Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Mireles Elem

Bexar County · Region 20: San Antonio · 720 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
84/1002025-26
Change
−6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−3.3 ptsvs 87.3 average · 1,026 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
727 of 1,026tied with 38 others
B84

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 88 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 87.3 average for 1,026 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 11 points

76 to 87 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 87 is 2.3 points above the 84.7 average among 998 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Mireles Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 84 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 87.3 average for 1,026 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 727th of 1,026 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 38 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMireles Elem 9084807784 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 88 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8487.3 1,026 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7787.1 1,007 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8085.8 993 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8486.2 977 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9087.4 963 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement82 B−5.9 vs similar economic context · 1,007 reporting
  • School Progress82 B−2.2 vs similar economic context · 1,005 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps87 B+2.3 vs similar economic context · 998 reporting
  • Academic Growth82 B+1.8 vs similar economic context · 987 reporting
  • Relative Performance69 D−10.9 vs similar economic context · 1,005 reporting
  • Mireles Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,026 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement82B8
School Progress82B8
Closing the Gaps87B3
Academic Growth82B8
Relative Performance69D1

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 3 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level79%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,007 reporting
  • Meets grade level57%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,007 reporting
  • Masters grade level26%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,007 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,006 reporting
  • Meets grade level66%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,006 reporting
  • Masters grade level33%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,006 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,004 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,004 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,004 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level60%−25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 918 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 918 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 918 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,026 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
720
Economically disadvantaged
30.3%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
12.3%+2.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
23.5%+6.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.6%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
11.7%+0.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Mireles Elem

African American: 9.8%Hispanic: 48.4%White: 25.2%American Indian: 0.1%Asian: 8%Pacific Islander: 0.3%Two or More Races: 8.3%
  • African American 9.8%
  • Hispanic 48.4%
  • White 25.2%
  • American Indian 0.1%
  • Asian 8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 8.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,026 reporting for every category shown · 1,026 in full cohort

African American: 9.1%Hispanic: 30%White: 48%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 7.6%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4.9%
  • African American 9.1%
  • Hispanic 30%
  • White 48%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 7.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.9%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
715
Economically disadvantaged students
217
Emergent bilingual students
88
Special education students
168

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
67
Students in TEA mobility denominator
670
TEA-published mobility rate
10%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 720 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 69 (8.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
720

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−69

Decrease · −8.7%

Change since 2021–22
−215

Decrease · −23.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
720
Selected comparison
794.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,015 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Mireles Elem
School yearStudents enrolledMireles ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 935 First available year 808.2
2022–23 928 Decrease of 7 (0.7%) 810.6
2023–24 848 Decrease of 80 (8.6%) 806.9
2024–25 789 Decrease of 59 (7.0%) 803.6
2025–26 720 Decrease of 69 (8.7%) 794.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
18

2.19 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
821

2024–25

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
2.19
Selected comparison
18.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 857 rated schools reporting

−15.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Mireles Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,002 Suppressed — 10 1.00 — 12.9
2021–22 1,023 16 1.6% 34 3.32 9.4% 19
2022–23 991 14 1.4% 28 2.83 9.6% 19.7
2023–24 879 11 1.3% 17 1.93 9.2% 19.4
2024–25 821 Suppressed — 18 2.19 — 18.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Mireles Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — 18 2.19 — 18.1
In-school suspensions Suppressed — 15 1.83 — 14.1
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Mireles Elem
  • Parent district: Northside ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,434
Selected comparison
$11,718

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,006 rated schools reporting

−$1,284 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,434 per student for this campus, $17,197 per student for its parent district, Northside ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMireles ElemParent district: Northside ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,389$12,117$13,054$7,646 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 909 rated schools reporting
2019$6,525$12,287$13,108$7,769 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 922 rated schools reporting
2020$6,810$13,205$14,058$8,111 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 933 rated schools reporting
2021$7,326$14,126$14,797$8,528 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 944 rated schools reporting
2022$8,332$14,599$15,708$9,766 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 962 rated schools reporting
2023$8,228$15,840$16,792$10,322 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 978 rated schools reporting
2024$10,096$17,624$18,125$11,473 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 992 rated schools reporting
2025$10,434$17,197$18,972$11,718 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,006 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$68,232−$6 vs similar economic context
Teachers
53+1.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.5−1.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Mireles Elem

Beginning: 3.8%1 to 5 years: 24.5%6 to 10 years: 26.4%11 to 20 years: 37.7%21 to 30 years: 5.7%Over 30 years: 1.9%
  • Beginning 3.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 26.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 37.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 5.7%
  • Over 30 years 1.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,026 reporting for every category shown · 1,026 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.8%1 to 5 years: 22.5%6 to 10 years: 19.7%11 to 20 years: 32.3%21 to 30 years: 17.3%Over 30 years: 3.2%
  • Beginning 4.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.3%
  • Over 30 years 3.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Mireles Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMireles Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten19.718.5
Grade 120.819
Grade 220.319.6
Grade 32020.4
Grade 42320
Grade 52221.5

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 015915195.