Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Millsap Elem

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 800 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
83/1002025-26
Change
−7 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+3.8 ptsvs 79.2 average · 2,029 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
745 of 2,029tied with 76 others
B83

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 89 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.2 average for 2,029 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
52%vs 46.4% avg · +5.6 pts
Masters
25%vs 18.6% avg · +6.4 pts

Among 1,913 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
48%vs 40.9% avg · +7.1 pts
Masters
21%vs 15.6% avg · +5.4 pts

Among 1,903 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
61%vs 51.2% avg · +9.8 pts
Masters
32%vs 20.2% avg · +11.8 pts

Among 1,911 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Millsap Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 83 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.2 average for 2,029 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 7 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 745th of 2,029 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 76 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMillsap Elem 9079798683 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 89 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8379.2 2,029 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8679.0 2,009 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7976.9 1,993 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7977.4 1,964 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9082.0 1,944 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement77 C+0.7 vs similar economic context · 1,913 reporting
  • School Progress83 B+2.7 vs similar economic context · 1,906 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps83 B+6.5 vs similar economic context · 1,893 reporting
  • Academic Growth81 B+7.6 vs similar economic context · 1,845 reporting
  • Relative Performance83 B+4.4 vs similar economic context · 1,906 reporting
  • Millsap Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,029 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement77C3
School Progress83B7
Closing the Gaps83B7
Academic Growth81B9
Relative Performance83B7

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 7 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (83), so Student Achievement (77) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 83.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level74%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,913 reporting
  • Meets grade level52%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,913 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,913 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,911 reporting
  • Meets grade level61%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,911 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,911 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,903 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,903 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,903 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,760 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,760 reporting
  • Masters grade level17%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,760 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,029 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
800
Economically disadvantaged
69.2%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
30.8%+10.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.5%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.1%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
13.8%−3.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Millsap Elem

African American: 15.7%Hispanic: 55.3%White: 22.2%Asian: 2.1%Two or More Races: 4.8%
  • African American 15.7%
  • Hispanic 55.3%
  • White 22.2%
  • Asian 2.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,029 reporting for every category shown · 2,029 in full cohort

African American: 12.2%Hispanic: 56%White: 25.7%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.1%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.5%
  • African American 12.2%
  • Hispanic 56%
  • White 25.7%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
798
Economically disadvantaged students
552
Emergent bilingual students
246
Special education students
148

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
124
Students in TEA mobility denominator
747
TEA-published mobility rate
16.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 800 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 99 (11.0%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
800

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−99

Decrease · −11.0%

Change since 2021–22
−25

Decrease · −3.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
800
Selected comparison
640.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,991 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Millsap Elem
School yearStudents enrolledMillsap ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 825 First available year 653.9
2022–23 866 Increase of 41 (5.0%) 661
2023–24 907 Increase of 41 (4.7%) 659.4
2024–25 899 Decrease of 8 (0.9%) 657
2025–26 800 Decrease of 99 (11.0%) 640.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
79

8.1% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
156

15.95 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
978

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
8.1%
Selected comparison
12.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,552 rated schools reporting

−4.8 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
15.95
Selected comparison
30.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,664 rated schools reporting

−14.8 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Millsap Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 859 22 2.6% 30 3.49 9.6% 19.1
2021–22 927 43 4.6% 61 6.58 12.9% 30.2
2022–23 964 56 5.8% 126 13.07 13.4% 32.2
2023–24 1,020 81 7.9% 153 15.00 13.3% 32.2
2024–25 978 79 8.1% 156 15.95 12.9% 30.7
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Millsap Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 79 8.1% 156 15.95 12.9% 30.7
In-school suspensions 78 8.0% 149 15.24 11.6% 23.4
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Millsap Elem
  • Parent district: Cypress-Fairbanks ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,269
Selected comparison
$13,156

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,008 rated schools reporting

−$4,887 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,269 per student for this campus, $16,633 per student for its parent district, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMillsap ElemParent district: Cypress-Fairbanks ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,876$12,265$13,054$8,004 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,871 rated schools reporting
2019$6,903$12,730$13,108$8,167 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 rated schools reporting
2020$6,516$12,750$14,058$8,722 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 rated schools reporting
2021$7,622$14,470$14,797$9,218 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,922 rated schools reporting
2022$7,587$15,507$15,708$10,471 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,945 rated schools reporting
2023$8,096$15,990$16,792$11,122 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,966 rated schools reporting
2024$8,400$16,047$18,125$12,353 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,992 rated schools reporting
2025$8,269$16,633$18,972$13,156 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,008 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$72,185+$5,738 vs similar economic context
Teachers
57+13.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.1+0.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Millsap Elem

Beginning: 12.4%1 to 5 years: 27.6%6 to 10 years: 28.3%11 to 20 years: 19.4%21 to 30 years: 8.8%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 12.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 28.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 19.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 8.8%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,029 reporting for every category shown · 2,029 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.4%1 to 5 years: 26.8%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.6%21 to 30 years: 15.5%Over 30 years: 4%
  • Beginning 6.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.5%
  • Over 30 years 4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Millsap Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMillsap Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten19.418
Grade 118.918.2
Grade 21918.4
Grade 320.418.6
Grade 420.918.9
Grade 521.419.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101907110.