Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Sam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elem

Midland County · Region 18: Midland · 535 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
84/1002025-26
Change
−7 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+3.8 ptsvs 80.2 average · 1,998 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
725 of 1,998tied with 82 others
B84

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 89 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 80.2 average for 1,998 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
54%vs 48.6% avg · +5.4 pts
Masters
25%vs 19.8% avg · +5.2 pts

Among 1,899 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
50%vs 42.8% avg · +7.2 pts
Masters
23%vs 16.4% avg · +6.6 pts

Among 1,887 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Sam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 84 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.2 average for 1,998 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 7 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 725th of 1,998 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 82 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Where this school ranks best
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageSam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elem 9175719184 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 89 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8480.2 1,998 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9179.9 1,974 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7177.9 1,953 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7578.5 1,920 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9182.3 1,896 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement80 B+1.8 vs similar economic context · 1,899 reporting
  • School Progress84 B+3.0 vs similar economic context · 1,891 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps83 B+5.6 vs similar economic context · 1,872 reporting
  • Academic Growth82 B+7.9 vs similar economic context · 1,835 reporting
  • Relative Performance84 B+4.7 vs similar economic context · 1,891 reporting
  • Sam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,998 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement80B10
School Progress84B6
Closing the Gaps83B7
Academic Growth82B8
Relative Performance84B6

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 6 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (84), so Student Achievement (80) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 84.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level80%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level83%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,895 reporting
  • Meets grade level57%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,895 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,895 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,739 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,739 reporting
  • Masters grade level33%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,739 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,998 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
535
Economically disadvantaged
63.2%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
4.5%−12.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.0%−3.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.7%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
15.6%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Sam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elem

African American: 10.5%Hispanic: 72.9%White: 12.1%Asian: 0.9%Two or More Races: 3.6%
  • African American 10.5%
  • Hispanic 72.9%
  • White 12.1%
  • Asian 0.9%
  • Two or More Races 3.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,998 reporting for every category shown · 1,998 in full cohort

African American: 10.9%Hispanic: 50.6%White: 32.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 10.9%
  • Hispanic 50.6%
  • White 32.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
535
Economically disadvantaged students
338
Emergent bilingual students
24
Special education students
80

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
56
Students in TEA mobility denominator
418
TEA-published mobility rate
13.4%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 535 students in 2025–26, an increase of 54 (11.2%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
535

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+54

Increase · +11.2%

Change since 2021–22
+80

Increase · +17.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
535
Selected comparison
619.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,964 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Sam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elem
School yearStudents enrolledSam Houston Collegiate Preparatory ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 455 First available year 633.2
2022–23 469 Increase of 14 (3.1%) 639.2
2023–24 475 Increase of 6 (1.3%) 636
2024–25 481 Increase of 6 (1.3%) 632.1
2025–26 535 Increase of 54 (11.2%) 619.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
49

9.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
93

18.86 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
493

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
9.9%
Selected comparison
12.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,533 rated schools reporting

−3.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
18.86
Selected comparison
29.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,656 rated schools reporting

−10.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Sam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 381 12 3.1% 15 3.94 9.8% 19.5
2021–22 465 20 4.3% 31 6.67 12.7% 29.4
2022–23 473 26 5.5% 58 12.26 13.3% 31.7
2023–24 479 42 8.8% 85 17.75 13.1% 31.3
2024–25 493 49 9.9% 93 18.86 12.9% 29.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Sam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 49 9.9% 93 18.86 12.9% 29.8
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 44 8.9% 86 17.44 7.0% 10.3
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Sam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elem
  • Parent district: Midland ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$12,936
Selected comparison
$12,631

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,970 rated schools reporting

+$305 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $12,936 per student for this campus, $18,529 per student for its parent district, Midland ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearSam Houston Collegiate Preparatory ElemParent district: Midland ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,437$8,732$13,054$7,926 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,822 rated schools reporting
2019$8,973$9,076$13,108$8,077 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,838 rated schools reporting
2020$10,528$10,668$14,058$8,668 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,861 rated schools reporting
2021$14,520$12,683$14,797$9,102 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,875 rated schools reporting
2022$11,146$12,705$15,708$10,421 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 rated schools reporting
2023$10,884$13,012$16,792$11,125 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,920 rated schools reporting
2024$12,018$14,999$18,125$12,070 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,949 rated schools reporting
2025$12,936$18,529$18,972$12,631 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,970 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

13 measures

  • 4of 42

    Per-student spending

    Midland County · of the 42 that report this measure

  • 6of 41

    Relative Performance

    Midland County · of the 41 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 6of 41

    Reading — Approaches

    Midland County · of the 41 that report this measure

  • 7of 41

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Midland County · of the 41 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 41

    Reading — Meets

    Midland County · of the 41 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 41

    Science — Meets

    Midland County · of the 41 that report this measure

  • 8of 41

    Science — Masters

    Midland County · of the 41 that report this measure

  • 9of 41

    School Progress

    Midland County · of the 41 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 41

    Closing the Gaps

    Midland County · of the 41 that report this measure

  • 10of 41

    Student Achievement

    Midland County · of the 41 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 10of 41

    Academic Growth

    Midland County · of the 41 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 10of 41

    All Subjects — Masters

    Midland County · of the 41 that report this measure

  • 10of 41

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Midland County · of the 41 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 165901109.