+9.6 ptsvs 77.4 average · 2,386 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
420 of 2,386tied with 73 others
Score vs region
+1.3 ptsvs 85.7 average · 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg
Region 01: Edinburg placement
243 of 505tied with 32 others
Score vs county
+1.0 ptsvs 86 average · 127 rated schools in Cameron County
Cameron County placement
60 of 127tied with 12 others
Score vs similar-size group
+6.7 ptsvs 80.3 average · 3,559 similarly sized rated schools
Similar size placement
989 of 3,559tied with 141 others
Score vs state
+5.7 ptsvs 81.3 average · 7,646 rated Texas schools
Texas placement
2,456 of 7,646tied with 307 others
B87
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 91 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.4 average for 2,386 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 85.7 average for 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg.The current score is above the 86 average for 127 rated schools in Cameron County.The current score is above the 80.3 average for 3,559 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
STAAR result
All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters
Meets
51%vs 40.5% avg · +10.5 pts
Masters
20%vs 15.9% avg · +4.1 pts
Among 2,226 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Read the full rating context and placement
Martin Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 87 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.4 average for 2,386 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 420th of 2,386 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 73 others).
Martin Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 87 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 85.7 average for 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 243rd of 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg (tied with 32 others).
Martin Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 87 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 86 average for 127 rated schools in Cameron County. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 60th of 127 rated schools in Cameron County (tied with 12 others).
Martin Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 87 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.3 average for 3,559 similarly sized rated schools. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 989th of 3,559 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 141 others).
Martin Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 87 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 91 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement77 C+6.4 vs similar economic context · 2,226 reporting
School Progress85 B+6.5 vs similar economic context · 2,220 reporting
Closing the Gaps90 A+15.4 vs similar economic context · 2,206 reporting
Academic Growth83 B+10.4 vs similar economic context · 2,180 reporting
Relative Performance85 B+8.4 vs similar economic context · 2,220 reporting
Martin Elem
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,386 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
77
C
3
School Progress
85
B
5
Closing the Gaps
90
A
—
Academic Growth
83
B
7
Relative Performance
85
B
5
Closest to moving up: School Progress, 5 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (85), so
Student Achievement (77) is published above but does not enter the overall
score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 85.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level75%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,226 reporting
Meets grade level51%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,226 reporting
Masters grade level20%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,226 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level76%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,225 reporting
Meets grade level53%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,225 reporting
Masters grade level22%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,225 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level82%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,216 reporting
Meets grade level59%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,216 reporting
Masters grade level22%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,216 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level55%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,076 reporting
Meets grade level24%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,076 reporting
Masters grade level6%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,076 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,386 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this school serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
360
Economically disadvantaged
87.7%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
38.7%+1.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
21.4%+3.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.4%+1.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
17.1%−5.4 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Martin Elem
Hispanic 99.7%
Asian 0.3%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,386 reporting for every category shown · 2,386 in full cohort
African American 14.3%
Hispanic 74.4%
White 7.6%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 1.4%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 1.8%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 01: Edinburg · 505 reporting for every category shown · 505 in full cohort
African American 0.2%
Hispanic 97.5%
White 1.9%
Asian 0.3%
Two or More Races 0.1%
Selected comparison averageFor Cameron County · 127 reporting for every category shown · 127 in full cohort
African American 0.3%
Hispanic 96.2%
White 2.9%
American Indian 0.1%
Asian 0.4%
