Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Mann STEAM Academy

Taylor County · Region 14: Abilene · 801 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
75/1002025-26
Change
+8 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−4.3 ptsvs 79.3 average · 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,351 of 2,019tied with 60 others
C75

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 64 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 79.3 average for 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Mann STEAM Academy is rated C by TEA, scoring 75 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 79.3 average for 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 8 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,351st of 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 60 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Targeted Support and Improvement

Official support label: TSI

Identification reason: African American, Economically Disadvantaged

TEA track year 0 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
29.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,019 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
3.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,019 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMann STEAM Academy 6765656675 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 64 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7579.3 2,019 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6679.0 1,999 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6576.9 1,984 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6577.5 1,955 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6782.0 1,935 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement71 C−5.4 vs similar economic context · 1,901 reporting
  • School Progress75 C−5.3 vs similar economic context · 1,894 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps76 C−0.5 vs similar economic context · 1,881 reporting
  • Academic Growth73 C−0.4 vs similar economic context · 1,833 reporting
  • Relative Performance75 C−3.7 vs similar economic context · 1,894 reporting
  • Mann STEAM Academy
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,019 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement71C9
School Progress75C5
Closing the Gaps76C4
Academic Growth73C7
Relative Performance75C5

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 4 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (75), so Student Achievement (71) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 75.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level65%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,901 reporting
  • Meets grade level37%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,901 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,901 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level61%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,891 reporting
  • Meets grade level32%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,891 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,891 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,750 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,750 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,750 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level53%−20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 898 reporting
  • Meets grade level26%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 898 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 898 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,019 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
801
Economically disadvantaged
68.9%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
9.1%−11.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
21.0%+2.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.0%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
24.6%+7.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Mann STEAM Academy

African American: 12%Hispanic: 56.2%White: 26.6%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.5%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4.4%
  • African American 12%
  • Hispanic 56.2%
  • White 26.6%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,019 reporting for every category shown · 2,019 in full cohort

African American: 12.1%Hispanic: 55.9%White: 25.9%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.1%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.5%
  • African American 12.1%
  • Hispanic 55.9%
  • White 25.9%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
801
Economically disadvantaged students
552
Emergent bilingual students
73
Special education students
168

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
153
Students in TEA mobility denominator
874
TEA-published mobility rate
17.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 801 students in 2025–26, an increase of 25 (3.2%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
801

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+25

Increase · +3.2%

Change since 2021–22
−63

Decrease · −7.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
801
Selected comparison
640.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,981 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Mann STEAM Academy
School yearStudents enrolledMann STEAM AcademyChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 864 First available year 654
2022–23 879 Increase of 15 (1.7%) 660.9
2023–24 759 Decrease of 120 (13.7%) 659.1
2024–25 776 Increase of 17 (2.2%) 656.8
2025–26 801 Increase of 25 (3.2%) 640.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
213

24.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
630

73.17 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
861

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
24.7%
Selected comparison
13.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,539 rated schools reporting

+11.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
73.17
Selected comparison
30.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,651 rated schools reporting

+42.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Mann STEAM Academy
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 979 234 23.9% 740 75.59 9.7% 19.5
2021–22 916 260 28.4% 929 101.42 12.9% 30.5
2022–23 923 274 29.7% 933 101.08 13.5% 32.5
2023–24 811 210 25.9% 568 70.04 13.4% 32.5
2024–25 861 213 24.7% 630 73.17 13.0% 30.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Mann STEAM Academy in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 213 24.7% 630 73.17 13.0% 30.9
In-school suspensions 180 20.9% 400 46.46 11.7% 23.5
Out-of-school suspensions 101 11.7% 168 19.51 7.3% 11
DAEP placements 56 6.5% 61 7.08 5.1% 6.2
Mandatory DAEP placements 27 3.1% 28 3.25 3.7% 4.3
Discretionary DAEP placements 30 3.5% 33 3.83 2.9% 3.4
JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Mann STEAM Academy
  • Parent district: Abilene ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,514
Selected comparison
$13,163

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,998 rated schools reporting

−$4,649 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,514 per student for this campus, $14,136 per student for its parent district, Abilene ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMann STEAM AcademyParent district: Abilene ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,652$10,118$13,054$8,002 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,861 rated schools reporting
2019$6,983$11,313$13,108$8,163 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,878 rated schools reporting
2020$7,091$14,875$14,058$8,711 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 rated schools reporting
2021$7,582$15,669$14,797$9,208 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,913 rated schools reporting
2022$10,154$15,331$15,708$10,446 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 rated schools reporting
2023$8,635$15,783$16,792$11,110 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,957 rated schools reporting
2024$8,594$14,106$18,125$12,354 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,983 rated schools reporting
2025$8,514$14,136$18,972$13,163 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,998 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$61,114−$5,311 vs similar economic context
Teachers
46+3.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
17.3+3.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Mann STEAM Academy

Beginning: 4.5%1 to 5 years: 30%6 to 10 years: 22.2%11 to 20 years: 28.9%21 to 30 years: 14.3%Over 30 years: 0.2%
  • Beginning 4.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 30%
  • 6 to 10 years 22.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.3%
  • Over 30 years 0.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,019 reporting for every category shown · 2,019 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.4%1 to 5 years: 26.8%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.6%21 to 30 years: 15.5%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.5%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Mann STEAM Academy in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMann STEAM Academy · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 622.517.8
Secondary English17.415.2
Secondary math19.816.2
Secondary science22.917.5
Secondary social studies21.817.4

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 221901045.