Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Memorial HS

Hidalgo County · Region 01: Edinburg · 2,022 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
91/1002025-26
Change
+5 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+11.0 ptsvs 80 average · 2,004 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
195 of 2,004tied with 86 others
A91

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 86 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 80 average for 2,004 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
61%vs 48.3% avg · +12.7 pts
Masters
22%vs 19.7% avg · +2.3 pts

Among 1,902 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
52%vs 42.6% avg · +9.4 pts
Masters
18%vs 16.4% avg · +1.6 pts

Among 1,889 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Memorial HS is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80 average for 2,004 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 5 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 195th of 2,004 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 86 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMemorial HS 8687899091 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 86 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9180.0 2,004 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9079.8 1,979 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8977.9 1,959 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8778.4 1,926 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8682.2 1,902 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement92 A+14.0 vs similar economic context · 1,902 reporting
  • School Progress92 A+11.1 vs similar economic context · 1,894 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps89 B+11.7 vs similar economic context · 1,875 reporting
  • Academic Growth75 C+1.0 vs similar economic context · 1,837 reporting
  • Relative Performance92 A+12.8 vs similar economic context · 1,894 reporting
  • Memorial HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,004 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement92A—
School Progress92A—
Closing the Gaps89B1
Academic Growth75C5
Relative Performance92A—

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 1 point below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level86%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 reporting
  • Meets grade level61%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%±0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,898 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,898 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,898 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,889 reporting
  • Meets grade level52%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,889 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,889 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level96%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,737 reporting
  • Meets grade level69%+23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,737 reporting
  • Masters grade level33%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,737 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level94%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 943 reporting
  • Meets grade level70%+24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 943 reporting
  • Masters grade level33%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 943 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,004 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
99.8%+5.7 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 464 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
99.8%+6.1 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 460 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
100.0%+7.0 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 461 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 466 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
94.0%+6.1 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria94.0%87.9%+6.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 499 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course64.5%59.6%+4.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA62.3%27.8%+34.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)39.2%10.6%+28.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course1.9%33.8%−31.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification67.1%38.4%+28.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.4%1.7%−1.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.6%6.6%−6.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit13.0%3.6%+9.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness1.1%3.3%−2.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student8.7%8.0%+0.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces1.3%3.3%−2.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
511

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
312

61.1% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
168

32.9% of graduates

Not trackable
31

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
511
Selected comparison
232.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 399 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
312
Selected comparison
104.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 399 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
61.1%
Selected comparison
44.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 399 rated schools reporting

+16.8 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
32.9%
Selected comparison
50.6%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 399 rated schools reporting

−17.7 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
6.1%
Selected comparison
5.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 399 rated schools reporting

+1.0 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. U. OF TEXAS-RIO GRANDE VALLEY (003599)123
  2. SOUTH TEXAS COLLEGE (031034)99
  3. TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY (003632)19

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
2,022
Economically disadvantaged
63.8%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
28.8%+11.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
13.8%−5.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.3%−1.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
27.3%+10.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Memorial HS

African American: 0.5%Hispanic: 94.1%White: 3.3%American Indian: 0.1%Asian: 1.6%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 0.2%
  • African American 0.5%
  • Hispanic 94.1%
  • White 3.3%
  • American Indian 0.1%
  • Asian 1.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 0.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,004 reporting for every category shown · 2,004 in full cohort

African American: 11%Hispanic: 51%White: 31.5%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 11%
  • Hispanic 51%
  • White 31.5%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
2,022
Economically disadvantaged students
1,290
Emergent bilingual students
582
Special education students
279

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
321
Students in TEA mobility denominator
2,166
TEA-published mobility rate
14.8%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 2,022 students in 2025–26, an increase of 1 (less than 0.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
2,022

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+1

Increase · less than 0.1%

Change since 2021–22
−116

Decrease · −5.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
2,022
Selected comparison
622

