Economically disadvantaged students
775
Emergent bilingual students
220
Special education students
357

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
267
Students in TEA mobility denominator
2,856
TEA-published mobility rate
9.3%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 2,761 students in 2025–26, an increase of 52 (1.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
2,761

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+52

Increase · +1.9%

Change since 2021–22
+317

Increase · +13.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
2,761
Selected comparison
810.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 949 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Wylie East HS
School yearStudents enrolledWylie East HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 2,444 First available year 826.3
2022–23 2,532 Increase of 88 (3.6%) 830
2023–24 2,640 Increase of 108 (4.3%) 824.4
2024–25 2,709 Increase of 69 (2.6%) 820.4
2025–26 2,761 Increase of 52 (1.9%) 810.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
233

8.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
520

18.69 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
2,782

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
8.4%
Selected comparison
8.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 702 rated schools reporting

−0.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
18.69
Selected comparison
16.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 rated schools reporting

+1.8 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Wylie East HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 2,282 86 3.8% 178 7.80 6.7% 11.9
2021–22 2,490 230 9.2% 470 18.88 8.9% 17.9
2022–23 2,586 267 10.3% 642 24.83 9.2% 18.7
2023–24 2,653 238 9.0% 558 21.03 8.7% 18
2024–25 2,782 233 8.4% 520 18.69 8.4% 16.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Wylie East HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 233 8.4% 520 18.69 8.4% 16.9
In-school suspensions 206 7.4% 322 11.57 7.6% 13.3
Out-of-school suspensions 101 3.6% 129 4.64 4.1% 5.6
DAEP placements 61 2.2% 69 2.48 3.0% 3.5
Mandatory DAEP placements 49 1.8% 55 1.98 2.5% 2.8
Discretionary DAEP placements 14 0.5% 14 0.50 1.5% 1.7
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Wylie East HS
  • Parent district: Wylie ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,986
Selected comparison
$11,444

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 944 rated schools reporting

−$2,458 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,986 per student for this campus, $18,992 per student for its parent district, Wylie ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearWylie East HSParent district: Wylie ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$9,587$11,092$13,054$7,616 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 847 rated schools reporting
2019$8,827$11,302$13,108$7,723 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 861 rated schools reporting
2020$8,531$14,022$14,058$8,057 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 871 rated schools reporting
2021$7,913$19,093$14,797$8,504 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 880 rated schools reporting
2022$12,254$14,727$15,708$9,740 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 899 rated schools reporting
2023$9,203$13,514$16,792$10,199 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 916 rated schools reporting
2024$8,610$14,796$18,125$11,355 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 931 rated schools reporting
2025$8,986$18,992$18,972$11,444 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 944 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$73,555+$5,189 vs similar economic context
Teachers
163+110.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16.9+2.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Wylie East HS

Beginning: 13.6%1 to 5 years: 33.6%6 to 10 years: 9.8%11 to 20 years: 23.2%21 to 30 years: 18.3%Over 30 years: 1.5%
  • Beginning 13.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 33.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 9.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 23.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 18.3%
  • Over 30 years 1.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 959 reporting for every category shown · 959 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.8%1 to 5 years: 22.5%6 to 10 years: 19.6%11 to 20 years: 32.4%21 to 30 years: 17.4%Over 30 years: 3.2%
  • Beginning 4.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.4%
  • Over 30 years 3.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Wylie East HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classWylie East HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English21.216.9
Secondary languages other than English23.119.1
Secondary math23.217.6
Secondary science23.319.2
Secondary social studies23.319.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

5 measures

  • 5of 35

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Collin County · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 7of 41

    Four-Year Graduation Rate

    Collin County (standard accountability only) · of the 41 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 41

    Five-Year Graduation Rate

    Collin County (standard accountability only) · of the 41 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 35

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Collin County · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 10of 35

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Collin County · of the 35 that report this measure

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

8 measures

  • 21of 413

    Math — Meets

    Similar size · of the 413 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 22of 413

    Math — Approaches

    Similar size · of the 413 that report this measure · tied with 7

  • 53of 1,037

    Science — Meets

    Region 10: Richardson · of the 1,037 that report this measure · tied with 9

  • 117of 3,153

    Social Studies — Masters

    Texas average · of the 3,153 that report this measure · tied with 8

  • 172of 3,153

    Social Studies — Meets

    Texas average · of the 3,153 that report this measure · tied with 16

  • 287of 7,260

    All Subjects — Meets

    Texas average · of the 7,260 that report this measure · tied with 34

  • 295of 6,717

    Science — Masters

    Texas average · of the 6,717 that report this measure · tied with 29

  • 386of 7,260

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Texas average · of the 7,260 that report this measure · tied with 109

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 043914003.