Current strength
Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average
7.7% −15.2 pts vs 22.9%
- 7.7% is 15.2 percentage points lower than the 22.9% average among 2,154 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.
Traditional public school campus
El Paso County · Region 19: El Paso · 329 students
Official school websiteSchool information and family resources
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 88 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.6 average for 2,281 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is below the 83.9 average for 207 rated schools in Region 19: El Paso.The current score is below the 84.1 average for 203 rated schools in El Paso County.The current score is below the 80.4 average for 3,145 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is below the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Current strength
7.7% −15.2 pts vs 22.9%
Current strength
96% +3 pts vs 93%
Current strength
7.7% −9.4 pts vs 17.1%
Current strength
96% +2.3 pts vs 93.7%
Current strength
7.7% −9.5 pts vs 17.2%
Current strength
96% +2.3 pts vs 93.7%
Current strength
7.7% −8.1 pts vs 15.8%
Current strength
96% +1.6 pts vs 94.4%
Current strength
7.7% −9 pts vs 16.7%
Current strength
96% +1.9 pts vs 94.1%
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Tornillo Elem is rated D by TEA, scoring 66 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.6 average for 2,281 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 25 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 1,940th of 2,281 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 29 others).
Tornillo Elem is rated D by TEA, scoring 66 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 83.9 average for 207 rated schools in Region 19: El Paso. It is down 25 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 200th of 207 rated schools in Region 19: El Paso (tied with 1 other).
Tornillo Elem is rated D by TEA, scoring 66 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 84.1 average for 203 rated schools in El Paso County. It is down 25 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 197th of 203 rated schools in El Paso County (tied with 1 other).
Tornillo Elem is rated D by TEA, scoring 66 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 80.4 average for 3,145 similarly sized rated schools. It is down 25 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 2,844th of 3,145 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 31 others).
Tornillo Elem is rated D by TEA, scoring 66 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is down 25 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 7,013th of 7,646 rated Texas schools (tied with 80 others).
Put the numbers in context
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 88 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
| Year | Rating | Score | Selected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rate | StateTexas average |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-26 | D | 66 | 77.6 2,281 reporting | 81.3 7,646 reporting |
| 2024-25 | C | 77 | 77.2 2,262 reporting | 81.2 7,554 reporting |
| 2023-24 | D | 67 | 73.9 2,244 reporting | 78.9 7,466 reporting |
| 2022-23 | B | 88 | 73.5 2,234 reporting | 79.1 7,377 reporting |
| 2021-22 | A | 91 | 81.8 2,207 reporting | 83.7 7,283 reporting |
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
| Domain | Score | Grade | Points to next grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student Achievement | 62 | D | 8 |
| School Progress | 69 | D | 1 |
| Closing the Gaps | 60 | D | 10 |
| Academic Growth | 55 | F | 5 |
| Relative Performance | 69 | D | 1 |
Closest to moving up: School Progress, 1 point below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (69), so Student Achievement (62) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 69.
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Tornillo Elem
Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,281 reporting for every category shown · 2,281 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Region 19: El Paso · 207 reporting for every category shown · 207 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For El Paso County · 203 reporting for every category shown · 203 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For similarly sized schools · 3,145 reporting for every category shown · 3,145 in full cohort
Statewide average 7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 329 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 6 (1.8%) from 2024–25.
2025–26
Decrease · −1.8%
Increase · +94.7%
| School year | Students enrolledTornillo Elem | Change from previous school year | Average enrollmentselected comparison |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021–22 | 169 | First available year | 620.2 |
| 2022–23 | 164 | Decrease of 5 (3.0%) | 616.2 |
| 2023–24 | 376 | Increase of 212 (129.3%) | 606.8 |
| 2024–25 | 335 | Decrease of 41 (10.9%) | 600.1 |
| 2025–26 | 329 | Decrease of 6 (1.8%) | 575.2 |
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
3.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment
7.37 per 100 students
2024–25
| School year | Cumulative enrollment | Studentsall discipline | Students% of enrollment | Actionsall discipline | Actionsper 100 students | Studentsselected comparison average % | Actionsselected comparison average per 100 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020–21 | 190 | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| 2021–22 | 175 | 13 | 7.4% | 19 | 10.86 | 12.7% | 30.3 |
| 2022–23 | 173 | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| 2023–24 | 402 | 15 | 3.7% | 20 | 4.98 | 13.7% | 33.3 |
| 2024–25 | 353 | 13 | 3.7% | 26 | 7.37 | 13.2% | 31.4 |
| Category | Students | Students% of enrollment | Actions | Actionsper 100 students | Studentsselected comparison average % | Actionsselected comparison average per 100 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All discipline | 13 | 3.7% | 26 | 7.37 | 13.2% | 31.4 |
| In-school suspensions | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| Out-of-school suspensions | 11 | 3.1% | 11 | 3.12 | 9.3% | 15.2 |
| DAEP placements | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| Mandatory DAEP placements | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| Discretionary DAEP placements | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Mandatory JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Discretionary JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Mandatory expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Discretionary expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
For 2025, TEA reported $11,621 per student for this campus, $22,162 per student for its parent district, Tornillo ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
| Year | Tornillo Elem | Parent district: Tornillo ISD | Texas average | Selected comparison average | Reportingselected comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | $6,779 | $13,830 | $13,054 | $8,307 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,152 rated schools reporting |
| 2019 | $8,322 | $14,457 | $13,108 | $8,319 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,180 rated schools reporting |
| 2020 | $8,650 | $16,118 | $14,058 | $8,828 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,186 rated schools reporting |
| 2021 | $9,158 | $16,642 | $14,797 | $9,634 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,190 rated schools reporting |
| 2022 | $11,639 | $20,533 | $15,708 | $11,185 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,207 rated schools reporting |
| 2023 | $16,955 | $24,065 | $16,792 | $11,712 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,233 rated schools reporting |
| 2024 | $10,906 | $23,543 | $18,125 | $12,587 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,247 rated schools reporting |
| 2025 | $11,621 | $22,162 | $18,972 | $13,194 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,260 rated schools reporting |
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Tornillo Elem
Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,281 reporting for every category shown · 2,281 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Region 19: El Paso · 207 reporting for every category shown · 207 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For El Paso County · 203 reporting for every category shown · 203 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For similarly sized schools · 3,145 reporting for every category shown · 3,145 in full cohort
Statewide average 7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
| Grade or subject | Average students per classTornillo Elem · 2024–25 | Average students per classselected comparison |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 12.2 | 18.1 |
| Grade 1 | 19.2 | 18.3 |
| Grade 2 | 15 | 18.3 |
| Grade 3 | 19.1 | 18.5 |
| Grade 4 | 17.5 | 18.5 |
| Grade 5 | 16.7 | 19.3 |
| Grade 6 | 16 | 17.4 |
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
Fourth- through tenth-place results
1 measure
Attendance
Region 19: El Paso · of the 203 that report this measure · tied with 2
High placements in larger reporting groups
1 measure
Chronically absent (lowest is best)
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 2,154 that report this measure · tied with 1
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Download the full dataset · this campus's district
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 071908044.