+1.5 ptsvs 91.5 average · 483 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
157 of 483tied with 73 others
Score vs region
+12.6 ptsvs 80.4 average · 314 rated schools in Region 06: Huntsville
Region 06: Huntsville placement
19 of 314tied with 11 others
Score vs county
+11.1 ptsvs 81.9 average · 133 rated schools in Montgomery County
Montgomery County placement
9 of 133tied with 7 others
Score vs similar-size group
+11.5 ptsvs 81.5 average · 2,750 similarly sized rated schools
Similar size placement
183 of 2,750tied with 98 others
Score vs state
+11.7 ptsvs 81.3 average · 7,646 rated Texas schools
Texas placement
588 of 7,646tied with 249 others
A93
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 97 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 91.5 average for 483 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 80.4 average for 314 rated schools in Region 06: Huntsville.The current score is above the 81.9 average for 133 rated schools in Montgomery County.The current score is above the 81.5 average for 2,750 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
STAAR result
All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters
Meets
80%vs 76.1% avg · +3.9 pts
Masters
56%vs 46.6% avg · +9.4 pts
Among 475 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Read the full rating context and placement
Tough Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 91.5 average for 483 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 157th of 483 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 73 others).
Tough Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.4 average for 314 rated schools in Region 06: Huntsville. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 19th of 314 rated schools in Region 06: Huntsville (tied with 11 others).
Tough Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.9 average for 133 rated schools in Montgomery County. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 9th of 133 rated schools in Montgomery County (tied with 7 others).
Tough Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.5 average for 2,750 similarly sized rated schools. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 183rd of 2,750 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 98 others).
Tough Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 97 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement94 A+1.3 vs similar economic context · 475 reporting
School Progress92 A+4.1 vs similar economic context · 473 reporting
Closing the Gaps92 A+2.8 vs similar economic context · 470 reporting
Academic Growth92 A+5.7 vs similar economic context · 470 reporting
Relative Performance83 B+4.6 vs similar economic context · 473 reporting
Tough Elem
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (483 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
94
A
—
School Progress
92
A
—
Closing the Gaps
92
A
—
Academic Growth
92
A
—
Relative Performance
83
B
7
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (94), so
School Progress (92) is published above but does not enter the overall
score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 94.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level93%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 475 reporting
Meets grade level80%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 475 reporting
Masters grade level56%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 475 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level94%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 475 reporting
Meets grade level81%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 475 reporting
Masters grade level60%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 475 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level92%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 473 reporting
Meets grade level80%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 473 reporting
Masters grade level53%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 473 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level90%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 439 reporting
Meets grade level72%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 439 reporting
Masters grade level55%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 439 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (483 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this school serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
975
Economically disadvantaged
7.5%−2.5 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
20.7%+10.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.8%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.3%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
4.5%−1.9 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Tough Elem
African American 3.1%
Hispanic 27.2%
White 44.8%
Asian 17.5%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 7.3%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 483 reporting for every category shown · 483 in full cohort
African American 5%
Hispanic 17.6%
White 48.6%
American Indian 0.5%
Asian 22.5%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 5.7%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 06: Huntsville · 314 reporting for every category shown · 314 in full cohort
African American 11.5%
Hispanic 38.9%
White 42.7%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 2.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 4.3%
Selected comparison averageFor Montgomery County · 133 reporting for every category shown · 133 in full cohort
African American 9%
Hispanic 43.3%
White 39.7%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 3.3%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 4.2%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 2,750 reporting for every category shown · 2,750 in full cohort
African American 12.8%
Hispanic 52.1%
White 24.3%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 6.7%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 3.7%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
African American 11.5%
Hispanic 52.6%
White 27.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.4%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
965
Economically disadvantaged students
72
Emergent bilingual students
200
Special education students
143
Campus mobility · 2024–25
Mobile students
60
Students in TEA mobility denominator
908
TEA-published mobility rate
6.6%
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 975 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 13 (1.3%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
