Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Robert B Sewell Elem

Dallas County · Region 10: Richardson · 708 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
84/1002025-26
Change
−11 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+2.0 ptsvs 82 average · 1,709 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
736 of 1,709tied with 71 others
B84

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 96 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 82 average for 1,709 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 7 points

77 to 84 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 84 is 2 points above the 82 average among 1,709 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 12 points

76 to 88 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 88 is 8.8 points above the 79.2 average among 1,626 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
49%vs 46.9% avg · +2.1 pts
Masters
22%vs 19.1% avg · +2.9 pts

Among 1,638 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Robert B Sewell Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 84 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82 average for 1,709 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 11 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 736th of 1,709 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 71 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
19.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,709 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
1.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,709 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageRobert B Sewell Elem 9583767784 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 96 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8482.0 1,709 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7782.2 1,685 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7680.2 1,659 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8380.8 1,637 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9583.5 1,614 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement77 C−4.6 vs similar economic context · 1,646 reporting
  • School Progress82 B+0.4 vs similar economic context · 1,641 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps88 B+8.8 vs similar economic context · 1,626 reporting
  • Academic Growth82 B+6.2 vs similar economic context · 1,606 reporting
  • Relative Performance74 C−5.3 vs similar economic context · 1,641 reporting
  • Robert B Sewell Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,709 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement77C3
School Progress82B8
Closing the Gaps88B2
Academic Growth82B8
Relative Performance74C6

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (82), so Student Achievement (77) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 82.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level73%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,646 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,646 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,646 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,644 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,644 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,644 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,638 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,638 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,638 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,519 reporting
  • Meets grade level33%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,519 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,519 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,709 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
708
Economically disadvantaged
50.4%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
25.4%+12.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
23.4%+4.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.8%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
8.0%−6.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Robert B Sewell Elem

African American: 20.5%Hispanic: 26.3%White: 26.8%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 19%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 6.8%
  • African American 20.5%
  • Hispanic 26.3%
  • White 26.8%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 19%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 6.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,709 reporting for every category shown · 1,709 in full cohort

African American: 9.5%Hispanic: 41.1%White: 41.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.1%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.2%
  • African American 9.5%
  • Hispanic 41.1%
  • White 41.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
706
Economically disadvantaged students
356
Emergent bilingual students
179
Special education students
165

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
70
Students in TEA mobility denominator
619
TEA-published mobility rate
11.3%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 708 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 1 (0.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
708

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−1

Decrease · −0.1%

Change since 2021–22
+24

Increase · +3.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
708
Selected comparison
645.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,669 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Robert B Sewell Elem
School yearStudents enrolledRobert B Sewell ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 684 First available year 649.6
2022–23 697 Increase of 13 (1.9%) 654.3
2023–24 708 Increase of 11 (1.6%) 653.8
2024–25 709 Increase of 1 (0.1%) 649.8
2025–26 708 Decrease of 1 (0.1%) 645.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
16

2.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
33

4.47 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
739

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
2.2%
Selected comparison
12.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,319 rated schools reporting

−9.9 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
4.47
Selected comparison
27.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,417 rated schools reporting

−22.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Robert B Sewell Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 768 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 747 14 1.9% 25 3.35 11.9% 26.4
2022–23 721 14 1.9% 28 3.88 12.4% 28.3
2023–24 757 19 2.5% 31 4.10 12.5% 28.8
2024–25 739 16 2.2% 33 4.47 12.1% 27.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Robert B Sewell Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 16 2.2% 33 4.47 12.1% 27.1
In-school suspensions Suppressed — 11 1.49 — 20.8
Out-of-school suspensions 13 1.8% 21 2.84 6.1% 8.6
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Robert B Sewell Elem
  • Parent district: Garland ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,070
Selected comparison
$12,032

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,683 rated schools reporting

−$2,962 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,070 per student for this campus, $18,172 per student for its parent district, Garland ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearRobert B Sewell ElemParent district: Garland ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,629$13,522$13,054$7,829 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,559 rated schools reporting
2019$6,836$11,776$13,108$8,009 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,578 rated schools reporting
2020$7,047$11,425$14,058$8,537 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,590 rated schools reporting
2021$7,533$12,273$14,797$8,949 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,606 rated schools reporting
2022$8,173$12,983$15,708$10,236 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 rated schools reporting
2023$8,003$14,377$16,792$10,693 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,636 rated schools reporting
2024$8,681$17,363$18,125$11,545 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,657 rated schools reporting
2025$9,070$18,172$18,972$12,032 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,683 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$71,474+$4,622 vs similar economic context
Teachers
42−0.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16.7−3.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Robert B Sewell Elem

Beginning: 2.4%1 to 5 years: 26.1%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 23.7%21 to 30 years: 24.2%Over 30 years: 4.7%
  • Beginning 2.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 23.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 24.2%
  • Over 30 years 4.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,709 reporting for every category shown · 1,709 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.6%1 to 5 years: 24.4%6 to 10 years: 19.3%11 to 20 years: 29.4%21 to 30 years: 16.7%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 5.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.7%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Robert B Sewell Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classRobert B Sewell Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten22.818
Grade 120.218.4
Grade 22218.6
Grade 321.319
Grade 42319.1
Grade 528.820

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057909145.