Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Vernon Schrade MS

Dallas County · Region 10: Richardson · 601 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
64/1002025-26
Change
−16 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−15.5 ptsvs 79.5 average · 2,022 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,870 of 2,022tied with 24 others
D64

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 78 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 79.5 average for 2,022 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Read the full rating context and placement

Vernon Schrade MS is rated D by TEA, scoring 64 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 79.5 average for 2,022 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 16 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,870th of 2,022 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 24 others).

1 consecutive year rated unacceptable.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Additional Targeted Support

Official support label: ATS

Identification reason: African American, White

TEA track year 1 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
29.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,022 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
3.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,022 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageVernon Schrade MS 8070646464 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 78 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26D6479.5 2,022 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6479.3 2,000 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6477.2 1,985 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7077.8 1,954 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8082.1 1,933 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement62 D−14.8 vs similar economic context · 1,908 reporting
  • School Progress60 D−20.5 vs similar economic context · 1,902 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps68 D−8.8 vs similar economic context · 1,885 reporting
  • Academic Growth58 F−15.6 vs similar economic context · 1,841 reporting
  • Relative Performance60 D−18.9 vs similar economic context · 1,902 reporting
  • Vernon Schrade MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,022 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement62D8
School Progress60D10
Closing the Gaps68D2
Academic Growth58F2
Relative Performance60D10

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 2 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (62), so School Progress (60) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 62.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level55%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 reporting
  • Meets grade level32%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 reporting
  • Masters grade level20%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level52%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 reporting
  • Meets grade level25%−17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level57%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,756 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,756 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,756 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level35%−38 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 906 reporting
  • Meets grade level16%−29 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 906 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 906 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,022 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
601
Economically disadvantaged
67.9%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
16.0%−3.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
27.7%+8.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.1%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
22.0%+4.7 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Vernon Schrade MS

African American: 36.6%Hispanic: 34.9%White: 16.5%American Indian: 0.7%Asian: 5.5%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 5.7%
  • African American 36.6%
  • Hispanic 34.9%
  • White 16.5%
  • American Indian 0.7%
  • Asian 5.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 5.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,022 reporting for every category shown · 2,022 in full cohort

African American: 12.1%Hispanic: 54.6%White: 27%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.6%
  • African American 12.1%
  • Hispanic 54.6%
  • White 27%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
599
Economically disadvantaged students
407
Emergent bilingual students
96
Special education students
166

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
149
Students in TEA mobility denominator
790
TEA-published mobility rate
18.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 601 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 96 (13.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
601

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−96

Decrease · −13.8%

Change since 2021–22
−344

Decrease · −36.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
601
Selected comparison
636

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,987 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Vernon Schrade MS
School yearStudents enrolledVernon Schrade MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 945 First available year 647.9
2022–23 891 Decrease of 54 (5.7%) 655
2023–24 822 Decrease of 69 (7.7%) 654.7
2024–25 697 Decrease of 125 (15.2%) 651.7
2025–26 601 Decrease of 96 (13.8%) 636

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
235

30.6% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
788

102.60 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
768

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
30.6%
Selected comparison
12.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 rated schools reporting

+17.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
102.6
Selected comparison
30.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,656 rated schools reporting

+72.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Vernon Schrade MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,107 101 9.1% 260 23.49 9.7% 19.4
2021–22 1,039 300 28.9% 1,209 116.36 12.8% 30.2
2022–23 980 324 33.1% 1,471 150.10 13.4% 32.2
2023–24 894 317 35.5% 1,061 118.68 13.2% 32
2024–25 768 235 30.6% 788 102.60 12.9% 30.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Vernon Schrade MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 235 30.6% 788 102.60 12.9% 30.5
In-school suspensions 183 23.8% 489 63.67 11.6% 23.1
Out-of-school suspensions 139 18.1% 270 35.16 7.1% 10.7
DAEP placements 16 2.1% 19 2.47 5.1% 6.1
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Vernon Schrade MS
  • Parent district: Garland ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,063
Selected comparison
$13,222

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,999 rated schools reporting

−$2,159 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,063 per student for this campus, $18,172 per student for its parent district, Garland ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearVernon Schrade MSParent district: Garland ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,494$13,522$13,054$8,003 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,861 rated schools reporting
2019$6,563$11,776$13,108$8,167 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,877 rated schools reporting
2020$7,518$11,425$14,058$8,722 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 rated schools reporting
2021$7,772$12,273$14,797$9,214 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,910 rated schools reporting
2022$8,088$12,983$15,708$10,506 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 rated schools reporting
2023$9,268$14,377$16,792$11,229 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,956 rated schools reporting
2024$10,461$17,363$18,125$12,385 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,984 rated schools reporting
2025$11,063$18,172$18,972$13,222 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,999 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$70,828+$4,310 vs similar economic context
Teachers
44+0.9 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.7−0.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Vernon Schrade MS

Beginning: 6.8%1 to 5 years: 46.1%6 to 10 years: 7.8%11 to 20 years: 14.2%21 to 30 years: 25.1%
  • Beginning 6.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 46.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 7.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 14.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 25.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,022 reporting for every category shown · 2,022 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.4%1 to 5 years: 26.7%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 27.8%21 to 30 years: 15.5%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.5%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Vernon Schrade MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classVernon Schrade MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 617.917.9
Secondary English17.715.1
Secondary languages other than English1617.7
Secondary math18.916
Secondary science22.817.4
Secondary social studies21.817.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057909054.