Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Odessa Kilpatrick Elem

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 933 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
94/1002025-26
Change
−1 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+4.4 ptsvs 89.6 average · 788 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
83 of 788tied with 70 others
A94

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 97 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 89.6 average for 788 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
83%vs 70.1% avg · +12.9 pts
Masters
60%vs 39.4% avg · +20.6 pts

Among 777 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
81%vs 65.7% avg · +15.3 pts
Masters
54%vs 34.3% avg · +19.7 pts

Among 775 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
88%vs 74.5% avg · +13.5 pts
Masters
68%vs 41.6% avg · +26.4 pts

Among 777 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Odessa Kilpatrick Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 89.6 average for 788 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.

Ranks 83rd of 788 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 70 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageOdessa Kilpatrick Elem 9594949594 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 97 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9489.6 788 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9589.8 783 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9488.6 766 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9489.1 749 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9590.0 734 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement95 A+4.5 vs similar economic context · 777 reporting
  • School Progress94 A+8.1 vs similar economic context · 775 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps92 A+5.0 vs similar economic context · 772 reporting
  • Academic Growth94 A+10.5 vs similar economic context · 766 reporting
  • Relative Performance91 A+11.6 vs similar economic context · 775 reporting
  • Odessa Kilpatrick Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (788 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement95A—
School Progress94A—
Closing the Gaps92A—
Academic Growth94A—
Relative Performance91A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (95), so School Progress (94) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 95.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level94%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 777 reporting
  • Meets grade level83%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 777 reporting
  • Masters grade level60%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 777 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level95%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 777 reporting
  • Meets grade level88%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 777 reporting
  • Masters grade level68%+26 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 777 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level93%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 775 reporting
  • Meets grade level81%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 775 reporting
  • Masters grade level54%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 775 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level94%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 720 reporting
  • Meets grade level76%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 720 reporting
  • Masters grade level52%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 720 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (788 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
933
Economically disadvantaged
20.3%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
40.7%+30.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
21.7%+5.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.9%+1.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
2.1%−6.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Odessa Kilpatrick Elem

African American: 3.7%Hispanic: 17.7%White: 30.4%Asian: 41.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 6.9%
  • African American 3.7%
  • Hispanic 17.7%
  • White 30.4%
  • Asian 41.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 6.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 788 reporting for every category shown · 788 in full cohort

African American: 7.6%Hispanic: 24.4%White: 48.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 13.8%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.4%
  • African American 7.6%
  • Hispanic 24.4%
  • White 48.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 13.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
931
Economically disadvantaged students
189
Emergent bilingual students
379
Special education students
202

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
45
Students in TEA mobility denominator
824
TEA-published mobility rate
5.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 933 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 35 (3.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
933

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−35

Decrease · −3.6%

Change since 2021–22
−111

Decrease · −10.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
933
Selected comparison
872.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 782 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Odessa Kilpatrick Elem
School yearStudents enrolledOdessa Kilpatrick ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,044 First available year 892.8
2022–23 1,041 Decrease of 3 (0.3%) 900.3
2023–24 1,033 Decrease of 8 (0.8%) 891.3
2024–25 968 Decrease of 65 (6.3%) 883.5
2025–26 933 Decrease of 35 (3.6%) 872.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,009

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Odessa Kilpatrick Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,133 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 1,121 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 1,092 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 1,065 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 1,009 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Odessa Kilpatrick Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Odessa Kilpatrick Elem
  • Parent district: Katy ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,801
Selected comparison
$11,061

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 782 rated schools reporting

−$260 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,801 per student for this campus, $17,981 per student for its parent district, Katy ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearOdessa Kilpatrick ElemParent district: Katy ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,866$14,611$13,054$7,381 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 687 rated schools reporting
2019$7,299$14,868$13,108$7,465 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 703 rated schools reporting
2020$7,537$15,576$14,058$7,768 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 714 rated schools reporting
2021$7,924$13,959$14,797$8,319 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 720 rated schools reporting
2022$9,505$15,755$15,708$9,408 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 734 rated schools reporting
2023$11,439$17,477$16,792$9,945 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 750 rated schools reporting
2024$9,477$16,789$18,125$10,904 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 766 rated schools reporting
2025$10,801$17,981$18,972$11,061 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 782 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$74,780+$5,858 vs similar economic context
Teachers
70+14.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.3−1.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Odessa Kilpatrick Elem

Beginning: 4%1 to 5 years: 20%6 to 10 years: 14%11 to 20 years: 36.1%21 to 30 years: 21.4%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 4%
  • 1 to 5 years 20%
  • 6 to 10 years 14%
  • 11 to 20 years 36.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 21.4%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 788 reporting for every category shown · 788 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.6%1 to 5 years: 22.8%6 to 10 years: 20%11 to 20 years: 32.5%21 to 30 years: 17.2%Over 30 years: 2.9%
  • Beginning 4.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 20%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.2%
  • Over 30 years 2.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Odessa Kilpatrick Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classOdessa Kilpatrick Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten20.518.8
Grade 119.819.1
Grade 228.619.7
Grade 324.221.2
Grade 428.220.4
Grade 530.721.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

14 measures

  • 14of 869

    Academic Growth

    Harris County · of the 869 that report this measure · tied with 15

  • 15of 874

    Reading — Masters

    Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure · tied with 6

  • 15of 870

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Harris County · of the 870 that report this measure

  • 29of 874

    All Subjects — Masters

    Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure

  • 31of 873

    Math — Masters

    Harris County · of the 873 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 32of 874

    Attendance

    Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 36of 874

    Reading — Meets

    Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure · tied with 7

  • 47of 873

    Math — Meets

    Harris County · of the 873 that report this measure · tied with 4

  • 48of 874

    All Subjects — Meets

    Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure · tied with 4

  • 54of 1,242

    Student Achievement

    Region 04: Houston · of the 1,242 that report this measure · tied with 24

  • 56of 2,937

    School Progress

    Similar size · of the 2,937 that report this measure · tied with 57

  • 61of 1,242

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Region 04: Houston · of the 1,242 that report this measure · tied with 23

  • 95of 2,937

    Reading — Approaches

    Similar size · of the 2,937 that report this measure · tied with 55

  • 103of 2,937

    Math — Approaches

    Similar size · of the 2,937 that report this measure · tied with 46

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101914122.