Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Wharton Elem

Wharton County · Region 03: Victoria · 496 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
48/1002025-26
Change
−11 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−30.4 ptsvs 78.4 average · 2,083 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
2,077 of 2,083tied with 4 others
F48

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 59 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 78.4 average for 2,083 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

8.3% −10.7 pts vs 19%

  • 8.3% is 10.7 percentage points lower than the 19% average among 2,008 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Attendance above the similar-context average

96.3% +2.7 pts vs 93.6%

  • 96.3% is 2.7 percentage points above the 93.6% average among 2,010 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Wharton Elem is rated F by TEA, scoring 48 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 78.4 average for 2,083 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 11 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 2,077th of 2,083 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 4 others).

3 consecutive years rated unacceptable. At three or more years, Texas law provides for state intervention.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Comprehensive Support and Improvement

Official support label: Comprehensive Identified

Identification reason: CSI Low Performance

TEA track year 1 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
32.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,083 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
5.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,083 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageWharton Elem 5967566648 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 59 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26F4878.4 2,083 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6677.9 2,068 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24F5675.8 2,054 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6776.3 2,029 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22F5981.7 2,013 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement48 F−26.2 vs similar economic context · 1,936 reporting
  • School Progress56 F−23.6 vs similar economic context · 1,930 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps30 F−45.7 vs similar economic context · 1,915 reporting
  • Academic Growth56 F−16.7 vs similar economic context · 1,873 reporting
  • Relative Performance48 F−29.9 vs similar economic context · 1,930 reporting
  • Wharton Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,083 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement48F12
School Progress56F4
Closing the Gaps30F30
Academic Growth56F4
Relative Performance48F12

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 4 points below D in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (56), so Student Achievement (48) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 56.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level42%−28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
  • Meets grade level18%−26 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level55%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 reporting
  • Meets grade level25%−24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 reporting
  • Masters grade level5%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level35%−33 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,925 reporting
  • Meets grade level15%−24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,925 reporting
  • Masters grade level5%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,925 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level20%−50 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,779 reporting
  • Meets grade level2%−39 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,779 reporting
  • Masters grade level1%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,779 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,083 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
496
Economically disadvantaged
75.0%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
16.9%−7.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.8%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.3%+2.7 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
8.3%−10.7 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Wharton Elem

African American: 23.6%Hispanic: 64.7%White: 9.1%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.6%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • African American 23.6%
  • Hispanic 64.7%
  • White 9.1%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,083 reporting for every category shown · 2,083 in full cohort

African American: 13.2%Hispanic: 61.9%White: 19.4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.9%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.1%
  • African American 13.2%
  • Hispanic 61.9%
  • White 19.4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.1%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
496
Economically disadvantaged students
372
Emergent bilingual students
84
Special education students
93

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
63
Students in TEA mobility denominator
519
TEA-published mobility rate
12.1%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 496 students in 2025–26, an increase of 18 (3.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
496

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+18

Increase · +3.8%

Change since 2021–22
+14

Increase · +2.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
496
Selected comparison
638

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,053 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Wharton Elem
School yearStudents enrolledWharton ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 482 First available year 656.6
2022–23 476 Decrease of 6 (1.2%) 660.1
2023–24 461 Decrease of 15 (3.2%) 657.2
2024–25 478 Increase of 17 (3.7%) 654.5
2025–26 496 Increase of 18 (3.8%) 638

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
35

6.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
70

13.49 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
519

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
6.7%
Selected comparison
13.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,570 rated schools reporting

−6.5 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
13.49
Selected comparison
31.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,676 rated schools reporting

−18.2 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Wharton Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 430 57 13.3% 105 24.42 9.1% 18.1
2021–22 512 82 16.0% 256 50.00 12.9% 30.9
2022–23 515 80 15.5% 172 33.40 13.6% 33.4
2023–24 507 88 17.4% 324 63.91 13.5% 33
2024–25 519 35 6.7% 70 13.49 13.2% 31.7
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Wharton Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 35 6.7% 70 13.49 13.2% 31.7
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 33 6.4% 62 11.95 7.8% 11.9
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$16k$27k20182020202220242025
  • Wharton Elem
  • Parent district: Wharton ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$7,806
Selected comparison
$13,070

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,066 rated schools reporting

−$5,264 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $7,806 per student for this campus, $21,670 per student for its parent district, Wharton ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearWharton ElemParent district: Wharton ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,016$14,144$13,054$8,047 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,944 rated schools reporting
2019$5,480$15,161$13,108$8,180 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,961 rated schools reporting
2020$6,866$14,150$14,058$8,731 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,982 rated schools reporting
2021$8,619$13,550$14,797$9,292 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,994 rated schools reporting
2022$6,596$15,332$15,708$10,600 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,013 rated schools reporting
2023$8,024$25,817$16,792$11,174 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,029 rated schools reporting
2024$7,928$25,969$18,125$12,300 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,052 rated schools reporting
2025$7,806$21,670$18,972$13,070 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,066 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$60,096−$6,593 vs similar economic context
Teachers
30−13.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16.7+2.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Wharton Elem

Beginning: 23.6%1 to 5 years: 39.4%6 to 10 years: 6.7%11 to 20 years: 16.8%21 to 30 years: 13.5%
  • Beginning 23.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 39.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 6.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 16.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 13.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,083 reporting for every category shown · 2,083 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.7%1 to 5 years: 27.5%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15.2%Over 30 years: 3.7%
  • Beginning 6.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.2%
  • Over 30 years 3.7%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Wharton Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classWharton Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 220.518.3
Grade 318.918.7
Grade 419.318.9
Grade 517.319.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 4 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 3of 17

    Attendance

    Wharton County · of the 17 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 5of 17

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Wharton County · of the 17 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 241904106.