Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

PSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks Academy

Hidalgo County · Region 01: Edinburg · 188 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
93/1002025-26
Change
+4 ptssince 2023-24
Score vs similar economic context
+15.5 ptsvs 77.5 average · 2,225 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
80 of 2,225tied with 21 others
A93

At a glance

The available rating history is moving up. The current score is above the 77.5 average for 2,225 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 2 points

91 to 93 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 93 is 15.5 points above the 77.5 average among 2,225 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

14.3% −6.8 pts vs 21.1%

  • 14.3% is 6.8 percentage points lower than the 21.1% average among 2,129 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Attendance above the similar-context average

94.3% +1 pts vs 93.3%

  • 94.3% is 1 percentage points above the 93.3% average among 2,133 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

PSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks Academy is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.5 average for 2,225 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 4 points since 2023-24.

Ranks 80th of 2,225 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 21 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 3 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Who this school serves
  5. Student counts behind the percentages
  6. Enrollment over time
  7. Discipline and removal from class
  8. Spending per student
  9. Teachers and actual class size
  10. Where this school ranks best
  11. Where this comes from

3 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averagePSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks Academy 899193 2023-242024-252025-26

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9377.5 2,225 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9177.1 2,212 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8974.5 2,195 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 71.9 · 2,058 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 78.8 · 2,050 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 74.6 · 2,036 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 72.3 · 2,003 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 77 · 2,050 reporting
  • PSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks Academy
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,225 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
188
Economically disadvantaged
81.9%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
44.7%+13.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
11.7%−6.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.3%+1.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
14.3%−6.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

PSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks Academy

Hispanic: 98.9%White: 1.1%
  • Hispanic 98.9%
  • White 1.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,225 reporting for every category shown · 2,225 in full cohort

African American: 14.2%Hispanic: 69.8%White: 11.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.6%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.4%
  • African American 14.2%
  • Hispanic 69.8%
  • White 11.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
188
Economically disadvantaged students
154
Emergent bilingual students
84
Special education students
22

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
1
Students in TEA mobility denominator
8
TEA-published mobility rate
12.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 188 students in 2025–26, an increase of 21 (12.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
188

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+21

Increase · +12.6%

Change since 2023–24
+84

Increase · +80.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
188
Selected comparison
620

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,196 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for PSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks Academy
School yearStudents enrolledPSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks AcademyChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2023–24 104 First available year 643.8
2024–25 167 Increase of 63 (60.6%) 639.8
2025–26 188 Increase of 21 (12.6%) 620

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
174

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for PSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks Academy
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2023–24 113 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 174 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for PSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks Academy in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$11k$21k$31k20242025
  • PSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks Academy
  • Parent district: Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$19,969
Selected comparison
$13,193

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,210 rated schools reporting

+$6,776 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $19,969 per student for this campus, $17,543 per student for its parent district, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearPSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks AcademyParent district: Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2024$29,073$17,365$18,125$12,455 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,194 rated schools reporting
2025$19,969$17,543$18,972$13,193 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,210 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$69,252+$1,853 vs similar economic context
Teachers
13−29.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.2−0.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

PSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks Academy

1 to 5 years: 15.2%6 to 10 years: 7.6%11 to 20 years: 54.5%21 to 30 years: 22.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 15.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 7.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 54.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 22.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,225 reporting for every category shown · 2,225 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.9%1 to 5 years: 27.6%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 6.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for PSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks Academy in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classPSJA Sotomayor Building Blocks Academy · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten2018
Grade 1818.4

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 2 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 20 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 6of 251

    Per-student spending

    Hidalgo County · of the 251 that report this measure

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

1 measure

  • 80of 2,225

    Overall score

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 2,225 that report this measure · tied with 21

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 108909135.