Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Straus MS

Bexar County · Region 20: San Antonio · 1,439 students

Current score
78/1002025-26
Change
−7 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−7.0 ptsvs 85 average · 1,289 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,032 of 1,289tied with 27 others
C78

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 81 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 85 average for 1,289 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
68%vs 58.4% avg · +9.6 pts
Masters
36%vs 30.3% avg · +5.7 pts

Among 1,153 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Straus MS is rated C by TEA, scoring 78 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 85 average for 1,289 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 7 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,032nd of 1,289 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 27 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageStraus MS 8587828078 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 81 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7885.0 1,289 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8085.1 1,263 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8283.4 1,245 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8784.0 1,232 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8585.7 1,214 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement79 C−6.5 vs similar economic context · 1,254 reporting
  • School Progress75 C−7.9 vs similar economic context · 1,250 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps76 C−6.3 vs similar economic context · 1,241 reporting
  • Academic Growth75 C−3.4 vs similar economic context · 1,230 reporting
  • Relative Performance66 D−13.6 vs similar economic context · 1,250 reporting
  • Straus MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,289 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement79C1
School Progress75C5
Closing the Gaps76C4
Academic Growth75C5
Relative Performance66D4

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (79), so School Progress (75) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 79.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level73%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,254 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,254 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,254 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level81%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,253 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,253 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,253 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level68%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,249 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,249 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,249 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,153 reporting
  • Meets grade level68%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,153 reporting
  • Masters grade level36%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,153 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level55%−25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 659 reporting
  • Meets grade level28%−28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 659 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 659 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,289 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,439
Economically disadvantaged
37.9%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
6.3%−4.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
20.1%+2.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.6%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
15.0%+2.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Straus MS

African American: 12%Hispanic: 61.5%White: 15.6%American Indian: 0.1%Asian: 3.8%Pacific Islander: 0.3%Two or More Races: 6.9%
  • African American 12%
  • Hispanic 61.5%
  • White 15.6%
  • American Indian 0.1%
  • Asian 3.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 6.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,289 reporting for every category shown · 1,289 in full cohort

African American: 9.1%Hispanic: 34.2%White: 46.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 5.1%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4.5%
  • African American 9.1%
  • Hispanic 34.2%
  • White 46.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 5.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,439
Economically disadvantaged students
546
Emergent bilingual students
90
Special education students
289

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
193
Students in TEA mobility denominator
1,486
TEA-published mobility rate
13%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,439 students in 2025–26, an increase of 76 (5.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,439

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+76

Increase · +5.6%

Change since 2021–22
+474

Increase · +49.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
1,439
Selected comparison
722.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,259 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Straus MS
School yearStudents enrolledStraus MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 965 First available year 730.3
2022–23 1,114 Increase of 149 (15.4%) 732.1
2023–24 1,302 Increase of 188 (16.9%) 733.3
2024–25 1,363 Increase of 61 (4.7%) 729.1
2025–26 1,439 Increase of 76 (5.6%) 722.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
202

13.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
467

31.62 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,477

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
13.7%
Selected comparison
10.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,003 rated schools reporting

+3.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
31.62
Selected comparison
22.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,087 rated schools reporting

+9.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Straus MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2021–22 1,033 114 11.0% 181 17.52 10.6% 22.4
2022–23 1,206 117 9.7% 234 19.40 11.0% 23.6
2023–24 1,424 174 12.2% 357 25.07 10.7% 23.9
2024–25 1,477 202 13.7% 467 31.62 10.4% 22.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Straus MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 202 13.7% 467 31.62 10.4% 22.3
In-school suspensions 141 9.6% 249 16.86 9.3% 17.2
Out-of-school suspensions 109 7.4% 172 11.65 5.1% 7.1
DAEP placements 35 2.4% 46 3.11 3.7% 4.4
Mandatory DAEP placements 18 1.2% 19 1.29 2.9% 3.4
Discretionary DAEP placements 22 1.5% 27 1.83 2.0% 2.3
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k202220242025
  • Straus MS
  • Parent district: Northside ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,440
Selected comparison
$11,881

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,264 rated schools reporting

−$3,441 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,440 per student for this campus, $17,197 per student for its parent district, Northside ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearStraus MSParent district: Northside ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2022$8,903$14,599$15,708$9,868 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,214 rated schools reporting
2023$7,826$15,840$16,792$10,453 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,232 rated schools reporting
2024$8,119$17,624$18,125$11,669 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,246 rated schools reporting
2025$8,440$17,197$18,972$11,881 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,264 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$69,141+$1,571 vs similar economic context
Teachers
84+36.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
17.2+3.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Straus MS

Beginning: 8.5%1 to 5 years: 21.5%6 to 10 years: 21.5%11 to 20 years: 32.9%21 to 30 years: 15.5%
  • Beginning 8.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 21.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 21.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,289 reporting for every category shown · 1,289 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.2%1 to 5 years: 23.2%6 to 10 years: 19.5%11 to 20 years: 31.3%21 to 30 years: 17.1%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 5.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 31.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Straus MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classStraus MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 62118.4
Secondary English16.816.1
Secondary languages other than English23.218.4
Secondary math21.917
Secondary science23.218.5
Secondary social studies21.618.4

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 015915064.