Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Parkwood Elem

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 576 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
75/1002025-26
Change
−10 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−2.6 ptsvs 77.6 average · 2,233 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,381 of 2,233tied with 65 others
C75

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 83 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.6 average for 2,233 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Parkwood Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 75 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.6 average for 2,233 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 10 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,381st of 2,233 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 65 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Who this school serves
  5. Student counts behind the percentages
  6. Enrollment over time
  7. Discipline and removal from class
  8. Spending per student
  9. Teachers and actual class size
  10. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageParkwood Elem 8573696775 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 83 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7577.6 2,233 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6777.1 2,219 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6974.5 2,202 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7374.9 2,187 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8581.7 2,167 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 71.9 · 2,062 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 78.8 · 2,055 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 74.7 · 2,041 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 72.3 · 2,008 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 77.1 · 2,055 reporting
  • Parkwood Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,233 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
576
Economically disadvantaged
81.7%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
52.3%+21.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
23.5%+4.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.6%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
22.4%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Parkwood Elem

African American: 4.3%Hispanic: 90.1%White: 5%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 0.3%
  • African American 4.3%
  • Hispanic 90.1%
  • White 5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 0.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,233 reporting for every category shown · 2,233 in full cohort

African American: 14.2%Hispanic: 69.5%White: 11.9%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.6%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.4%
  • African American 14.2%
  • Hispanic 69.5%
  • White 11.9%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
575
Economically disadvantaged students
470
Emergent bilingual students
301
Special education students
135

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
59
Students in TEA mobility denominator
408
TEA-published mobility rate
14.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 576 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 43 (6.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
576

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−43

Decrease · −6.9%

Change since 2021–22
−94

Decrease · −14.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
576
Selected comparison
621.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,204 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Parkwood Elem
School yearStudents enrolledParkwood ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 670 First available year 649.9
2022–23 648 Decrease of 22 (3.3%) 651.4
2023–24 611 Decrease of 37 (5.7%) 644.6
2024–25 619 Increase of 8 (1.3%) 640.9
2025–26 576 Decrease of 43 (6.9%) 621.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
672

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Parkwood Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 718 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 746 13 1.7% 19 2.55 13.0% 31.1
2022–23 703 Suppressed — 10 1.42 — 34.3
2023–24 690 Suppressed — 13 1.88 — 34.2
2024–25 672 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Parkwood Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$15k$22k20182020202220242025
  • Parkwood Elem
  • Parent district: Deer Park ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$14,503
Selected comparison
$13,136

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,217 rated schools reporting

+$1,367 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $14,503 per student for this campus, $19,681 per student for its parent district, Deer Park ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearParkwood ElemParent district: Deer Park ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$10,631$12,797$13,054$8,207 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,100 rated schools reporting
2019$10,570$15,220$13,108$8,305 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,127 rated schools reporting
2020$12,878$20,977$14,058$8,808 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,141 rated schools reporting
2021$12,276$15,778$14,797$9,479 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,150 rated schools reporting
2022$12,796$16,928$15,708$10,922 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,167 rated schools reporting
2023$13,490$18,514$16,792$11,457 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,186 rated schools reporting
2024$13,894$21,376$18,125$12,427 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,201 rated schools reporting
2025$14,503$19,681$18,972$13,136 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,217 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$72,769+$5,423 vs similar economic context
Teachers
53+10.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
10.9−3.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Parkwood Elem

1 to 5 years: 31.8%6 to 10 years: 16.8%11 to 20 years: 30.1%21 to 30 years: 17.6%Over 30 years: 3.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 31.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 16.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 30.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.6%
  • Over 30 years 3.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,233 reporting for every category shown · 2,233 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.9%1 to 5 years: 27.6%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 6.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Parkwood Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classParkwood Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1718
Grade 116.218.4
Grade 216.618.4

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 3 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101908106.