Recent movement
Overall score rose 3 points
91 to 94 2024-25 to 2025-26
- 94 is 16.5 points above the 77.5 average among 2,370 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.
Traditional public school campus · Alternative Education Accountability
Ellis County · Region 10: Richardson · 9 students
Official school websiteSchool information and family resources
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 92 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.5 average for 2,370 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 82.2 average for 1,157 rated schools in Region 10: Richardson.The current score is above the 80.2 average for 64 rated schools in Ellis County.The current score is above the 81.8 average for 13 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Recent movement
91 to 94 2024-25 to 2025-26
Recent domain gain
90 to 94 2024-25 to 2025-26
Recent movement
91 to 94 2024-25 to 2025-26
Recent domain gain
90 to 94 2024-25 to 2025-26
Top placement
100% Tied for 1st of 15 schools in Region 10: Richardson (alternative-education accountability only) reporting this measure · 2025-26 · 2 share this value
See the full measureRecent movement
91 to 94 2024-25 to 2025-26
Recent domain gain
90 to 94 2024-25 to 2025-26
Top placement
6.7% 1st of 13 schools in Ellis County reporting this measure · 2025-26
See the full measureRecent movement
91 to 94 2024-25 to 2025-26
Recent domain gain
90 to 94 2024-25 to 2025-26
Recent movement
91 to 94 2024-25 to 2025-26
Recent domain gain
90 to 94 2024-25 to 2025-26
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Waxahachie HS of Choice is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.5 average for 2,370 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 6 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 41st of 2,370 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 13 others).
Waxahachie HS of Choice is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82.2 average for 1,157 rated schools in Region 10: Richardson. It is up 6 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 66th of 1,157 rated schools in Region 10: Richardson (tied with 42 others).
Waxahachie HS of Choice is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.2 average for 64 rated schools in Ellis County. It is up 6 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 2nd of 64 rated schools in Ellis County (tied with 2 others).
Waxahachie HS of Choice is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.8 average for 13 similarly sized rated schools. It is up 6 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 1st of 13 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 2 others).
Waxahachie HS of Choice is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is up 6 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 379th of 7,646 rated Texas schools (tied with 208 others).
Put the numbers in context
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 92 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
| Year | Rating | Score | Selected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rate | StateTexas average |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-26 | A | 94 | 77.5 2,370 reporting | 81.3 7,646 reporting |
| 2024-25 | A | 91 | 77.1 2,359 reporting | 81.2 7,554 reporting |
| 2023-24 | B | 89 | 73.8 2,340 reporting | 78.9 7,466 reporting |
| 2022-23 | B | 88 | 73.7 2,330 reporting | 79.1 7,377 reporting |
| 2021-22 | B | 88 | 81.7 2,303 reporting | 83.7 7,283 reporting |
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
| Domain | Score | Grade | Points to next grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student Achievement | 94 | A | — |
| School Progress | — | Not rated | — |
| Closing the Gaps | — | Not rated | — |
| Academic Growth | — | Not rated | — |
| Relative Performance | — | Not rated | — |
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
These measures use TEA's alternative-education accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.
| Criterion | This school% of graduates | Averagesimilar economic context | Differencepercentage points | Reportingselected comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total credit for CCMR criteria | 67.0% | 83.4% | −16.4 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 305 rated schools reporting |
| Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course | 47.5% | 56.4% | −8.9 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 rated schools reporting |
| Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA | 6.1% | 20.3% | −14.2 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 rated schools reporting |
| Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s) | 1.1% | 12.7% | −11.6 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 rated schools reporting |
| Earned college credit for a dual credit course | 7.8% | 26.7% | −18.9 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 rated schools reporting |
| Earned an industry-based certification | 14.0% | 33.9% | −19.9 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 rated schools reporting |
| Earned a level I or level II certificate | 0.0% | 2.9% | −2.9 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 rated schools reporting |
| Earned an associate degree | 0.0% | 6.6% | −6.6 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 rated schools reporting |
| Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit | 0.0% | 6.3% | −6.3 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 rated schools reporting |
| Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness | 6.7% | 2.7% | +4.0 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 rated schools reporting |
| Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student | 1.7% | 7.5% | −5.8 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 rated schools reporting |
| Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces | 5.0% | 2.8% | +2.2 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 rated schools reporting |
Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.
