Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Mission Academy

Bexar County · Region 20: San Antonio · 505 students

Current score
78/1002025-26
Change
−5 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−0.2 ptsvs 78.2 average · 2,087 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,114 of 2,087tied with 80 others
C78

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 81 in 2021-22. The current score is level with the 78.2 average for 2,087 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 48.2% avg · +6.8 pts
Masters
24%vs 19% avg · +5 pts

Among 1,931 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
47%vs 39.3% avg · +7.7 pts
Masters
22%vs 16.6% avg · +5.4 pts

Among 1,783 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Mission Academy is rated C by TEA, scoring 78 out of 100 for 2025-26 — level with the 78.2 average for 2,087 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 5 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,114th of 2,087 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 80 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMission Academy 8379758378 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 81 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7878.2 2,087 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8377.8 2,076 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7575.4 2,064 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7975.9 2,041 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8381.8 2,022 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C−1.6 vs similar economic context · 1,933 reporting
  • School Progress79 C−0.4 vs similar economic context · 1,928 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps76 C+0.6 vs similar economic context · 1,914 reporting
  • Academic Growth71 C−1.5 vs similar economic context · 1,878 reporting
  • Relative Performance79 C+1.2 vs similar economic context · 1,928 reporting
  • Mission Academy
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,087 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress79C1
Closing the Gaps76C4
Academic Growth71C9
Relative Performance79C1

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (79), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 79.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level70%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level75%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,931 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,931 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,931 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level68%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,923 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,923 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,923 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,783 reporting
  • Meets grade level47%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,783 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,783 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level42%−27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 809 reporting
  • Meets grade level16%−25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 809 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 809 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,087 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
505
Economically disadvantaged
76.8%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
5.1%−20.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
27.5%+8.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
91.9%−1.7 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
28.4%+9.0 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Mission Academy

African American: 3.6%Hispanic: 91.9%White: 3%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.6%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 0.6%
  • African American 3.6%
  • Hispanic 91.9%
  • White 3%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 0.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,087 reporting for every category shown · 2,087 in full cohort

African American: 13.6%Hispanic: 64.1%White: 17.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.8%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.9%
  • African American 13.6%
  • Hispanic 64.1%
  • White 17.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.9%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
505
Economically disadvantaged students
388
Emergent bilingual students
26
Special education students
139

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
64
Students in TEA mobility denominator
480
TEA-published mobility rate
13.3%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 505 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 19 (3.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
505

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−19

Decrease · −3.6%

Change since 2021–22
+28

Increase · +5.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
505
Selected comparison
640.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,060 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Mission Academy
School yearStudents enrolledMission AcademyChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 477 First available year 658.4
2022–23 475 Decrease of 2 (0.4%) 661.3
2023–24 481 Increase of 6 (1.3%) 658.3
2024–25 524 Increase of 43 (8.9%) 657
2025–26 505 Decrease of 19 (3.6%) 640.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
42

7.3% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
69

12.06 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
572

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
7.3%
Selected comparison
13.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,571 rated schools reporting

−5.9 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
12.06
Selected comparison
31.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,673 rated schools reporting

−19.8 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Mission Academy
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 519 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 520 16 3.1% 22 4.23 12.8% 30.8
2022–23 514 25 4.9% 38 7.39 13.6% 33.6
2023–24 537 25 4.7% 44 8.19 13.5% 33.5
2024–25 572 42 7.3% 69 12.06 13.2% 31.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Mission Academy in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 42 7.3% 69 12.06 13.2% 31.9
In-school suspensions 20 3.5% 24 4.20 11.7% 23.3
Out-of-school suspensions 27 4.7% 35 6.12 7.9% 12.3
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$15k$24k20182020202220242025
  • Mission Academy
  • Parent district: San Antonio ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$13,173
Selected comparison
$13,000

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 rated schools reporting

+$173 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $13,173 per student for this campus, $22,411 per student for its parent district, San Antonio ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMission AcademyParent district: San Antonio ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$9,125$13,895$13,054$8,051 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,953 rated schools reporting
2019$9,044$15,168$13,108$8,203 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 rated schools reporting
2020$8,643$19,020$14,058$8,736 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,992 rated schools reporting
2021$9,577$18,196$14,797$9,316 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,004 rated schools reporting
2022$11,372$18,722$15,708$10,660 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,022 rated schools reporting
2023$11,221$18,189$16,792$11,279 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,041 rated schools reporting
2024$14,173$21,627$18,125$12,259 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,062 rated schools reporting
2025$13,173$22,411$18,972$13,000 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$66,688−$77 vs similar economic context
Teachers
40−3.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.6−1.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Mission Academy

Beginning: 12.5%1 to 5 years: 22.4%6 to 10 years: 20%11 to 20 years: 34.9%21 to 30 years: 7.7%Over 30 years: 2.5%
  • Beginning 12.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 20%
  • 11 to 20 years 34.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 7.7%
  • Over 30 years 2.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,087 reporting for every category shown · 2,087 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.8%1 to 5 years: 27.5%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.7%
  • Beginning 6.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.7%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Mission Academy in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMission Academy · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten18.118
Grade 116.818.3
Grade 218.118.4
Grade 320.518.8
Grade 422.319
Grade 529.820
Grade 622.418
Secondary English9.215.5
Secondary languages other than English1418.3
Secondary math14.316.5
Secondary science21.817.8
Secondary social studies21.817.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 12 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 015907210.