Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Reed Academy

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 672 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
70/1002025-26
Change
−12 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−7.4 ptsvs 77.4 average · 2,390 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,770 of 2,390tied with 18 others
C70

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 85 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.4 average for 2,390 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Read the full rating context and placement

Reed Academy is rated C by TEA, scoring 70 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.4 average for 2,390 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 12 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,770th of 2,390 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 18 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Targeted Support and Improvement

Official support label: TSI

Identification reason: Special Education

TEA track year 0 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
35.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,390 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
8.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,390 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageReed Academy 8264847570 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 85 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7077.4 2,390 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7577.0 2,377 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8473.8 2,359 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6474.1 2,347 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8281.6 2,317 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement64 D−6.8 vs similar economic context · 2,227 reporting
  • School Progress70 C−8.5 vs similar economic context · 2,221 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps71 C−3.5 vs similar economic context · 2,207 reporting
  • Academic Growth68 D−4.4 vs similar economic context · 2,178 reporting
  • Relative Performance70 C−6.7 vs similar economic context · 2,221 reporting
  • Reed Academy
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,390 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement64D6
School Progress70C10
Closing the Gaps71C9
Academic Growth68D2
Relative Performance70C10

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 9 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (70), so Student Achievement (64) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 70.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level64%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,227 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,227 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,227 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,226 reporting
  • Meets grade level41%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,226 reporting
  • Masters grade level17%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,226 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,217 reporting
  • Meets grade level33%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,217 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,217 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level54%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 reporting
  • Meets grade level21%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,390 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
672
Economically disadvantaged
86.6%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
56.3%+19.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.3%−3.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.2%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
22.3%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Reed Academy

African American: 12.4%Hispanic: 84.7%White: 1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 0.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1%
  • African American 12.4%
  • Hispanic 84.7%
  • White 1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 0.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,390 reporting for every category shown · 2,390 in full cohort

African American: 14.2%Hispanic: 73.9%White: 8.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.9%
  • African American 14.2%
  • Hispanic 73.9%
  • White 8.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.9%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
672
Economically disadvantaged students
582
Emergent bilingual students
378
Special education students
103

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
101
Students in TEA mobility denominator
690
TEA-published mobility rate
14.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 672 students in 2025–26, an increase of 35 (5.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
672

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+35

Increase · +5.5%

Change since 2021–22
−66

Decrease · −8.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
672
Selected comparison
603.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,361 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Reed Academy
School yearStudents enrolledReed AcademyChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 738 First available year 638.3
2022–23 677 Decrease of 61 (8.3%) 636
2023–24 664 Decrease of 13 (1.9%) 628.1
2024–25 637 Decrease of 27 (4.1%) 624.3
2025–26 672 Increase of 35 (5.5%) 603.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
30

4.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
51

7.59 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
672

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
4.5%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,598 rated schools reporting

−8.8 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
7.59
Selected comparison
31.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,718 rated schools reporting

−24.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Reed Academy
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 840 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 790 20 2.5% 27 3.42 12.7% 30.4
2022–23 724 36 5.0% 61 8.43 13.7% 33.7
2023–24 708 28 4.0% 47 6.64 13.7% 33.9
2024–25 672 30 4.5% 51 7.59 13.3% 31.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Reed Academy in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 30 4.5% 51 7.59 13.3% 31.9
In-school suspensions 15 2.2% 20 2.98 11.7% 22.9
Out-of-school suspensions 21 3.1% 29 4.32 8.8% 14.3
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k2019202120232025
  • Reed Academy
  • Parent district: Aldine ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$12,722
Selected comparison
$13,326

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,375 rated schools reporting

−$604 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $12,722 per student for this campus, $17,481 per student for its parent district, Aldine ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearReed AcademyParent district: Aldine ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2019$6,458$11,964$13,108$8,325 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,278 rated schools reporting
2020$7,127$11,579$14,058$8,847 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,289 rated schools reporting
2021$8,297$13,398$14,797$9,567 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,295 rated schools reporting
2022$8,181$13,566$15,708$11,075 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,317 rated schools reporting
2023$9,548$15,592$16,792$11,591 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,345 rated schools reporting
2024$9,634$17,695$18,125$12,580 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,360 rated schools reporting
2025$12,722$17,481$18,972$13,326 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,375 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$72,851+$5,103 vs similar economic context
Teachers
46+4.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.6+0.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Reed Academy

Beginning: 6.5%1 to 5 years: 15.2%6 to 10 years: 17.4%11 to 20 years: 34.8%21 to 30 years: 21.7%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 6.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 15.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 34.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 21.7%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,390 reporting for every category shown · 2,390 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.1%1 to 5 years: 27.3%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Reed Academy in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classReed Academy · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 125.718.4
Grade 218.118.3
Grade 319.418.7
Grade 423.318.7
Grade 51919.7

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101902143.