Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Martinez C Elem

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 244 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
82/1002025-26
Change
−6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+4.2 ptsvs 77.8 average · 1,456 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
550 of 1,456tied with 67 others
B82

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 86 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.8 average for 1,456 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 18 points

64 to 82 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 82 is 4.2 points above the 77.8 average among 1,456 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

School Progress rose 23 points

60 to 83 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 83 is 4.1 points above the 78.9 average among 1,348 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Closing the Gaps above the similar-context average

81 +5.9 pts vs 75.1

  • 81 is 5.9 points above the 75.1 average among 1,340 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Martinez C Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 82 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.8 average for 1,456 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 550th of 1,456 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 67 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMartinez C Elem 8876586482 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 86 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8277.8 1,456 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6477.5 1,441 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24F5873.8 1,427 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7673.0 1,423 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8882.0 1,410 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement64 D−6.1 vs similar economic context · 1,351 reporting
  • School Progress83 B+4.1 vs similar economic context · 1,348 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps81 B+5.9 vs similar economic context · 1,340 reporting
  • Academic Growth83 B+9.5 vs similar economic context · 1,329 reporting
  • Relative Performance72 C−4.8 vs similar economic context · 1,347 reporting
  • Martinez C Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,456 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement64D6
School Progress83B7
Closing the Gaps81B9
Academic Growth83B7
Relative Performance72C8

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 7 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (83), so Student Achievement (64) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 83.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level63%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,351 reporting
  • Meets grade level36%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,351 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,351 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level68%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,351 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,351 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,351 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,348 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,348 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,348 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level39%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,279 reporting
  • Meets grade level18%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,279 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,279 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,456 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
244
Economically disadvantaged
98.0%+4.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
28.7%−15.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
10.2%−7.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.0%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
31.2%+7.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Martinez C Elem

African American: 51.2%Hispanic: 46.7%White: 1.2%Two or More Races: 0.8%
  • African American 51.2%
  • Hispanic 46.7%
  • White 1.2%
  • Two or More Races 0.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,456 reporting for every category shown · 1,456 in full cohort

African American: 15%Hispanic: 77.9%White: 4.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.3%
  • African American 15%
  • Hispanic 77.9%
  • White 4.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
244
Economically disadvantaged students
239
Emergent bilingual students
70
Special education students
25

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
54
Students in TEA mobility denominator
223
TEA-published mobility rate
24.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 244 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 27 (10.0%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
244

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−27

Decrease · −10.0%

Change since 2021–22
−64

Decrease · −20.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
244
Selected comparison
547.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,438 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Martinez C Elem
School yearStudents enrolledMartinez C ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 308 First available year 597
2022–23 280 Decrease of 28 (9.1%) 592.1
2023–24 257 Decrease of 23 (8.2%) 582.3
2024–25 271 Increase of 14 (5.4%) 574.5
2025–26 244 Decrease of 27 (10.0%) 547.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
282

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Martinez C Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 351 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 342 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 292 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 279 16 5.7% 30 10.75 13.8% 32.8
2024–25 282 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Martinez C Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Martinez C Elem
  • Parent district: Houston ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,723
Selected comparison
$13,566

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,440 rated schools reporting

−$1,843 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,723 per student for this campus, $17,026 per student for its parent district, Houston ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMartinez C ElemParent district: Houston ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,789$14,470$13,054$8,407 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,377 rated schools reporting
2019$8,432$13,643$13,108$8,377 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,392 rated schools reporting
2020$10,008$13,627$14,058$8,895 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,395 rated schools reporting
2021$10,428$13,515$14,797$9,795 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,397 rated schools reporting
2022$10,022$14,985$15,708$11,261 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,410 rated schools reporting
2023$12,508$16,350$16,792$11,829 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,423 rated schools reporting
2024$13,626$18,150$18,125$12,908 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,430 rated schools reporting
2025$11,723$17,026$18,972$13,566 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,440 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,585−$3,190 vs similar economic context
Teachers
18−20.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.6−1.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Martinez C Elem

Beginning: 33.3%1 to 5 years: 33.3%6 to 10 years: 11.1%11 to 20 years: 11.1%21 to 30 years: 11.1%
  • Beginning 33.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 33.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 11.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 11.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 11.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,456 reporting for every category shown · 1,456 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.7%1 to 5 years: 27%6 to 10 years: 18.5%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Martinez C Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMartinez C Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten13.818.1
Grade 117.418.3
Grade 221.518.2
Grade 321.318.3
Grade 410.818.1
Grade 59.218.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101912289.