Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Mark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted

Dallas County · Region 10: Richardson · 256 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
86/1002025-26
Change
−2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+5.1 ptsvs 80.9 average · 1,930 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
605 of 1,930tied with 74 others
B86

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 83 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 80.9 average for 1,930 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
60%vs 50.3% avg · +9.7 pts
Masters
27%vs 20.9% avg · +6.1 pts

Among 1,853 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
82%vs 55.1% avg · +26.9 pts
Masters
48%vs 22.3% avg · +25.7 pts

Among 1,850 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Mark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.9 average for 1,930 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 605th of 1,930 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 74 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted 8889888886 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 83 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8680.9 1,930 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8880.8 1,903 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8878.8 1,882 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8979.4 1,850 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8882.7 1,824 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement88 B+8.4 vs similar economic context · 1,853 reporting
  • School Progress87 B+5.6 vs similar economic context · 1,846 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps81 B+2.8 vs similar economic context · 1,829 reporting
  • Academic Growth76 C+1.5 vs similar economic context · 1,793 reporting
  • Relative Performance87 B+7.5 vs similar economic context · 1,846 reporting
  • Mark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,930 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement88B2
School Progress87B3
Closing the Gaps81B9
Academic Growth76C4
Relative Performance87B3

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (88), so School Progress (87) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 88.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level88%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,853 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,853 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,853 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level96%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,850 reporting
  • Meets grade level82%+27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,850 reporting
  • Masters grade level48%+26 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,850 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,841 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,841 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,841 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,699 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,699 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,699 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level93%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 948 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 948 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 948 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,930 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
256
Economically disadvantaged
58.6%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
10.9%−4.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
4.3%−14.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
97.1%+2.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
4.1%−11.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Mark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted

African American: 71.9%Hispanic: 23.8%White: 1.6%American Indian: 0.8%Two or More Races: 2%
  • African American 71.9%
  • Hispanic 23.8%
  • White 1.6%
  • American Indian 0.8%
  • Two or More Races 2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,930 reporting for every category shown · 1,930 in full cohort

African American: 10.2%Hispanic: 47%White: 36%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.4%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.9%
  • African American 10.2%
  • Hispanic 47%
  • White 36%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.9%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
256
Economically disadvantaged students
150
Emergent bilingual students
28
Special education students
11

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
15
Students in TEA mobility denominator
224
TEA-published mobility rate
6.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 256 students in 2025–26, an increase of 12 (4.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
256

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+12

Increase · +4.9%

Change since 2021–22
+98

Increase · +62.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
256
Selected comparison
633.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Mark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted
School yearStudents enrolledMark Twain School for the Talented and GiftedChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 158 First available year 638.7
2022–23 206 Increase of 48 (30.4%) 643.5
2023–24 241 Increase of 35 (17.0%) 642.4
2024–25 244 Increase of 3 (1.2%) 639.8
2025–26 256 Increase of 12 (4.9%) 633.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
249

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Mark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 188 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 158 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 210 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 243 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 249 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Mark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$16k$24k20182020202220242025
  • Mark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted
  • Parent district: Dallas ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$13,025
Selected comparison
$12,420

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 rated schools reporting

+$605 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $13,025 per student for this campus, $23,271 per student for its parent district, Dallas ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMark Twain School for the Talented and GiftedParent district: Dallas ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$10,152$13,363$13,054$7,923 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,757 rated schools reporting
2019$11,024$13,990$13,108$8,086 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,777 rated schools reporting
2020$13,103$14,981$14,058$8,691 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,796 rated schools reporting
2021$13,101$17,075$14,797$9,050 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,808 rated schools reporting
2022$15,869$18,716$15,708$10,434 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,826 rated schools reporting
2023$16,290$20,932$16,792$10,980 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,850 rated schools reporting
2024$15,237$22,990$18,125$11,804 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,878 rated schools reporting
2025$13,025$23,271$18,972$12,420 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$70,414+$3,945 vs similar economic context
Teachers
20−21.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.8−6.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Mark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted

Beginning: 10%1 to 5 years: 40%6 to 10 years: 10%11 to 20 years: 30%21 to 30 years: 10%
  • Beginning 10%
  • 1 to 5 years 40%
  • 6 to 10 years 10%
  • 11 to 20 years 30%
  • 21 to 30 years 10%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,930 reporting for every category shown · 1,930 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.9%1 to 5 years: 25.2%6 to 10 years: 19.3%11 to 20 years: 28.4%21 to 30 years: 16.3%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 5.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 25.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.3%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Mark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten16.517.9
Grade 122.818.2
Grade 215.118.4
Grade 32118.7
Grade 417.518.9
Grade 515.119.7
Grade 61217.5
Secondary English1514.8
Secondary math14.315.7
Secondary science14.317.1
Secondary social studies14.317

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 11 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 9of 552

    Attendance

    Dallas County · of the 552 that report this measure · tied with 2

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

4 measures

  • 31of 1,869

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,869 that report this measure · tied with 4

  • 33of 1,850

    Reading — Approaches

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,850 that report this measure · tied with 13

  • 33of 1,850

    Reading — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,850 that report this measure · tied with 6

  • 45of 1,850

    Reading — Meets

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,850 that report this measure · tied with 8

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057905220.