975
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
−13
Decrease · −1.3%
Change since 2021–22
−32
Decrease · −3.2%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This school
975
Selected comparison
870.2
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 478 rated schools reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Tough Elem
School year
Students enrolledTough Elem
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
1,007
First available year
878.9
2022–23
1,035
Increase of 28 (2.8%)
897
2023–24
997
Decrease of 38 (3.7%)
888.4
2024–25
988
Decrease of 9 (0.9%)
880.9
2025–26
975
Decrease of 13 (1.3%)
870.2
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed
Rate not available
Disciplinary actions
Suppressed
Rate not available
Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,028
2024–25
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Tough Elem
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
1,044
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2021–22
1,085
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2022–23
1,081
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2023–24
1,019
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2024–25
1,028
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Tough Elem in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
In-school suspensions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
Out-of-school suspensions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Spending per student
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Tough Elem
Parent district: Conroe ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This school
$11,720
Selected comparison
$10,741
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 473 rated schools reporting
+$979 vs similar economic context
For 2025, TEA reported $11,720 per student for this campus, $20,990 per student for its parent district, Conroe ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Tough Elem
Parent district: Conroe ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$7,313
$12,724
$13,054
$7,203
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
2019
$7,215
$12,027
$13,108
$7,314
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 412 rated schools reporting
2020
$7,819
$11,626
$14,058
$7,627
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 422 rated schools reporting
2021
$7,598
$13,576
$14,797
$8,212
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 432 rated schools reporting
2022
$8,558
$14,960
$15,708
$9,436
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 441 rated schools reporting
2023
$7,946
$15,772
$16,792
$9,483
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 449 rated schools reporting
2024
$8,359
$16,120
$18,125
$10,104
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 462 rated schools reporting
2025
$11,720
$20,990
$18,972
$10,741
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 473 rated schools reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers and actual class size
Average salary
$69,787+$345 vs similar economic context
Teachers
64+7.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.1+0.3 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Tough Elem
Beginning 8.9%
1 to 5 years 14.1%
6 to 10 years 37.7%
11 to 20 years 25.1%
21 to 30 years 9.4%
Over 30 years 4.7%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 483 reporting for every category shown · 483 in full cohort
Beginning 4.3%
1 to 5 years 23.8%
6 to 10 years 20.2%
11 to 20 years 31.6%
21 to 30 years 16.9%
Over 30 years 2.5%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 06: Huntsville · 314 reporting for every category shown · 314 in full cohort
Beginning 7.5%
1 to 5 years 27.7%
6 to 10 years 18.9%
11 to 20 years 27.6%
21 to 30 years 13.6%
Over 30 years 4%
Selected comparison averageFor Montgomery County · 133 reporting for every category shown · 133 in full cohort
Beginning 7.4%
1 to 5 years 29.1%
6 to 10 years 22.3%
11 to 20 years 27.6%
21 to 30 years 11.5%
Over 30 years 2%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 2,750 reporting for every category shown · 2,750 in full cohort
Beginning 6.4%
1 to 5 years 27.1%
6 to 10 years 20.3%
11 to 20 years 28.8%
21 to 30 years 14.6%
Over 30 years 2.7%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Beginning 6.2%
1 to 5 years 25.6%
6 to 10 years 19.2%
11 to 20 years 28.7%
21 to 30 years 15.9%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Average students in a class
TEA average class size by grade or subject for Tough Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subject
Average students per classTough Elem · 2024–25
Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten
22.2
19
Grade 1
19.2
19.2
Grade 2
20.5
19.7
Grade 3
20.3
21.6
Grade 4
20.6
20.4
Grade 5
21.9
22.4
Grade 6
22.8
19.1
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
#4–10 rankings
Fourth- through tenth-place results
11 measures
4of 304
All Subjects — Masters
Region 06: Huntsville · of the 304 that report this measure
4of 304
Reading — Masters
Region 06: Huntsville · of the 304 that report this measure · tied with 1
5of 304
Reading — Approaches
Region 06: Huntsville · of the 304 that report this measure · tied with 5
5of 88
Science — Masters
Montgomery County · of the 88 that report this measure · tied with 2
6of 132
Reading — Meets
Montgomery County · of the 132 that report this measure · tied with 1
6of 132
Math — Masters
Montgomery County · of the 132 that report this measure · tied with 1
6of 125
Attendance
Montgomery County · of the 125 that report this measure · tied with 2
6of 125
Chronically absent (lowest is best)
Montgomery County · of the 125 that report this measure
7of 302
Math — Meets
Region 06: Huntsville · of the 302 that report this measure · tied with 2
7of 132
All Subjects — Meets
Montgomery County · of the 132 that report this measure · tied with 1
10of 132
Math — Approaches
Montgomery County · of the 132 that report this measure · tied with 2
Other top-5% rankings
High placements in larger reporting groups
2 measures
11of 304
All Subjects — Approaches
Region 06: Huntsville · of the 304 that report this measure · tied with 6
220of 7,090
Academic Growth
Texas average · of the 7,090 that report this measure · tied with 125
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above
this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears
once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any
tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones
no school would put in a press release.
Where this comes from
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 170902071.