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,968 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Memorial HS
School yearStudents enrolledMemorial HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 2,138 First available year 636.6
2022–23 2,080 Decrease of 58 (2.7%) 643.1
2023–24 2,060 Decrease of 20 (1.0%) 639.9
2024–25 2,021 Decrease of 39 (1.9%) 634.9
2025–26 2,022 Increase of 1 (less than 0.1%) 622

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
313

14.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
736

34.49 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
2,134

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
14.7%
Selected comparison
12.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,539 rated schools reporting

+1.8 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
34.49
Selected comparison
30.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,658 rated schools reporting

+4.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Memorial HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 2,220 24 1.1% 48 2.16 9.8% 19.4
2021–22 2,226 245 11.0% 574 25.79 12.8% 29.7
2022–23 2,177 212 9.7% 512 23.52 13.3% 31.9
2023–24 2,150 263 12.2% 762 35.44 13.1% 31.6
2024–25 2,134 313 14.7% 736 34.49 12.9% 30.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Memorial HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 313 14.7% 736 34.49 12.9% 30.1
In-school suspensions 226 10.6% 405 18.98 11.6% 23.1
Out-of-school suspensions 149 7.0% 204 9.56 7.1% 10.5
DAEP placements 100 4.7% 125 5.86 5.0% 6
Mandatory DAEP placements 74 3.5% 81 3.80 3.5% 4.1
Discretionary DAEP placements 33 1.6% 44 2.06 2.8% 3.3
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Memorial HS
  • Parent district: McAllen ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,614
Selected comparison
$12,656

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,975 rated schools reporting

−$1,042 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,614 per student for this campus, $15,430 per student for its parent district, McAllen ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMemorial HSParent district: McAllen ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,221$10,890$13,054$7,922 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,829 rated schools reporting
2019$8,691$11,137$13,108$8,078 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,845 rated schools reporting
2020$10,041$12,367$14,058$8,665 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,868 rated schools reporting
2021$9,207$13,231$14,797$9,092 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,881 rated schools reporting
2022$13,135$15,975$15,708$10,433 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,903 rated schools reporting
2023$11,253$16,184$16,792$11,139 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,926 rated schools reporting
2024$11,405$16,737$18,125$12,058 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,955 rated schools reporting
2025$11,614$15,430$18,972$12,656 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,975 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$66,268−$121 vs similar economic context
Teachers
154+111.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.1−0.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Memorial HS

Beginning: 5.2%1 to 5 years: 17.1%6 to 10 years: 14.6%11 to 20 years: 34.3%21 to 30 years: 21.2%Over 30 years: 7.6%
  • Beginning 5.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 17.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 14.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 34.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 21.2%
  • Over 30 years 7.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,004 reporting for every category shown · 2,004 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.2%1 to 5 years: 26.2%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 28%21 to 30 years: 15.9%Over 30 years: 4.2%
  • Beginning 6.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 28%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.9%
  • Over 30 years 4.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Memorial HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMemorial HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English14.815.1
Secondary languages other than English14.817.5
Secondary math18.615.9
Secondary science16.517.3
Secondary social studies18.217.2

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

6 measures

  • 6of 42

    Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit

    Hidalgo County · of the 42 that report this measure

  • 8of 469

    Four-Year Graduation Rate

    Similar size (standard accountability only) · of the 469 that report this measure · tied with 5

  • 8of 42

    Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)

    Hidalgo County · of the 42 that report this measure

  • 10of 42

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA

    Hidalgo County · of the 42 that report this measure

  • 10of 42

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Hidalgo County · of the 42 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 10of 38

    Five-Year Graduation Rate

    Hidalgo County (standard accountability only) · of the 38 that report this measure · tied with 1

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

3 measures

  • 14of 239

    Science — Approaches

    Hidalgo County · of the 239 that report this measure

  • 21of 461

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Similar size · of the 461 that report this measure

  • 104of 1,889

    Math — Approaches

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,889 that report this measure · tied with 24

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 108906002.