Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Open-enrollment charter campus

Plainview Classical Academy

Texas College Preparatory Academies · Plainview · 343 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
87/1002025-26
Change
+12 ptssince 2023-24
Score vs similar economic context
+4.2 ptsvs 82.8 average · 68 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
32 of 68tied with 1 other
B87

At a glance

The available rating history is moving up. The current score is above the 82.8 average for 68 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
59%vs 53.8% avg · +5.2 pts
Masters
24%vs 22.2% avg · +1.8 pts

Among 68 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
58%vs 43.4% avg · +14.6 pts
Masters
24%vs 17.7% avg · +6.3 pts

Among 67 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 52.2% avg · +2.8 pts
Masters
28%vs 24% avg · +4 pts

Among 66 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Plainview Classical Academy is rated B by TEA, scoring 87 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82.8 average for 68 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context. It is up 12 points since 2023-24.

Ranks 32nd of 68 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context (tied with 1 other).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 3 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

3 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averagePlainview Classical Academy 758887 2023-242024-252025-26

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26B8782.8 68 reporting81.7 829 reporting
2024-25B8883.1 64 reporting81.3 797 reporting
2023-24C7582.1 62 reporting79.5 776 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement85 B+2.3 vs similar economic context · 68 reporting
  • School Progress82 B+2.3 vs similar economic context · 66 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps90 A+9.3 vs similar economic context · 64 reporting
  • Academic Growth81 B+6.7 vs similar economic context · 65 reporting
  • Relative Performance82 B+4.7 vs similar economic context · 66 reporting
  • Plainview Classical Academy
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (68 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement85B5
School Progress82B8
Closing the Gaps90A—
Academic Growth81B9
Relative Performance82B8

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 5 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (85), so School Progress (82) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 85.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level85%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 68 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 68 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 68 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level89%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 68 reporting
  • Meets grade level67%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 68 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 68 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level85%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level82%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
  • Masters grade level28%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 46 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 46 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 46 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (68 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
0.0%−61.1 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 30 rated charter campuses reporting
Five-Year
0.0%−53.6 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 29 rated charter campuses reporting
Six-Year
0.0%−48.6 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 30 rated charter campuses reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 30 rated charter campuses reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only charter campuses in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported charter campus rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course0.0%54.4%−54.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 37 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA0.0%34.3%−34.3 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 37 rated charter campuses reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%12.7%−12.7 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 37 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course0.0%32.8%−32.8 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 37 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an industry-based certification0.0%5.7%−5.7 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 37 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%0.2%−0.2 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 37 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%6.7%−6.7 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 37 rated charter campuses reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%6.6%−6.6 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 37 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%5.0%−5.0 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 37 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student0.0%5.6%−5.6 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 37 rated charter campuses reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces0.0%1.7%−1.7 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 37 rated charter campuses reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported charter campus percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
343
Economically disadvantaged
40.2%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
7.0%−5.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.0%+0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.6%+0.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
10.7%−7.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Plainview Classical Academy

African American: 2.9%Hispanic: 44.6%White: 48.7%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2%Pacific Islander: 0.6%Two or More Races: 0.9%
  • African American 2.9%
  • Hispanic 44.6%
  • White 48.7%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.6%
  • Two or More Races 0.9%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 68 reporting for every category shown · 68 in full cohort

African American: 12.6%Hispanic: 40.6%White: 35.4%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 6.5%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.4%
  • African American 12.6%
  • Hispanic 40.6%
  • White 35.4%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 6.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
343
Economically disadvantaged students
138
Emergent bilingual students
24
Special education students
48

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
52
Students in TEA mobility denominator
266
TEA-published mobility rate
19.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 343 students in 2025–26, an increase of 81 (30.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
343

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+81

Increase · +30.9%

Change since 2023–24
+130

Increase · +61.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
343
Selected comparison
522.5

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 68 rated charter campuses reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Plainview Classical Academy
School yearStudents enrolledPlainview Classical AcademyChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2023–24 213 First available year 503
2024–25 262 Increase of 49 (23.0%) 505.7
2025–26 343 Increase of 81 (30.9%) 522.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
22

7.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
40

13.38 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
299

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
7.4%
Selected comparison
7.2%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 39 rated charter campuses reporting

+0.2 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
13.38
Selected comparison
11.5

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 40 rated charter campuses reporting

+1.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Plainview Classical Academy
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2023–24 245 17 6.9% 34 13.88 7.2% 12.7
2024–25 299 22 7.4% 40 13.38 7.2% 11.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Plainview Classical Academy in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 22 7.4% 40 13.38 7.2% 11.5
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 20 6.7% 33 11.04 5.4% 7.3
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$8k$14k$20k20242025
  • Plainview Classical Academy
  • Parent district: Texas College Preparatory Academies
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,843
Selected comparison
$12,891

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated charter campuses reporting

−$3,048 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,843 per student for this campus, $11,086 per student for its parent district, Texas College Preparatory Academies, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearPlainview Classical AcademyParent district: Texas College Preparatory AcademiesTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2024$8,948$11,083$18,125$11,629 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter campuses reporting
2025$9,843$11,086$18,972$12,891 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated charter campuses reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$48,966−$11,060 vs similar economic context
Teachers
22−11.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.5−4.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Plainview Classical Academy

Beginning: 29.7%1 to 5 years: 68.9%11 to 20 years: 1.4%
  • Beginning 29.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 68.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 1.4%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 68 reporting for every category shown · 68 in full cohort

Beginning: 12.7%1 to 5 years: 42.2%6 to 10 years: 20.7%11 to 20 years: 17.3%21 to 30 years: 6.3%Over 30 years: 1%
  • Beginning 12.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 42.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 17.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 6.3%
  • Over 30 years 1%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Plainview Classical Academy in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classPlainview Classical Academy · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1620.3
Grade 11621.3
Grade 22321
Grade 31921
Grade 416.622.3
Grade 51621.6
Grade 61721.4
Secondary English1616.1
Secondary math16.315.2
Secondary science1616.8
Secondary social studies16.315.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 11 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 221801082.