Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Open-enrollment charter campus · Alternative Education Accountability

Premier HS - Houston (Sharpstown)

Premier High Schools · Houston · 154 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
92/1002025-26
Change
+5 ptssince 2022-23
Score vs similar economic context
+11.1 ptsvs 80.9 average · 379 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
53 of 379tied with 8 others
A92

At a glance

The available rating history is moving up. The current score is above the 80.9 average for 379 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 9 points

83 to 92 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 92 is 11.1 points above the 80.9 average among 379 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

School Progress rose 13 points

77 to 90 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 90 is 7.9 points above the 82.1 average among 378 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Closing the Gaps above the similar-context average

91 +13.3 pts vs 77.7

  • 91 is 13.3 points above the 77.7 average among 375 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Premier HS - Houston (Sharpstown) is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.9 average for 379 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context. It is up 5 points since 2022-23.

Ranks 53rd of 379 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context (tied with 8 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 4 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

4 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averagePremier HS - Houston (Sharpstown) 87808392 2022-232023-242024-252025-26

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26A9280.9 379 reporting81.7 829 reporting
2024-25B8379.8 374 reporting81.3 797 reporting
2023-24B8077.9 369 reporting79.5 776 reporting
2022-23B8777.6 360 reporting79.6 749 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement92 A+16.3 vs similar economic context · 379 reporting
  • School Progress90 A+7.9 vs similar economic context · 378 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps91 A+13.3 vs similar economic context · 375 reporting
  • Academic Growth81 B+7.5 vs similar economic context · 361 reporting
  • Relative Performance90 A+9.8 vs similar economic context · 377 reporting
  • Premier HS - Houston (Sharpstown)
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (379 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement92A—
School Progress90A—
Closing the Gaps91A—
Academic Growth81B9
Relative Performance90A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (92), so School Progress (90) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 92.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level69%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting
  • Meets grade level24%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting
  • Masters grade level5%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level52%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting
  • Meets grade level14%−32 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting
  • Masters grade level1%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting
  • Meets grade level15%−20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level96%+24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 368 reporting
  • Meets grade level36%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 368 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 368 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 248 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 248 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 248 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (379 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Completion

Four-Year
0.0%−45.4 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 49 rated charter campuses reporting
Five-Year
0.0%−52.5 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 49 rated charter campuses reporting
Six-Year
0.0%−54.2 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 49 rated charter campuses reporting
Dropout Rate
15.9%+4.2 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 49 rated charter campuses reporting

These measures use TEA's alternative-education accountability population. Each comparison average includes only charter campuses in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported charter campus rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
89.0%+4.5 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria89.0%84.5%+4.5 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 143 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course89.5%69.7%+19.8 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 145 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA2.6%38.0%−35.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 145 rated charter campuses reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)7.9%29.7%−21.8 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 145 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course0.0%12.7%−12.7 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 145 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an industry-based certification7.9%14.2%−6.3 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 145 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%0.4%−0.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 145 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%2.0%−2.0 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 145 rated charter campuses reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit2.6%4.1%−1.5 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 145 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%1.4%−1.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 145 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student0.0%8.2%−8.2 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 145 rated charter campuses reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces0.0%1.9%−1.9 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 145 rated charter campuses reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported charter campus percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
29

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
5

17.2% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
20

69.0% of graduates

Not trackable
4

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
29
Selected comparison
75.6

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 115 rated charter campuses reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
5
Selected comparison
38.3

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 115 rated charter campuses reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
17.2%
Selected comparison
47.0%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 115 rated charter campuses reporting

−29.8 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
69.0%
Selected comparison
47.9%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 115 rated charter campuses reporting

+21.1 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
13.8%
Selected comparison
5.2%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 115 rated charter campuses reporting

+8.6 pts vs similar economic context

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
154
Economically disadvantaged
83.3%−1.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
48.0%+8.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
2.0%−11.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
86.9%−5.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
55.3%+30.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Premier HS - Houston (Sharpstown)

African American: 12.7%Hispanic: 78.7%White: 2.7%Asian: 5.3%Two or More Races: 0.7%
  • African American 12.7%
  • Hispanic 78.7%
  • White 2.7%
  • Asian 5.3%
  • Two or More Races 0.7%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting for every category shown · 379 in full cohort

African American: 17.7%Hispanic: 73.9%White: 4.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.6%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.5%
  • African American 17.7%
  • Hispanic 73.9%
  • White 4.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
150
Economically disadvantaged students
125
Emergent bilingual students
72
Special education students
3

TEA context labels

  • Alternative education campus under AEA procedures
  • Alternative education type: dropout recovery school
  • Rated under AEA procedures

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
153
Students in TEA mobility denominator
202
TEA-published mobility rate
75.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 154 students in 2025–26, an increase of 63 (69.2%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
154

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+63

Increase · +69.2%

Change since 2022–23
+112

Increase · +266.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
154
Selected comparison
520.3

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 rated charter campuses reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Premier HS - Houston (Sharpstown)
School yearStudents enrolledPremier HS - Houston (Sharpstown)Change from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2022–23 42 First available year 513.2
2023–24 54 Increase of 12 (28.6%) 517.2
2024–25 91 Increase of 37 (68.5%) 520.1
2025–26 154 Increase of 63 (69.2%) 520.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
21

10.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
33

16.34 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
202

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
10.4%
Selected comparison
10.0%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 248 rated charter campuses reporting

+0.4 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
16.34
Selected comparison
16.2

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 260 rated charter campuses reporting

+0.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Premier HS - Houston (Sharpstown)
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2022–23 132 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 108 12 11.1% 17 15.74 10.8% 17.6
2024–25 202 21 10.4% 33 16.34 10.0% 16.2
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Premier HS - Houston (Sharpstown) in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 21 10.4% 33 16.34 10.0% 16.2
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 21 10.4% 26 12.87 8.1% 11.2
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$9k$19k$28k20232025
  • Premier HS - Houston (Sharpstown)
  • Parent district: Premier High Schools
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$14,243
Selected comparison
$11,550

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated charter campuses reporting

+$2,693 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $14,243 per student for this campus, $11,324 per student for its parent district, Premier High Schools, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearPremier HS - Houston (Sharpstown)Parent district: Premier High SchoolsTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2023$27,051$10,578$16,792$11,322 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 358 rated charter campuses reporting
2024$15,057$10,550$18,125$11,748 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated charter campuses reporting
2025$14,243$11,324$18,972$11,550 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated charter campuses reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$48,003−$15,386 vs similar economic context
Teachers
4−25.9 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
35.7+17.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Premier HS - Houston (Sharpstown)

Beginning: 23.8%1 to 5 years: 76.2%
  • Beginning 23.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 76.2%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 379 reporting for every category shown · 379 in full cohort

Beginning: 12.8%1 to 5 years: 47.3%6 to 10 years: 20.2%11 to 20 years: 14.7%21 to 30 years: 4.3%Over 30 years: 0.7%
  • Beginning 12.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 47.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 14.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 4.3%
  • Over 30 years 0.7%

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 4of 92

    Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit

    Similar size · of the 92 that report this measure

  • 7of 368

    Science — Approaches

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 368 that report this measure · tied with 6

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

1 measure

  • 20of 379

    Student Achievement

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 379 that report this measure · tied with 6

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 072801161.