Two or More Races 0.2%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 3,559 reporting for every category shown · 3,559 in full cohort
African American 11.3%
Hispanic 54.4%
White 27.9%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 2.8%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.3%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
African American 11.5%
Hispanic 52.6%
White 27.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.4%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
359
Economically disadvantaged students
315
Emergent bilingual students
139
Special education students
77
Campus mobility · 2024–25
Mobile students
54
Students in TEA mobility denominator
317
TEA-published mobility rate
17%
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 360 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 55 (13.3%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
360
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
−55
Decrease · −13.3%
Change since 2021–22
−100
Decrease · −21.7%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This school
360
Selected comparison
590.6
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,358 rated schools reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Martin Elem
School year
Students enrolledMartin Elem
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
460
First available year
631.1
2022–23
438
Decrease of 22 (4.8%)
627
2023–24
414
Decrease of 24 (5.5%)
617.8
2024–25
415
Increase of 1 (0.2%)
612.3
2025–26
360
Decrease of 55 (13.3%)
590.6
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed
Rate not available
Disciplinary actions
11
2.59 per 100 students
Cumulative year-end enrollment
424
2024–25
Actions per 100 students · 2024–25
This school
2.59
Selected comparison
32
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,677 rated schools reporting
−29.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Martin Elem
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
483
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
2021–22
505
12
2.4%
16
3.17
12.8%
30.6
2022–23
473
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2023–24
444
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2024–25
424
Suppressed
—
11
2.59
—
32
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Martin Elem in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
Suppressed
—
11
2.59
—
32
In-school suspensions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
Out-of-school suspensions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Spending per student
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Martin Elem
Parent district: Brownsville ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This school
$13,006
Selected comparison
$13,003
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,373 rated schools reporting
+$3 vs similar economic context
For 2025, TEA reported $13,006 per student for this campus, $16,535 per student for its parent district, Brownsville ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Martin Elem
Parent district: Brownsville ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$8,660
$11,135
$13,054
$8,295
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,252 rated schools reporting
2019
$8,654
$11,998
$13,108
$8,341
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,284 rated schools reporting
2020
$9,651
$13,029
$14,058
$8,857
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,294 rated schools reporting
2021
$9,942
$13,534
$14,797
$9,592
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,299 rated schools reporting
2022
$11,161
$15,729
$15,708
$11,097
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,318 rated schools reporting
2023
$12,430
$16,177
$16,792
$11,634
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,344 rated schools reporting
2024
$17,288
$16,871
$18,125
$12,450
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,358 rated schools reporting
2025
$13,006
$16,535
$18,972
$13,003
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,373 rated schools reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers and actual class size
Average salary
$68,581+$711 vs similar economic context
Teachers
26−15.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14−0.4 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Martin Elem
Beginning 3.9%
1 to 5 years 15.6%
6 to 10 years 3.9%
11 to 20 years 23.8%
21 to 30 years 48.8%
Over 30 years 3.9%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,386 reporting for every category shown · 2,386 in full cohort
Beginning 7.3%
1 to 5 years 27.3%
6 to 10 years 18.9%
11 to 20 years 27.1%
21 to 30 years 15.1%
Over 30 years 3.5%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 01: Edinburg · 505 reporting for every category shown · 505 in full cohort
Beginning 2.7%
1 to 5 years 19.3%
6 to 10 years 16.2%
11 to 20 years 35%
21 to 30 years 22.6%
Over 30 years 4.2%
Selected comparison averageFor Cameron County · 127 reporting for every category shown · 127 in full cohort
Beginning 2.5%
1 to 5 years 20.5%
6 to 10 years 14.9%
11 to 20 years 35.1%
21 to 30 years 22.3%
Over 30 years 4.7%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 3,559 reporting for every category shown · 3,559 in full cohort
Beginning 6.1%
1 to 5 years 25.4%
6 to 10 years 18.9%
11 to 20 years 28.9%
21 to 30 years 16.6%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Beginning 6.2%
1 to 5 years 25.6%
6 to 10 years 19.2%
11 to 20 years 28.7%
21 to 30 years 15.9%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Average students in a class
TEA average class size by grade or subject for Martin Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subject
Average students per classMartin Elem · 2024–25
Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten
12.5
18.1
Grade 1
17.9
18.3
Grade 2
12.5
18.3
Grade 3
16.9
18.6
Grade 4
13
18.6
Grade 5
11.1
19.5
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 031901104.