Class of 2023–24
12.4% of graduates
81.1% of graduates
Fall 2024
Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.
Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.
“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.
“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Waxahachie HS of Choice
Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,370 reporting for every category shown · 2,370 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Region 10: Richardson · 1,157 reporting for every category shown · 1,157 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Ellis County · 64 reporting for every category shown · 64 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For similarly sized schools · 13 reporting for every category shown · 13 in full cohort
Statewide average 7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
6.1% of cumulative year-end enrollment
6.13 per 100 students
2024–25
| School year | Cumulative enrollment | Studentsall discipline | Students% of enrollment | Actionsall discipline | Actionsper 100 students | Studentsselected comparison average % | Actionsselected comparison average per 100 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020–21 | 103 | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| 2021–22 | 131 | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| 2022–23 | 159 | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| 2023–24 | 199 | 11 | 5.5% | 12 | 6.03 | 13.7% | 33.5 |
| 2024–25 | 163 | 10 | 6.1% | 10 | 6.13 | 13.2% | 31.5 |
| Category | Students | Students% of enrollment | Actions | Actionsper 100 students | Studentsselected comparison average % | Actionsselected comparison average per 100 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All discipline | 10 | 6.1% | 10 | 6.13 | 13.2% | 31.5 |
| In-school suspensions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Out-of-school suspensions | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| DAEP placements | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| Mandatory DAEP placements | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| Discretionary DAEP placements | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Mandatory JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Discretionary JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Mandatory expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Discretionary expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
For 2025, TEA reported $53,665 per student for this campus, $30,656 per student for its parent district, Waxahachie ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
| Year | Waxahachie HS of Choice | Parent district: Waxahachie ISD | Texas average | Selected comparison average | Reportingselected comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | $9,244 | $18,383 | $13,054 | $8,289 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,239 rated schools reporting |
| 2019 | $8,718 | $13,267 | $13,108 | $8,320 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,270 rated schools reporting |
| 2020 | $14,999 | $14,742 | $14,058 | $8,843 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,279 rated schools reporting |
| 2021 | $17,223 | $13,446 | $14,797 | $9,613 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,283 rated schools reporting |
| 2022 | $20,328 | $14,459 | $15,708 | $11,131 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,302 rated schools reporting |
| 2023 | $27,704 | $14,212 | $16,792 | $11,696 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,328 rated schools reporting |
| 2024 | $74,419 | $24,809 | $18,125 | $12,529 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,341 rated schools reporting |
| 2025 | $53,665 | $30,656 | $18,972 | $13,056 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,357 rated schools reporting |
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Waxahachie HS of Choice
Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,370 reporting for every category shown · 2,370 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Region 10: Richardson · 1,157 reporting for every category shown · 1,157 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Ellis County · 64 reporting for every category shown · 64 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For similarly sized schools · 13 reporting for every category shown · 13 in full cohort
Statewide average 7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Out of 121 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
First-place results
5 measures
Per-student spending
Ellis County · of the 63 that report this measure
Four-Year Completion Rate
Region 10: Richardson (alternative-education accountability only) · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 1
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness
Ellis County · of the 13 that report this measure
Overall score
Similar size · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 2
Student Achievement
Similar size · of the 11 that report this measure · tied with 2
Second- and third-place results
3 measures
All Subjects — Approaches
Similar size · of the 11 that report this measure
Five-Year Completion Rate
Region 10: Richardson (alternative-education accountability only) · of the 15 that report this measure
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces
Ellis County · of the 13 that report this measure
Fourth- through tenth-place results
6 measures
Six-Year Completion Rate
Region 10: Richardson (alternative-education accountability only) · of the 15 that report this measure
Dropout Rate (lowest is best)
Region 10: Richardson (alternative-education accountability only) · of the 15 that report this measure
All Subjects — Meets
Similar size · of the 11 that report this measure
All Subjects — Masters
Similar size · of the 11 that report this measure
Social Studies — Approaches
Ellis County · of the 25 that report this measure · tied with 2
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)
Ellis County · of the 13 that report this measure
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Download the full dataset · this campus's district
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 070912003.