Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

McKinney HS

Collin County · Region 10: Richardson · 2,527 students

Current score
93/1002025-26
Change
+13 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+9.0 ptsvs 84 average · 1,414 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
117 of 1,414tied with 51 others
A93

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 90 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 84 average for 1,414 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 2 points

91 to 93 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 93 is 9 points above the 84 average among 1,414 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Student Achievement rose 3 points

90 to 93 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 93 is 8.6 points above the 84.4 average among 1,373 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
72%vs 56.5% avg · +15.5 pts
Masters
34%vs 28.4% avg · +5.6 pts

Among 1,267 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

McKinney HS is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 84 average for 1,414 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 13 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 117th of 1,414 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 51 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMcKinney HS 8079769193 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 90 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9384.0 1,414 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9184.2 1,383 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7682.5 1,362 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7983.1 1,347 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8085.0 1,326 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement93 A+8.6 vs similar economic context · 1,373 reporting
  • School Progress91 A+8.7 vs similar economic context · 1,369 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps94 A+12.7 vs similar economic context · 1,359 reporting
  • Academic Growth77 C−0.5 vs similar economic context · 1,345 reporting
  • Relative Performance91 A+11.6 vs similar economic context · 1,369 reporting
  • McKinney HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,414 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement93A—
School Progress91A—
Closing the Gaps94A—
Academic Growth77C3
Relative Performance91A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (93), so School Progress (91) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 93.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level86%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,373 reporting
  • Meets grade level64%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,373 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,373 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,372 reporting
  • Meets grade level61%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,372 reporting
  • Masters grade level17%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,372 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level89%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,367 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,367 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,367 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level95%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,267 reporting
  • Meets grade level72%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,267 reporting
  • Masters grade level34%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,267 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level94%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 711 reporting
  • Meets grade level73%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 711 reporting
  • Masters grade level45%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 711 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,414 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
99.5%+6.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 393 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
98.4%+5.1 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 391 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
97.4%+5.0 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 391 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 393 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
97.0%+8.8 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria97.0%88.2%+8.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course91.4%59.6%+31.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA38.2%33.5%+4.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)33.9%13.3%+20.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course21.7%36.2%−14.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification5.0%37.8%−32.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%1.4%−1.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%4.2%−4.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%5.8%−5.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness1.2%2.9%−1.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student8.7%7.3%+1.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces1.8%3.3%−1.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
691

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
235

34.0% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
302

43.7% of graduates

Not trackable
154

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
691
Selected comparison
237.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 341 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
235
Selected comparison
107.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 341 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
34.0%
Selected comparison
47.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 341 rated schools reporting

−13.7 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
43.7%
Selected comparison
47.6%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 341 rated schools reporting

−3.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
22.3%
Selected comparison
4.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 341 rated schools reporting

+17.6 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. COLLIN CO COMM COLL DISTRICT (023614)96
  2. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH TEXAS (003594)23
  3. TEXAS STATE UNIVERSITY (003615)12

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
2,527
Economically disadvantaged
41.0%−1.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
12.9%+1.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.0%−4.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.2%−1.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
22.0%+9.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

McKinney HS

African American: 18.1%Hispanic: 34.3%White: 37.7%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 5.4%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4%
  • African American 18.1%
  • Hispanic 34.3%
  • White 37.7%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 5.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,414 reporting for every category shown · 1,414 in full cohort

African American: 9.3%Hispanic: 36.1%White: 45.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 4.4%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.4%
  • African American 9.3%
  • Hispanic 36.1%
  • White 45.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 4.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
2,521
Economically disadvantaged students
1,033
Emergent bilingual students
325
Special education students
354

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
351
Students in TEA mobility denominator
2,845
TEA-published mobility rate
12.3%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 2,527 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 141 (5.3%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
2,527

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−141

Decrease · −5.3%

Change since 2021–22
−430

Decrease · −14.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
2,527
Selected comparison
703.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,382 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for McKinney HS
School yearStudents enrolledMcKinney HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 2,957 First available year 701.7
2022–23 2,918 Decrease of 39 (1.3%) 708.8
2023–24 2,804 Decrease of 114 (3.9%) 709.8
2024–25 2,668 Decrease of 136 (4.9%) 706.9
2025–26 2,527 Decrease of 141 (5.3%) 703.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
442

15.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
1,315

46.81 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
2,809

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
15.7%
Selected comparison
10.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,096 rated schools reporting

+4.9 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
46.81
Selected comparison
23.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,178 rated schools reporting

+23.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for McKinney HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 3,132 242 7.7% 633 20.21 9.1% 17.1
2021–22 3,116 397 12.7% 1,013 32.51 11.0% 23.4
2022–23 3,073 415 13.5% 1,213 39.47 11.4% 24.8
2023–24 2,976 518 17.4% 1,472 49.46 11.2% 25.1
2024–25 2,809 442 15.7% 1,315 46.81 10.8% 23.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for McKinney HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 442 15.7% 1,315 46.81 10.8% 23.5
In-school suspensions 382 13.6% 778 27.70 9.7% 18
Out-of-school suspensions 187 6.7% 331 11.78 5.3% 7.4
DAEP placements 117 4.2% 138 4.91 4.0% 4.8
Mandatory DAEP placements 88 3.1% 98 3.49 3.2% 3.7
Discretionary DAEP placements 37 1.3% 40 1.42 2.2% 2.6
JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • McKinney HS
  • Parent district: McKinney ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,926
Selected comparison
$11,964

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,384 rated schools reporting

−$3,038 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,926 per student for this campus, $19,167 per student for its parent district, McKinney ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMcKinney HSParent district: McKinney ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,120$15,035$13,054$7,808 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,267 rated schools reporting
2019$7,057$14,139$13,108$8,016 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,286 rated schools reporting
2020$6,891$13,857$14,058$8,389 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,294 rated schools reporting
2021$7,280$14,616$14,797$8,791 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,312 rated schools reporting
2022$7,818$15,658$15,708$10,117 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,327 rated schools reporting
2023$7,835$17,299$16,792$10,598 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,347 rated schools reporting
2024$8,316$17,901$18,125$11,692 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,363 rated schools reporting
2025$8,926$19,167$18,972$11,964 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,384 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$72,581+$5,220 vs similar economic context
Teachers
158+112.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.9+1.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

McKinney HS

Beginning: 5.3%1 to 5 years: 26.4%6 to 10 years: 25.6%11 to 20 years: 24.6%21 to 30 years: 15.5%Over 30 years: 2.5%
  • Beginning 5.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 25.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 24.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.5%
  • Over 30 years 2.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,414 reporting for every category shown · 1,414 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.3%1 to 5 years: 23.5%6 to 10 years: 19.5%11 to 20 years: 30.7%21 to 30 years: 17%Over 30 years: 3.8%
  • Beginning 5.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 30.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 17%
  • Over 30 years 3.8%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for McKinney HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMcKinney HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English18.315.7
Secondary languages other than English19.818
Secondary math23.316.6
Secondary science22.918
Secondary social studies22.318

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 3of 35

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Collin County · of the 35 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 5of 35

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course

    Collin County · of the 35 that report this measure

  • 6of 35

    College, career or military ready

    Collin County · of the 35 that report this measure · tied with 2

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

2 measures

  • 22of 443

    Four-Year Graduation Rate

    Similar size (standard accountability only) · of the 443 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 339of 7,185

    Closing the Gaps

    Texas average · of the 7,185 that report this measure · tied with 136 · full ranking

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 043907002.