Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Open-enrollment charter campus · Alternative Education Accountability

Premier HS of Abilene

Premier High Schools · Abilene · 159 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
85/1002025-26
Change
−5 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+3.4 ptsvs 81.6 average · 173 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
75 of 173tied with 5 others
B85

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 97 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 81.6 average for 173 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Top placement

Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

8.7% 1st of 77 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure · 2025-26

See the full measure

Current strength

Overall score above the similar-context average

85 +3.4 pts vs 81.6

  • 85 is 3.4 points above the 81.6 average among 173 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Premier HS of Abilene is rated B by TEA, scoring 85 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.6 average for 173 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context. It is down 5 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 75th of 173 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context (tied with 5 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averagePremier HS of Abilene 9093948585 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 97 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26B8581.6 173 reporting81.7 829 reporting
2024-25B8583.5 167 reporting81.3 797 reporting
2023-24A9482.1 160 reporting79.5 776 reporting
2022-23A9383.0 152 reporting79.6 749 reporting
2021-22A9085.6 145 reporting84.5 700 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement88 B+8.1 vs similar economic context · 173 reporting
  • School Progress84 B+2.1 vs similar economic context · 172 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps78 C±0.0 vs similar economic context · 166 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 73.8 · 158 reporting
  • Relative Performance84 B+3.2 vs similar economic context · 170 reporting
  • Premier HS of Abilene
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (173 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement88B2
School Progress84B6
Closing the Gaps78C2
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance84B6

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (88), so School Progress (84) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 88.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level77%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 173 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 173 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 173 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level61%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 173 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 173 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 173 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 171 reporting
  • Meets grade level22%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 171 reporting
  • Masters grade level0%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 171 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level100%+23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 167 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 167 reporting
  • Masters grade level0%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 167 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level87%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 124 reporting
  • Meets grade level65%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 124 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 124 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (173 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Completion

Four-Year
76.1%+24.7 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter campuses reporting
Five-Year
91.5%+29.0 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter campuses reporting
Six-Year
91.1%+29.3 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter campuses reporting
Dropout Rate
5.5%−5.9 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 35 rated charter campuses reporting

These measures use TEA's alternative-education accountability population. Each comparison average includes only charter campuses in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported charter campus rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
67.0%−15.9 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria67.0%82.9%−15.9 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 77 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course45.7%72.1%−26.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 77 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA23.9%34.9%−11.0 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 77 rated charter campuses reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%21.3%−21.3 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 77 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course2.2%16.5%−14.3 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 77 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an industry-based certification19.6%11.5%+8.1 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 77 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate2.2%0.4%+1.8 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 77 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%2.3%−2.3 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 77 rated charter campuses reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%4.4%−4.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 77 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness2.2%1.9%+0.3 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 77 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student4.3%7.7%−3.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 77 rated charter campuses reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces8.7%1.6%+7.1 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 77 rated charter campuses reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported charter campus percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
54

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
18

33.3% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
36

66.7% of graduates

Not trackable
0

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
54
Selected comparison
68.3

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 60 rated charter campuses reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
18
Selected comparison
31.8

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 60 rated charter campuses reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
33.3%
Selected comparison
43.3%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 60 rated charter campuses reporting

−10.0 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
66.7%
Selected comparison
51.8%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 60 rated charter campuses reporting

+14.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
0.0%
Selected comparison
4.9%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 60 rated charter campuses reporting

−4.9 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. CISCO COLLEGE (003553)5

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
159
Economically disadvantaged
67.1%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
2.5%−21.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
20.9%+7.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
81.1%−10.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
71.5%+45.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Premier HS of Abilene

African American: 3.8%Hispanic: 48.1%White: 42.4%Two or More Races: 5.7%
  • African American 3.8%
  • Hispanic 48.1%
  • White 42.4%
  • Two or More Races 5.7%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 173 reporting for every category shown · 173 in full cohort

African American: 20.2%Hispanic: 59.6%White: 12.7%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 4.4%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.7%
  • African American 20.2%
  • Hispanic 59.6%
  • White 12.7%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 4.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
158
Economically disadvantaged students
106
Emergent bilingual students
4
Special education students
33

Early college pathways

Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
11

TEA-published share: 7%

TEA context labels

  • Alternative education campus under AEA procedures
  • Alternative education type: dropout recovery school
  • Rated under AEA procedures

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
211
Students in TEA mobility denominator
303
TEA-published mobility rate
69.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 159 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 17 (9.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
159

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−17

Decrease · −9.7%

Change since 2021–22
+1

Increase · +0.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
159
Selected comparison
491

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 173 rated charter campuses reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Premier HS of Abilene
School yearStudents enrolledPremier HS of AbileneChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 158 First available year 446.9
2022–23 146 Decrease of 12 (7.6%) 475.8
2023–24 174 Increase of 28 (19.2%) 483.1
2024–25 176 Increase of 2 (1.1%) 485.5
2025–26 159 Decrease of 17 (9.7%) 491

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
15

5.0% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
21

6.98 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
301

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
5.0%
Selected comparison
9.7%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 123 rated charter campuses reporting

−4.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
6.98
Selected comparison
15.7

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 129 rated charter campuses reporting

−8.7 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Premier HS of Abilene
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 254 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 268 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 251 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 288 12 4.2% 15 5.21 9.9% 16.9
2024–25 301 15 5.0% 21 6.98 9.7% 15.7
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Premier HS of Abilene in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 15 5.0% 21 6.98 9.7% 15.7
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 15 5.0% 18 5.98 8.1% 11.3
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Premier HS of Abilene
  • Parent district: Premier High Schools
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,812
Selected comparison
$11,685

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 166 rated charter campuses reporting

−$1,873 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,812 per student for this campus, $11,324 per student for its parent district, Premier High Schools, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearPremier HS of AbileneParent district: Premier High SchoolsTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,432$7,558$13,054$8,141 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 113 rated charter campuses reporting
2019$7,763$7,553$13,108$8,612 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 119 rated charter campuses reporting
2020$7,590$8,603$14,058$9,338 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 130 rated charter campuses reporting
2021$8,466$8,271$14,797$9,522 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 143 rated charter campuses reporting
2022$6,012$7,324$15,708$10,928 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 149 rated charter campuses reporting
2023$8,156$10,578$16,792$11,200 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 153 rated charter campuses reporting
2024$8,368$10,550$18,125$11,645 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 160 rated charter campuses reporting
2025$9,812$11,324$18,972$11,685 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 166 rated charter campuses reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$44,953−$17,045 vs similar economic context
Teachers
11−18.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15−3.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Premier HS of Abilene

Beginning: 45.7%1 to 5 years: 28.6%6 to 10 years: 16.2%11 to 20 years: 9.5%
  • Beginning 45.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 28.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 16.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 9.5%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 173 reporting for every category shown · 173 in full cohort

Beginning: 15.6%1 to 5 years: 44.1%6 to 10 years: 19.6%11 to 20 years: 15.6%21 to 30 years: 4.2%Over 30 years: 0.8%
  • Beginning 15.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 44.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 15.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 4.2%
  • Over 30 years 0.8%

Where this school ranks best

Out of 117 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 77

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 77 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 3of 90

    Earned a level I or level II certificate

    Similar size · of the 90 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

4 measures

  • 4of 35

    Five-Year Completion Rate

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate (alternative-education accountability only) · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 4of 35

    Six-Year Completion Rate

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate (alternative-education accountability only) · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 8of 35

    Four-Year Completion Rate

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate (alternative-education accountability only) · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 10of 35

    Dropout Rate (lowest is best)

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate (alternative-education accountability only) · of the 35 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 072801101.