Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Open-enrollment charter campus · Alternative Education Accountability

Richard Milburn Academy Midland

Richard Milburn Alter High School (Killeen) · Midland · 165 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
70/1002025-26
Change
+5 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−11.5 ptsvs 81.5 average · 183 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
153 of 183tied with 3 others
C70

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 76 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 81.5 average for 183 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.

Read the full rating context and placement

Richard Milburn Academy Midland is rated C by TEA, scoring 70 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 81.5 average for 183 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context. It is up 5 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 153rd of 183 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context (tied with 3 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this school serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Discipline and removal from class
  11. Spending per student
  12. Teachers and actual class size
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Comprehensive Support and Improvement

Official support label: Comprehensive Reidentified

Identification reason: CSI Low Graduation Rate

TEA track year 4 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
25.1%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 183 rated charter campuses reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
0.0%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 183 rated charter campuses reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averageRichard Milburn Academy Midland 6572777970 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 76 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26C7081.5 183 reporting81.7 829 reporting
2024-25C7983.1 177 reporting81.3 797 reporting
2023-24C7781.7 170 reporting79.5 776 reporting
2022-23C7282.7 162 reporting79.6 749 reporting
2021-22D6585.3 154 reporting84.5 700 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement74 C−5.5 vs similar economic context · 183 reporting
  • School Progress63 D−18.8 vs similar economic context · 182 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps60 D−17.8 vs similar economic context · 175 reporting
  • Academic Growth61 D−12.4 vs similar economic context · 166 reporting
  • Relative Performance63 D−17.6 vs similar economic context · 180 reporting
  • Richard Milburn Academy Midland
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (183 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement74C6
School Progress63D7
Closing the Gaps60D10
Academic Growth61D9
Relative Performance63D7

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 6 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (74), so School Progress (63) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 74.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level44%−28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 183 reporting
  • Meets grade level13%−31 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 183 reporting
  • Masters grade level3%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 183 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level28%−45 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 183 reporting
  • Meets grade level10%−39 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 183 reporting
  • Masters grade level0%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 183 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level36%−32 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 181 reporting
  • Meets grade level3%−32 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 181 reporting
  • Masters grade level0%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 181 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 177 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 177 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 177 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 131 reporting
  • Meets grade level25%−17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 131 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 131 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (183 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Completion

Four-Year
34.8%−15.3 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 39 rated charter campuses reporting
Five-Year
25.7%−34.7 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 39 rated charter campuses reporting
Six-Year
34.1%−26.3 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 39 rated charter campuses reporting
Dropout Rate
19.2%+7.6 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 39 rated charter campuses reporting

These measures use TEA's alternative-education accountability population. Each comparison average includes only charter campuses in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported charter campus rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
58.0%−23.8 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria58.0%81.8%−23.8 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course58.3%70.9%−12.6 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA0.0%33.5%−33.5 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated charter campuses reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%20.4%−20.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course0.0%13.6%−13.6 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an industry-based certification4.2%10.4%−6.2 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%0.4%−0.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%1.2%−1.2 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated charter campuses reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%4.1%−4.1 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness4.2%1.8%+2.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student0.0%7.7%−7.7 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated charter campuses reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces0.0%1.7%−1.7 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated charter campuses reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported charter campus percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
27

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
3

11.1% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
22

81.5% of graduates

Not trackable
2

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
27
Selected comparison
66.2

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter campuses reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
3
Selected comparison
29.6

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter campuses reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
11.1%
Selected comparison
41.5%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter campuses reporting

−30.4 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
81.5%
Selected comparison
53.9%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter campuses reporting

+27.6 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
7.4%
Selected comparison
4.6%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter campuses reporting

+2.8 pts vs similar economic context

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
165
Economically disadvantaged
68.3%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
11.6%−13.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
7.9%−5.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
79.3%−12.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
75.0%+48.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Richard Milburn Academy Midland

African American: 6.7%Hispanic: 72.6%White: 17.7%American Indian: 0.6%Two or More Races: 2.4%
  • African American 6.7%
  • Hispanic 72.6%
  • White 17.7%
  • American Indian 0.6%
  • Two or More Races 2.4%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 183 reporting for every category shown · 183 in full cohort

