Recent domain gain
Closing the Gaps rose 3 points
92 to 95 2024-25 to 2025-26
- 95 is 8.2 points above the 86.8 average among 800 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.
Traditional public school campus
Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 822 students
Official school websiteSchool information and family resources
At a glance
The available rating history is moving up. The current score is above the 89.3 average for 819 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 83.3 average for 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston.The current score is above the 83.4 average for 911 rated schools in Harris County.The current score is above the 80.9 average for 3,615 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Recent domain gain
92 to 95 2024-25 to 2025-26
STAAR result
Among 806 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measureSTAAR result
Among 804 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measureRecent domain gain
92 to 95 2024-25 to 2025-26
STAAR result
Among 1,242 schools in Region 04: Houston reporting this measure.
See the full measureSTAAR result
Among 1,239 schools in Region 04: Houston reporting this measure.
See the full measureRecent domain gain
92 to 95 2024-25 to 2025-26
STAAR result
Among 874 schools in Harris County reporting this measure.
See the full measureSTAAR result
Among 873 schools in Harris County reporting this measure.
See the full measureRecent domain gain
92 to 95 2024-25 to 2025-26
STAAR result
Among 3,538 similarly sized schools reporting this measure.
See the full measureSTAAR result
Among 3,538 similarly sized schools reporting this measure.
See the full measureRecent domain gain
92 to 95 2024-25 to 2025-26
STAAR result
Among 7,260 Texas schools reporting this measure.
See the full measureSTAAR result
Among 7,227 Texas schools reporting this measure.
See the full measureSelected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
West Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 89.3 average for 819 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 1 point since 2024-25.
Ranks 82nd of 819 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 68 others).
West Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 83.3 average for 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston. It is up 1 point since 2024-25.
Ranks 86th of 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston (tied with 44 others).
West Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 83.4 average for 911 rated schools in Harris County. It is up 1 point since 2024-25.
Ranks 64th of 911 rated schools in Harris County (tied with 33 others).
West Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.9 average for 3,615 similarly sized rated schools. It is up 1 point since 2024-25.
Ranks 119th of 3,615 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 87 others).
West Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is up 1 point since 2024-25.
Ranks 379th of 7,646 rated Texas schools (tied with 208 others).
Put the numbers in context
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
| Year | Rating | Score | Selected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rate | StateTexas average |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-26 | A | 94 | 89.3 819 reporting | 81.3 7,646 reporting |
| 2024-25 | A | 93 | 89.3 814 reporting | 81.2 7,554 reporting |
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
| Domain | Score | Grade | Points to next grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student Achievement | 94 | A | — |
| School Progress | 94 | A | — |
| Closing the Gaps | 95 | A | — |
| Academic Growth | 94 | A | — |
| Relative Performance | 89 | B | 1 |
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
West Elem
Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 819 reporting for every category shown · 819 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Region 04: Houston · 1,303 reporting for every category shown · 1,303 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Harris County · 911 reporting for every category shown · 911 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For similarly sized schools · 3,615 reporting for every category shown · 3,615 in full cohort
Statewide average 7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 822 students in 2025–26, an increase of 82 (11.1%) from 2024–25.
2025–26
Increase · +11.1%
| School year | Students enrolledWest Elem | Change from previous school year | Average enrollmentselected comparison |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024–25 | 740 | First available year | 877.3 |
| 2025–26 | 822 | Increase of 82 (11.1%) | 867.3 |
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Rate not available
Rate not available
2024–25
| School year | Cumulative enrollment | Studentsall discipline | Students% of enrollment | Actionsall discipline | Actionsper 100 students | Studentsselected comparison average % | Actionsselected comparison average per 100 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024–25 | 764 | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| Category | Students | Students% of enrollment | Actions | Actionsper 100 students | Studentsselected comparison average % | Actionsselected comparison average per 100 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All discipline | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| In-school suspensions | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| Out-of-school suspensions | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| DAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Mandatory DAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Discretionary DAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Mandatory JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Discretionary JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Mandatory expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Discretionary expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
For 2025, TEA reported $16,447 per student for this campus, $21,509 per student for its parent district, Tomball ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
| Year | West Elem | Parent district: Tomball ISD | Texas average | Selected comparison average | Reportingselected comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $16,447 | $21,509 | $18,972 | $11,048 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 813 rated schools reporting |
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
West Elem
Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 819 reporting for every category shown · 819 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Region 04: Houston · 1,303 reporting for every category shown · 1,303 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Harris County · 911 reporting for every category shown · 911 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For similarly sized schools · 3,615 reporting for every category shown · 3,615 in full cohort
Statewide average 7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
| Grade or subject | Average students per classWest Elem · 2024–25 | Average students per classselected comparison |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 22.5 | 18.7 |
| Grade 1 | 18.5 | 19.1 |
| Grade 2 | 20.6 | 19.7 |
| Grade 3 | 41.9 | 21 |
| Grade 4 | 43.7 | 20.3 |
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
Out of 90 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
High placements in larger reporting groups
10 measures
Academic Growth
Harris County · of the 869 that report this measure · tied with 15
Closing the Gaps
Harris County · of the 870 that report this measure · tied with 13
Reading — Meets
Region 04: Houston · of the 1,242 that report this measure · tied with 13
School Progress
Similar size · of the 3,538 that report this measure · tied with 55
All Subjects — Meets
Similar size · of the 3,538 that report this measure · tied with 17
All Subjects — Masters
Similar size · of the 3,538 that report this measure · tied with 19
Math — Masters
Similar size · of the 3,538 that report this measure · tied with 19
Math — Meets
Similar size · of the 3,538 that report this measure · tied with 25
All Subjects — Approaches
Similar size · of the 3,538 that report this measure · tied with 59
Reading — Masters
Texas average · of the 7,254 that report this measure · tied with 32
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Download the full dataset · this campus's district
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101921118.