Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Sugar Land MS

Fort Bend County · Region 04: Houston · 923 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
81/1002025-26
Change
−2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+0.5 ptsvs 80.5 average · 1,962 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
973 of 1,962tied with 74 others
B81

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 82 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 80.5 average for 1,962 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 53.9% avg · +1.1 pts
Masters
29%vs 21.6% avg · +7.4 pts

Among 1,873 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
58%vs 47.4% avg · +10.6 pts
Masters
28%vs 21.4% avg · +6.6 pts

Among 1,717 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Sugar Land MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 81 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.5 average for 1,962 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 973rd of 1,962 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 74 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
25.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,962 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
2.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,962 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageSugar Land MS 8382718281 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 82 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8180.5 1,962 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8280.3 1,938 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7178.2 1,918 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8278.7 1,887 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8382.4 1,862 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement79 C+0.3 vs similar economic context · 1,876 reporting
  • School Progress83 B+1.8 vs similar economic context · 1,869 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps76 C−1.7 vs similar economic context · 1,851 reporting
  • Academic Growth76 C+1.8 vs similar economic context · 1,813 reporting
  • Relative Performance83 B+3.5 vs similar economic context · 1,869 reporting
  • Sugar Land MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,962 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement79C1
School Progress83B7
Closing the Gaps76C4
Academic Growth76C4
Relative Performance83B7

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 4 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (83), so Student Achievement (79) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 83.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level73%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,876 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,876 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,876 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level79%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,873 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,873 reporting
  • Masters grade level29%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,873 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,865 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,865 reporting
  • Masters grade level17%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,865 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level77%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,717 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,717 reporting
  • Masters grade level28%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,717 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level52%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 947 reporting
  • Meets grade level27%−20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 947 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 947 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,962 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
923
Economically disadvantaged
61.6%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
27.6%+11.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
22.1%+3.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.4%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
18.5%+2.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Sugar Land MS

African American: 13.2%Hispanic: 38.4%White: 13.3%American Indian: 0.5%Asian: 29.9%Two or More Races: 4.7%
  • African American 13.2%
  • Hispanic 38.4%
  • White 13.3%
  • American Indian 0.5%
  • Asian 29.9%
  • Two or More Races 4.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,962 reporting for every category shown · 1,962 in full cohort

African American: 10.6%Hispanic: 49.3%White: 33.5%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.8%
  • African American 10.6%
  • Hispanic 49.3%
  • White 33.5%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
923
Economically disadvantaged students
569
Emergent bilingual students
255
Special education students
204

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
143
Students in TEA mobility denominator
1,027
TEA-published mobility rate
13.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 923 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 13 (1.4%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
923

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−13

Decrease · −1.4%

Change since 2021–22
−142

Decrease · −13.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
923
Selected comparison
626.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,926 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Sugar Land MS
School yearStudents enrolledSugar Land MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,065 First available year 638.9
2022–23 1,050 Decrease of 15 (1.4%) 643.4
2023–24 995 Decrease of 55 (5.2%) 640.8
2024–25 936 Decrease of 59 (5.9%) 636.9
2025–26 923 Decrease of 13 (1.4%) 626.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
113

11.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
249

24.60 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,012

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
11.2%
Selected comparison
12.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,495 rated schools reporting

−1.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
24.6
Selected comparison
29.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,619 rated schools reporting

−4.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Sugar Land MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,188 55 4.6% 122 10.27 9.7% 19
2021–22 1,139 130 11.4% 269 23.62 12.6% 29
2022–23 1,119 140 12.5% 365 32.62 13.1% 31
2023–24 1,065 117 11.0% 322 30.23 13.0% 30.8
2024–25 1,012 113 11.2% 249 24.60 12.8% 29.2
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Sugar Land MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 113 11.2% 249 24.60 12.8% 29.2
In-school suspensions 75 7.4% 126 12.45 11.5% 22.5
Out-of-school suspensions 72 7.1% 99 9.78 6.8% 9.9
DAEP placements 18 1.8% 21 2.08 4.9% 5.9
Mandatory DAEP placements 18 1.8% 21 2.08 3.5% 4.1
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Sugar Land MS
  • Parent district: Fort Bend ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$15,167
Selected comparison
$12,551

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,934 rated schools reporting

+$2,617 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $15,167 per student for this campus, $18,181 per student for its parent district, Fort Bend ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearSugar Land MSParent district: Fort Bend ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,265$14,055$13,054$7,932 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,791 rated schools reporting
2019$10,189$13,701$13,108$8,077 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,807 rated schools reporting
2020$9,113$15,136$14,058$8,684 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,828 rated schools reporting
2021$8,870$15,034$14,797$9,103 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,843 rated schools reporting
2022$10,960$15,054$15,708$10,469 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,863 rated schools reporting
2023$11,124$13,283$16,792$11,121 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 rated schools reporting
2024$10,191$14,142$18,125$11,960 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,914 rated schools reporting
2025$15,167$18,181$18,972$12,551 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,934 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$68,676+$2,290 vs similar economic context
Teachers
58+15.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16−3.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Sugar Land MS

Beginning: 10.4%1 to 5 years: 24.9%6 to 10 years: 10.4%11 to 20 years: 29.5%21 to 30 years: 19.7%Over 30 years: 5.2%
  • Beginning 10.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 10.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 19.7%
  • Over 30 years 5.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,962 reporting for every category shown · 1,962 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.2%1 to 5 years: 25.7%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 28.3%21 to 30 years: 16.1%Over 30 years: 4.2%
  • Beginning 6.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 25.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.1%
  • Over 30 years 4.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Sugar Land MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classSugar Land MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 622.817.6
Secondary English22.314.9
Secondary languages other than English26.317.3
Secondary math2215.8
Secondary science24.217.2
Secondary social studies26.517.2

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 079907043.