African American: 19.4%Hispanic: 61.2%White: 12.4%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 3.9%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.7%
  • African American 19.4%
  • Hispanic 61.2%
  • White 12.4%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 3.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
164
Economically disadvantaged students
112
Emergent bilingual students
19
Special education students
13

TEA context labels

  • Alternative education campus under AEA procedures
  • Alternative education type: dropout recovery school
  • Rated under AEA procedures

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
185
Students in TEA mobility denominator
248
TEA-published mobility rate
74.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 165 students in 2025–26, an increase of 16 (10.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
165

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+16

Increase · +10.7%

Change since 2021–22
+21

Increase · +14.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
165
Selected comparison
484.1

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 183 rated charter campuses reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Richard Milburn Academy Midland
School yearStudents enrolledRichard Milburn Academy MidlandChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 144 First available year 449.4
2022–23 145 Increase of 1 (0.7%) 471.1
2023–24 126 Decrease of 19 (13.1%) 478.5
2024–25 149 Increase of 23 (18.3%) 480
2025–26 165 Increase of 16 (10.7%) 484.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
31

12.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
38

15.32 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
248

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
12.5%
Selected comparison
9.6%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 132 rated charter campuses reporting

+2.9 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
15.32
Selected comparison
15.6

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 137 rated charter campuses reporting

−0.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Richard Milburn Academy Midland
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 255 Suppressed — 10 3.92 — 5.8
2021–22 253 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 227 12 5.3% 15 6.61 10.0% 15
2023–24 219 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 248 31 12.5% 38 15.32 9.6% 15.6
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Richard Milburn Academy Midland in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 31 12.5% 38 15.32 9.6% 15.6
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 28 11.3% 28 11.29 8.1% 11.2
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions 10 4.0% 10 4.03 3.5% 3.5
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions 10 4.0% 10 4.03 3.3% 3.3

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$14k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Richard Milburn Academy Midland
  • Parent district: Richard Milburn Alter High School (Killeen)
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,648
Selected comparison
$11,668

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 176 rated charter campuses reporting

−$3,020 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,648 per student for this campus, $10,193 per student for its parent district, Richard Milburn Alter High School (Killeen), $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearRichard Milburn Academy MidlandParent district: Richard Milburn Alter High School (Killeen)Texas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,021$7,947$13,054$8,121 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 121 rated charter campuses reporting
2019$10,105$9,013$13,108$8,583 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 127 rated charter campuses reporting
2020$9,797$9,597$14,058$9,279 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 138 rated charter campuses reporting
2021$8,414$8,369$14,797$9,432 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 152 rated charter campuses reporting
2022$10,550$11,142$15,708$10,750 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 158 rated charter campuses reporting
2023$10,026$9,767$16,792$11,068 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 163 rated charter campuses reporting
2024$11,290$12,470$18,125$11,608 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated charter campuses reporting
2025$8,648$10,193$18,972$11,668 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 176 rated charter campuses reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$60,425−$1,352 vs similar economic context
Teachers
6−22.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
27.5+9.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Richard Milburn Academy Midland

Beginning: 16.7%1 to 5 years: 40%6 to 10 years: 36.7%11 to 20 years: 5%Over 30 years: 1.7%
  • Beginning 16.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 40%
  • 6 to 10 years 36.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 5%
  • Over 30 years 1.7%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 183 reporting for every category shown · 183 in full cohort

Beginning: 15.4%1 to 5 years: 44.1%6 to 10 years: 20%11 to 20 years: 15.7%21 to 30 years: 4%Over 30 years: 0.8%
  • Beginning 15.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 44.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 20%
  • 11 to 20 years 15.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 4%
  • Over 30 years 0.8%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Richard Milburn Academy Midland in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classRichard Milburn Academy Midland · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English3.316.4
Secondary languages other than English2.315.9
Secondary math3.216.3
Secondary science1.317.5
Secondary social studies2.918.1

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 014801010.