Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Nimitz HS

Dallas County · Region 10: Richardson · 2,253 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
88/1002025-26
Change
+19 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+10.5 ptsvs 77.5 average · 2,206 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
341 of 2,206tied with 45 others
B88

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 75 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.5 average for 2,206 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 5 points

83 to 88 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 88 is 10.5 points above the 77.5 average among 2,206 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 11 points

74 to 85 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 85 is 10.3 points above the 74.7 average among 2,019 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 37.2% avg · +17.8 pts
Masters
18%vs 15.4% avg · +2.6 pts

Among 1,887 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Nimitz HS is rated B by TEA, scoring 88 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.5 average for 2,206 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 19 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 341st of 2,206 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 45 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageNimitz HS 6971858388 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 75 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8877.5 2,206 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8377.2 2,192 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8574.7 2,178 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7175.1 2,161 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6981.6 2,141 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement83 B+10.8 vs similar economic context · 2,040 reporting
  • School Progress89 B+10.2 vs similar economic context · 2,033 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps85 B+10.3 vs similar economic context · 2,019 reporting
  • Academic Growth69 D−3.2 vs similar economic context · 1,989 reporting
  • Relative Performance89 B+11.9 vs similar economic context · 2,033 reporting
  • Nimitz HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,206 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement83B7
School Progress89B1
Closing the Gaps85B5
Academic Growth69D1
Relative Performance89B1

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 1 point below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (89), so Student Achievement (83) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 89.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level77%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,040 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,040 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,040 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,038 reporting
  • Meets grade level42%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,038 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,038 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,028 reporting
  • Meets grade level27%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,028 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,028 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level91%+25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 810 reporting
  • Meets grade level64%+26 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 810 reporting
  • Masters grade level29%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 810 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,206 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
93.8%+1.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 328 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
95.3%+3.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 329 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
95.9%+4.6 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 329 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
1.1%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 330 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
99.0%+14.3 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria99.0%84.7%+14.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course94.2%57.0%+37.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA14.1%22.9%−8.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)19.2%11.9%+7.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course8.3%30.3%−22.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification48.3%35.4%+12.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%2.7%−2.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%6.9%−6.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.2%5.4%−5.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness3.4%3.2%+0.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student4.3%8.1%−3.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces2.9%2.7%+0.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
520

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
209

40.2% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
200

38.5% of graduates

Not trackable
111

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
520
Selected comparison
264.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 325 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
209
Selected comparison
108.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 325 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
40.2%
Selected comparison
40.6%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 325 rated schools reporting

−0.4 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
38.5%
Selected comparison
53.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 325 rated schools reporting

−14.8 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
21.3%
Selected comparison
6.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 325 rated schools reporting

+15.2 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. DALLAS COLLEGE DISTRICT (009331)112
  2. U. OF TEXAS AT ARLINGTON (003656)36
  3. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH TEXAS (003594)17

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
2,253
Economically disadvantaged
80.6%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
46.9%+17.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
10.7%−7.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.3%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
22.9%+2.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Nimitz HS

African American: 4.5%Hispanic: 82%White: 8.1%American Indian: 3.1%Asian: 1.6%Two or More Races: 0.7%
  • African American 4.5%
  • Hispanic 82%
  • White 8.1%
  • American Indian 3.1%
  • Asian 1.6%
  • Two or More Races 0.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,206 reporting for every category shown · 2,206 in full cohort

African American: 14%Hispanic: 68.4%White: 13%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.7%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.5%
  • African American 14%
  • Hispanic 68.4%
  • White 13%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
2,253
Economically disadvantaged students
1,816
Emergent bilingual students
1,057
Special education students
240

Early college pathways

Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
241

TEA-published share: 10.7%

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
312
Students in TEA mobility denominator
2,492
TEA-published mobility rate
12.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 2,253 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 90 (3.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
2,253

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−90

Decrease · −3.8%

Change since 2021–22
−224

Decrease · −9.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
2,253
Selected comparison
626.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,176 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Nimitz HS
School yearStudents enrolledNimitz HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 2,477 First available year 652.1
2022–23 2,361 Decrease of 116 (4.7%) 655
2023–24 2,379 Increase of 18 (0.8%) 649.2
2024–25 2,343 Decrease of 36 (1.5%) 645.6
2025–26 2,253 Decrease of 90 (3.8%) 626.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
221

9.0% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
497

20.34 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
2,444

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
9.0%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,619 rated schools reporting

−4.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
20.34
Selected comparison
32.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,727 rated schools reporting

−11.8 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Nimitz HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 2,587 135 5.2% 225 8.70 8.4% 16.7
2021–22 2,580 377 14.6% 995 38.57 12.9% 30.8
2022–23 2,460 358 14.6% 851 34.59 13.7% 33.9
2023–24 2,524 343 13.6% 992 39.30 13.7% 33.9
2024–25 2,444 221 9.0% 497 20.34 13.3% 32.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Nimitz HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 221 9.0% 497 20.34 13.3% 32.1
In-school suspensions 200 8.2% 282 11.54 11.7% 23.2
Out-of-school suspensions 108 4.4% 140 5.73 8.2% 13
DAEP placements 38 1.6% 43 1.76 5.4% 6.5
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$14k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Nimitz HS
  • Parent district: Irving ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,317
Selected comparison
$13,044

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,191 rated schools reporting

−$3,727 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,317 per student for this campus, $19,291 per student for its parent district, Irving ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearNimitz HSParent district: Irving ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,160$11,547$13,054$8,153 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 rated schools reporting
2019$8,098$12,568$13,108$8,274 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,097 rated schools reporting
2020$8,434$12,056$14,058$8,784 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,113 rated schools reporting
2021$8,259$13,237$14,797$9,436 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,124 rated schools reporting
2022$8,306$14,053$15,708$10,867 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,142 rated schools reporting
2023$9,150$14,704$16,792$11,377 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,161 rated schools reporting
2024$9,272$16,256$18,125$12,287 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,177 rated schools reporting
2025$9,317$19,291$18,972$13,044 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,191 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$68,167+$1,009 vs similar economic context
Teachers
142+99.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.8+1.5 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Nimitz HS

Beginning: 10.2%1 to 5 years: 27.4%6 to 10 years: 18.7%11 to 20 years: 33.3%21 to 30 years: 8.9%Over 30 years: 1.4%
  • Beginning 10.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 33.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 8.9%
  • Over 30 years 1.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,206 reporting for every category shown · 2,206 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.8%1 to 5 years: 27.7%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 6.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Nimitz HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classNimitz HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English18.315.3
Secondary languages other than English2218.3
Secondary math17.916.5
Secondary science22.817.7
Secondary social studies23.617.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 7of 461

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course

    Similar size · of the 461 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057912004.