−18.9 ptsvs 79.9 average · 266 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
244 of 266among reporting charter campuses
Score vs similar-size group
−18.6 ptsvs 79.6 average · 314 similarly sized rated charter campuses
Similar size placement
289 of 314tied with 2 others
Score vs state
−20.7 ptsvs 81.7 average · 829 rated Texas charter campuses
Texas charter placement
782 of 829tied with 2 others
D61
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 85 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 79.9 average for 266 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.The current score is below the 79.6 average for 314 similarly sized rated charter campuses.The current score is below the 81.7 average for 829 rated Texas charter campuses.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
Current strength
Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average
6.6%−16.9 pts vs 23.5%
6.6% is 16.9 percentage points lower than
the 23.5% average among 263 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Read the full rating context and placement
Southwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad is rated D by TEA, scoring 61 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 79.9 average for 266 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context. It is down 26 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 244th of 266 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.
Southwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad is rated D by TEA, scoring 61 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 79.6 average for 314 similarly sized rated charter campuses. It is down 26 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 289th of 314 similarly sized rated charter campuses (tied with 2 others).
Southwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad is rated D by TEA, scoring 61 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 81.7 average for 829 rated Texas charter campuses. It is down 26 points since 2021-22.
Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 266 rated charter campuses reporting
Schools on the PEG list
This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
0.0%
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 266 rated charter campuses reporting
Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.
These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.
5 years of ratings
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 85 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement59 F−14.9 vs similar economic context · 266 reporting
School Progress66 D−15.0 vs similar economic context · 266 reporting
Closing the Gaps48 F−28.4 vs similar economic context · 261 reporting
Academic Growth65 D−8.0 vs similar economic context · 253 reporting
Relative Performance66 D−13.3 vs similar economic context · 262 reporting
Southwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (266 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
59
F
1
School Progress
66
D
4
Closing the Gaps
48
F
12
Academic Growth
65
D
5
Relative Performance
66
D
4
Closest to moving up: School Progress, 4 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (66), so
Student Achievement (59) is published above but does not enter the overall
score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 66.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level57%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 266 reporting
Meets grade level32%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 266 reporting
Masters grade level14%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 266 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level58%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 266 reporting
Meets grade level32%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 266 reporting
Masters grade level17%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 266 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level58%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 264 reporting
Meets grade level36%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 264 reporting
Masters grade level13%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 264 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level48%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 reporting
Meets grade level24%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 reporting
Masters grade level7%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (266 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this school serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
371
Economically disadvantaged
97.3%+4.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
86.3%+40.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
8.1%−4.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.8%+4.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
6.6%−16.9 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Southwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad
African American 4.3%
Hispanic 93.8%
White 1.1%
American Indian 0.5%
Two or More Races 0.3%
Selected comparison averageFor charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 266 reporting for every category shown · 266 in full cohort
African American 18%
Hispanic 75.9%
White 3%
American Indian 0.2%
Asian 1.5%
Two or More Races 1.3%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized charter campuses · 314 reporting for every category shown · 314 in full cohort
African American 18.6%
Hispanic 61.4%
White 11.7%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 5.5%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 2.4%
Texas charter average829 reporting for every category shown · 829 Texas charter campuses in full cohort
African American 17.5%
Hispanic 61.8%
White 12.2%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 5.5%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 2.5%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
371
Economically disadvantaged students
361
Emergent bilingual students
320
Special education students
30
Campus mobility · 2024–25
Mobile students
34
Students in TEA mobility denominator
320
TEA-published mobility rate
10.6%
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 371 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 116 (23.8%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
371
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
−116
Decrease · −23.8%
Change since 2021–22
+8
Increase · +2.2%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This school
371
Selected comparison
506.1
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 264 rated charter campuses reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Southwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad
School year
Students enrolledSouthwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
363
First available year
478.6
2022–23
378
Increase of 15 (4.1%)
494.4
2023–24
370
Decrease of 8 (2.1%)
505.8
2024–25
487
Increase of 117 (31.6%)
506.2
2025–26
371
Decrease of 116 (23.8%)
506.1
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported
Rate not available
Disciplinary actions
Not reported
Rate not available
Cumulative year-end enrollment
520
2024–25
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Southwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
397
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
2021–22
409
14
3.4%
16
3.91
10.9%
17.8
2022–23
443
10
2.3%
10
2.26
11.2%
18.7
2023–24
404
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
2024–25
520
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Southwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
In-school suspensions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Out-of-school suspensions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Spending per student
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Southwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad
Parent district: Southwest Public Schools
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This school
$11,029
Selected comparison
$12,007
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated charter campuses reporting
−$978 vs similar economic context
For 2025, TEA reported $11,029 per student for this campus, $15,478 per student for its parent district, Southwest Public Schools, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Southwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad
Parent district: Southwest Public Schools
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$8,103
$10,100
$13,054
$8,752
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated charter campuses reporting
2019
$7,956
$10,255
$13,108
$8,449
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 200 rated charter campuses reporting
2020
$8,019
$10,004
$14,058
$9,097
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 208 rated charter campuses reporting
2021
$8,795
$13,623
$14,797
$9,588
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 227 rated charter campuses reporting
2022
$11,404
$16,608
$15,708
$11,536
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 240 rated charter campuses reporting
2023
$10,889
$17,136
$16,792
$11,475
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated charter campuses reporting
2024
$12,177
$17,286
$18,125
$11,414
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated charter campuses reporting
2025
$11,029
$15,478
$18,972
$12,007
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated charter campuses reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers and actual class size
Average salary
$69,816+$5,668 vs similar economic context
Teachers
23−5.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16.2−1.8 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Southwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad
1 to 5 years 39.7%
6 to 10 years 17.5%
11 to 20 years 17.5%
21 to 30 years 25.8%
Selected comparison averageFor charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 266 reporting for every category shown · 266 in full cohort
Beginning 13.4%
1 to 5 years 47.7%
6 to 10 years 19.6%
11 to 20 years 14.6%
21 to 30 years 4%
Over 30 years 0.8%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized charter campuses · 314 reporting for every category shown · 314 in full cohort
Beginning 13.1%
1 to 5 years 42.8%
6 to 10 years 19.9%
11 to 20 years 15.9%
21 to 30 years 5.2%
Over 30 years 0.9%
Texas charter average829 reporting for every category shown · 829 Texas charter campuses in full cohort
Beginning 13%
1 to 5 years 44.3%
6 to 10 years 19.6%
11 to 20 years 15.4%
21 to 30 years 4.8%
Over 30 years 0.9%
Average students in a class
TEA average class size by grade or subject for Southwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad in 2024–25
Grade or subject
Average students per classSouthwest Public Schools Visual & Perf Arts Acad · 2024–25
Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 1
12.3
22
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 1 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Out of 63 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
#4–10 rankings
Fourth- through tenth-place results
1 measure
9of 263
Attendance
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 263 that report this measure · tied with 2
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above
this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears
once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any
tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones
no school would put in a press release.
Where this comes from
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101838104.