Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Shugart Elem

Dallas County · Region 10: Richardson · 447 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
72/1002025-26
Change
−9 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−5.6 ptsvs 77.6 average · 2,202 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,564 of 2,202tied with 43 others
C72

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 79 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.6 average for 2,202 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Shugart Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 72 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.6 average for 2,202 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 9 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,564th of 2,202 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 43 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageShugart Elem 8178647572 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 79 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7277.6 2,202 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7577.3 2,183 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6473.9 2,165 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7873.5 2,155 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8181.9 2,128 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement65 D−5.4 vs similar economic context · 2,042 reporting
  • School Progress72 C−6.7 vs similar economic context · 2,038 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps72 C−2.9 vs similar economic context · 2,023 reporting
  • Academic Growth65 D−8.0 vs similar economic context · 2,005 reporting
  • Relative Performance72 C−4.8 vs similar economic context · 2,037 reporting
  • Shugart Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,202 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement65D5
School Progress72C8
Closing the Gaps72C8
Academic Growth65D5
Relative Performance72C8

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 8 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (72), so Student Achievement (65) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 72.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level61%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,042 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,042 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,042 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,041 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,041 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,041 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level64%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,034 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,034 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,034 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level50%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,920 reporting
  • Meets grade level23%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,920 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,920 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,202 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
447
Economically disadvantaged
91.5%+0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
31.8%−8.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
17.3%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.0%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
24.1%+1.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Shugart Elem

African American: 40.4%Hispanic: 44.2%White: 4.5%American Indian: 1.1%Asian: 4.7%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.9%
  • African American 40.4%
  • Hispanic 44.2%
  • White 4.5%
  • American Indian 1.1%
  • Asian 4.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,202 reporting for every category shown · 2,202 in full cohort

African American: 14.8%Hispanic: 76.2%White: 5.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • African American 14.8%
  • Hispanic 76.2%
  • White 5.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
446
Economically disadvantaged students
408
Emergent bilingual students
142
Special education students
77

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
95
Students in TEA mobility denominator
377
TEA-published mobility rate
25.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 447 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 24 (5.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
447

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−24

Decrease · −5.1%

Change since 2021–22
−36

Decrease · −7.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
447
Selected comparison
574

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,179 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Shugart Elem
School yearStudents enrolledShugart ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 483 First available year 619.1
2022–23 457 Decrease of 26 (5.4%) 615.6
2023–24 478 Increase of 21 (4.6%) 605.6
2024–25 471 Decrease of 7 (1.5%) 598.9
2025–26 447 Decrease of 24 (5.1%) 574

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
23

4.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
46

8.93 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
515

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
4.5%
Selected comparison
13.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,341 rated schools reporting

−8.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
8.93
Selected comparison
31.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,443 rated schools reporting

−22.5 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Shugart Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 530 10 1.9% 14 2.64 7.1% 13.7
2021–22 552 27 4.9% 61 11.05 12.7% 30.2
2022–23 511 18 3.5% 26 5.09 13.6% 33.1
2023–24 570 21 3.7% 34 5.96 13.8% 33.4
2024–25 515 23 4.5% 46 8.93 13.2% 31.4
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Shugart Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 23 4.5% 46 8.93 13.2% 31.4
In-school suspensions 21 4.1% 41 7.96 11.5% 22.2
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Shugart Elem
  • Parent district: Garland ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,526
Selected comparison
$13,239

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,181 rated schools reporting

−$1,713 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,526 per student for this campus, $18,172 per student for its parent district, Garland ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearShugart ElemParent district: Garland ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,637$13,522$13,054$8,324 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,073 rated schools reporting
2019$7,735$11,776$13,108$8,337 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,101 rated schools reporting
2020$8,479$11,425$14,058$8,844 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,107 rated schools reporting
2021$8,989$12,273$14,797$9,659 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,111 rated schools reporting
2022$9,202$12,983$15,708$11,216 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,128 rated schools reporting
2023$10,433$14,377$16,792$11,717 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,154 rated schools reporting
2024$10,008$17,363$18,125$12,631 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,168 rated schools reporting
2025$11,526$18,172$18,972$13,239 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,181 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$67,764−$469 vs similar economic context
Teachers
32−8.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14−0.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Shugart Elem

Beginning: 6%1 to 5 years: 40.8%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 28.2%21 to 30 years: 6.3%
  • Beginning 6%
  • 1 to 5 years 40.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 6.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,202 reporting for every category shown · 2,202 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.2%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.3%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Shugart Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classShugart Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten21.118.1
Grade 117.518.3
Grade 219.318.3
Grade 31818.5
Grade 42218.5
Grade 52319.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057909141.