Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

McElwain Elem

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 1,210 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
73/1002025-26
Change
−8 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−9.6 ptsvs 82.6 average · 1,581 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,354 of 1,581tied with 38 others
C73

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 81 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 82.6 average for 1,581 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

7.2% −6.5 pts vs 13.7%

  • 7.2% is 6.5 percentage points lower than the 13.7% average among 1,536 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Attendance above the similar-context average

96% +1.3 pts vs 94.7%

  • 96% is 1.3 percentage points above the 94.7% average among 1,536 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

McElwain Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 73 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 82.6 average for 1,581 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,354th of 1,581 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 38 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMcElwain Elem 8176848773 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 81 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7382.6 1,581 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8783.0 1,552 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8480.9 1,526 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7681.5 1,510 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8183.9 1,490 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement74 C−8.7 vs similar economic context · 1,533 reporting
  • School Progress73 C−8.8 vs similar economic context · 1,529 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps69 D−10.9 vs similar economic context · 1,518 reporting
  • Academic Growth73 C−3.3 vs similar economic context · 1,501 reporting
  • Relative Performance67 D−12.3 vs similar economic context · 1,529 reporting
  • McElwain Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,581 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement74C6
School Progress73C7
Closing the Gaps69D1
Academic Growth73C7
Relative Performance67D3

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 1 point below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (74), so School Progress (73) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 74.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level69%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,533 reporting
  • Meets grade level47%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,533 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,533 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level75%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,531 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,531 reporting
  • Masters grade level29%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,531 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,526 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,526 reporting
  • Masters grade level20%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,526 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level54%−26 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,418 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,418 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,418 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,581 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,210
Economically disadvantaged
46.8%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
38.7%+26.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
24.6%+6.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.0%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
7.2%−6.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

McElwain Elem

African American: 30.6%Hispanic: 42.1%White: 12%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 9.1%Two or More Races: 6%
  • African American 30.6%
  • Hispanic 42.1%
  • White 12%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 9.1%
  • Two or More Races 6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,581 reporting for every category shown · 1,581 in full cohort

African American: 9.3%Hispanic: 39%White: 43.5%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.4%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.3%
  • African American 9.3%
  • Hispanic 39%
  • White 43.5%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,206
Economically disadvantaged students
564
Emergent bilingual students
467
Special education students
297

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
130
Students in TEA mobility denominator
853
TEA-published mobility rate
15.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,210 students in 2025–26, an increase of 171 (16.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,210

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+171

Increase · +16.5%

Change since 2021–22
+115

Increase · +10.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
1,210
Selected comparison
667

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,541 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for McElwain Elem
School yearStudents enrolledMcElwain ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,095 First available year 664.2
2022–23 1,374 Increase of 279 (25.5%) 669.5
2023–24 885 Decrease of 489 (35.6%) 669.7
2024–25 1,039 Increase of 154 (17.4%) 666.9
2025–26 1,210 Increase of 171 (16.5%) 667

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
71

6.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
135

11.71 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,153

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
6.2%
Selected comparison
11.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,233 rated schools reporting

−5.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
11.71
Selected comparison
26

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,323 rated schools reporting

−14.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for McElwain Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 794 18 2.3% 26 3.27 9.5% 18.1
2021–22 1,261 54 4.3% 115 9.12 11.7% 25.5
2022–23 1,522 74 4.9% 122 8.02 12.1% 27
2023–24 954 35 3.7% 65 6.81 12.1% 27.6
2024–25 1,153 71 6.2% 135 11.71 11.8% 26
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for McElwain Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 71 6.2% 135 11.71 11.8% 26
In-school suspensions 71 6.2% 133 11.54 10.6% 20
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k202120232025
  • McElwain Elem
  • Parent district: Katy ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,975
Selected comparison
$11,910

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 rated schools reporting

−$1,935 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,975 per student for this campus, $17,981 per student for its parent district, Katy ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMcElwain ElemParent district: Katy ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2021$8,139$13,959$14,797$8,888 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,480 rated schools reporting
2022$7,748$15,755$15,708$10,146 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,493 rated schools reporting
2023$7,627$17,477$16,792$10,606 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,510 rated schools reporting
2024$10,320$16,789$18,125$11,555 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,526 rated schools reporting
2025$9,975$17,981$18,972$11,910 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$70,736+$3,642 vs similar economic context
Teachers
87+43.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.9−6.5 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

McElwain Elem

Beginning: 9.2%1 to 5 years: 37%6 to 10 years: 20.8%11 to 20 years: 24.3%21 to 30 years: 6.5%Over 30 years: 2.3%
  • Beginning 9.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 37%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 24.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 6.5%
  • Over 30 years 2.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,581 reporting for every category shown · 1,581 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.5%1 to 5 years: 24%6 to 10 years: 19.4%11 to 20 years: 29.9%21 to 30 years: 16.8%Over 30 years: 4.1%
  • Beginning 5.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 24%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.8%
  • Over 30 years 4.1%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for McElwain Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMcElwain Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten23.218
Grade 120.618.4
Grade 226.418.6
Grade 331.219.2
Grade 426.919.1
Grade 530.320

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101914145.