Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Open-enrollment charter campus

Southside Elem

Yes Prep Public Schools Inc · Houston · 631 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
67/1002025-26
Change
−2 ptssince 2022-23
Score vs similar economic context
−13.0 ptsvs 80 average · 313 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
271 of 313tied with 3 others
D67

At a glance

The available rating history is moving down. The current score is below the 80 average for 313 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.

Read the full rating context and placement

Southside Elem is rated D by TEA, scoring 67 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 80 average for 313 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context. It is down 2 points since 2022-23.

Ranks 271st of 313 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context (tied with 3 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averageSouthside Elem 69587767 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26D6780.0 313 reporting81.7 829 reporting
2024-25C7778.5 307 reporting81.3 797 reporting
2023-24F5876.4 299 reporting79.5 776 reporting
2022-23D6975.8 289 reporting79.6 749 reporting
2021-22Not Rated—83.4 272 reporting84.5 700 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement62 D−11.9 vs similar economic context · 313 reporting
  • School Progress70 C−11.1 vs similar economic context · 313 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps61 D−15.7 vs similar economic context · 308 reporting
  • Academic Growth62 D−11.0 vs similar economic context · 299 reporting
  • Relative Performance70 C−9.2 vs similar economic context · 309 reporting
  • Southside Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (313 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement62D8
School Progress70C10
Closing the Gaps61D9
Academic Growth62D8
Relative Performance70C10

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 9 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (70), so Student Achievement (62) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 70.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level61%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 313 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 313 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 313 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 313 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 313 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 313 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 311 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 311 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 311 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level42%−29 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 291 reporting
  • Meets grade level13%−26 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 291 reporting
  • Masters grade level3%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 291 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (313 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
631
Economically disadvantaged
95.1%+3.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
19.5%−25.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.3%+1.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.6%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
28.0%+4.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Southside Elem

African American: 50.2%Hispanic: 47.1%White: 0.3%Asian: 0.3%Two or More Races: 2.1%
  • African American 50.2%
  • Hispanic 47.1%
  • White 0.3%
  • Asian 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 2.1%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 313 reporting for every category shown · 313 in full cohort

African American: 18.5%Hispanic: 75.3%White: 3%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 1.5%Two or More Races: 1.3%
  • African American 18.5%
  • Hispanic 75.3%
  • White 3%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 1.5%
  • Two or More Races 1.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
630
Economically disadvantaged students
599
Emergent bilingual students
123
Special education students
90

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
76
Students in TEA mobility denominator
549
TEA-published mobility rate
13.8%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 631 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 44 (6.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
631

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−44

Decrease · −6.5%

Change since 2021–22
+366

Increase · +138.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
631
Selected comparison
515

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 311 rated charter campuses reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Southside Elem
School yearStudents enrolledSouthside ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 265 First available year 487.1
2022–23 466 Increase of 201 (75.8%) 501.9
2023–24 606 Increase of 140 (30.0%) 513.4
2024–25 675 Increase of 69 (11.4%) 514.9
2025–26 631 Decrease of 44 (6.5%) 515

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
16

2.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
17

2.38 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
715

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
2.2%
Selected comparison
11.0%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 194 rated charter campuses reporting

−8.8 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
2.38
Selected comparison
18.9

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 204 rated charter campuses reporting

−16.5 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Southside Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2021–22 292 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 496 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 658 12 1.8% 13 1.98 11.2% 19.2
2024–25 715 16 2.2% 17 2.38 11.0% 18.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Southside Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 16 2.2% 17 2.38 11.0% 18.9
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 16 2.2% 17 2.38 8.7% 12.4
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$10k$15k$20k202220242025
  • Southside Elem
  • Parent district: Yes Prep Public Schools Inc
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$13,613
Selected comparison
$12,060

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 310 rated charter campuses reporting

+$1,553 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $13,613 per student for this campus, $14,639 per student for its parent district, Yes Prep Public Schools Inc, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearSouthside ElemParent district: Yes Prep Public Schools IncTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2022$17,467$13,390$15,708$11,552 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 283 rated charter campuses reporting
2023$13,227$14,153$16,792$11,557 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 292 rated charter campuses reporting
2024$14,246$15,204$18,125$11,538 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 300 rated charter campuses reporting
2025$13,613$14,639$18,972$12,060 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 310 rated charter campuses reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$66,896+$2,600 vs similar economic context
Teachers
44+14.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.3−3.5 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Southside Elem

Beginning: 29.4%1 to 5 years: 36.4%6 to 10 years: 15.9%11 to 20 years: 13.7%21 to 30 years: 4.6%
  • Beginning 29.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 36.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 15.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 13.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 4.6%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 313 reporting for every category shown · 313 in full cohort

Beginning: 13.5%1 to 5 years: 47%6 to 10 years: 19.7%11 to 20 years: 14.8%21 to 30 years: 4.2%Over 30 years: 0.9%
  • Beginning 13.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 47%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 14.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 4.2%
  • Over 30 years 0.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Southside Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classSouthside Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1921.6
Grade 12422
Grade 22222.5
Grade 320.824
Grade 423.724.1
Grade 528.523.6

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101845105.