+6.8 ptsvs 89.2 average · 828 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
30 of 828tied with 28 others
Score vs region
+12.7 ptsvs 83.3 average · 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston
Region 04: Houston placement
38 of 1,303tied with 19 others
Score vs county
+12.6 ptsvs 83.4 average · 911 rated schools in Harris County
Harris County placement
32 of 911tied with 12 others
Score vs similar-size group
+15.0 ptsvs 81 average · 3,509 similarly sized rated schools
Similar size placement
32 of 3,509tied with 26 others
Score vs state
+14.7 ptsvs 81.3 average · 7,646 rated Texas schools
Texas placement
146 of 7,646tied with 100 others
A96
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 97 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 89.2 average for 828 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 83.3 average for 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston.The current score is above the 83.4 average for 911 rated schools in Harris County.The current score is above the 81 average for 3,509 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
STAAR result
All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters
Meets
89%vs 68.7% avg · +20.3 pts
Masters
69%vs 37.3% avg · +31.7 pts
Among 814 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Read the full rating context and placement
Mandarin Immersion Magnet School is rated A by TEA, scoring 96 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 89.2 average for 828 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 30th of 828 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 28 others).
Mandarin Immersion Magnet School is rated A by TEA, scoring 96 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 83.3 average for 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 38th of 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston (tied with 19 others).
Mandarin Immersion Magnet School is rated A by TEA, scoring 96 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 83.4 average for 911 rated schools in Harris County. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 32nd of 911 rated schools in Harris County (tied with 12 others).
Mandarin Immersion Magnet School is rated A by TEA, scoring 96 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81 average for 3,509 similarly sized rated schools. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 32nd of 3,509 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 26 others).
Mandarin Immersion Magnet School is rated A by TEA, scoring 96 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 97 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement96 A+6.0 vs similar economic context · 814 reporting
School Progress94 A+8.5 vs similar economic context · 812 reporting
Closing the Gaps95 A+8.3 vs similar economic context · 808 reporting
Academic Growth94 A+11.4 vs similar economic context · 801 reporting
Relative Performance94 A+14.2 vs similar economic context · 812 reporting
Mandarin Immersion Magnet School
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (828 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
96
A
—
School Progress
94
A
—
Closing the Gaps
95
A
—
Academic Growth
94
A
—
Relative Performance
94
A
—
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (96), so
School Progress (94) is published above but does not enter the overall
score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 96.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level97%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 814 reporting
Meets grade level89%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 814 reporting
Masters grade level69%+32 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 814 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level98%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 814 reporting
Meets grade level92%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 814 reporting
Masters grade level70%+31 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 814 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level97%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 812 reporting
Meets grade level91%+27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 812 reporting
Masters grade level73%+41 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 812 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level96%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 747 reporting
Meets grade level90%+24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 747 reporting
Masters grade level70%+31 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 747 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
Approaches grade level84%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 383 reporting
Meets grade level58%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 383 reporting
Masters grade level33%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 383 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (828 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this school serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
840
Economically disadvantaged
22.7%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
27.9%+17.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
6.1%−10.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
97.2%+1.7 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
2.0%−7.1 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Mandarin Immersion Magnet School
African American 8.7%
Hispanic 18.5%
White 10.5%
Asian 52.1%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 10%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 828 reporting for every category shown · 828 in full cohort
African American 8.2%
Hispanic 25.9%
White 48.6%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 11.7%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 5.2%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 04: Houston · 1,303 reporting for every category shown · 1,303 in full cohort
African American 19.1%
Hispanic 53.8%
White 16.9%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 6.7%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.1%
Selected comparison averageFor Harris County · 911 reporting for every category shown · 911 in full cohort
African American 19.3%
Hispanic 59.1%
White 13.1%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 5.4%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 2.7%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 3,509 reporting for every category shown · 3,509 in full cohort
African American 12.4%
Hispanic 53%
White 24.4%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 6%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 3.7%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
African American 11.5%
Hispanic 52.6%
White 27.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.4%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
840
Economically disadvantaged students
191
Emergent bilingual students
234
Special education students
51
Campus mobility · 2024–25
Mobile students
13
Students in TEA mobility denominator
692
TEA-published mobility rate
1.9%
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 840 students in 2025–26, an increase of 18 (2.2%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
840
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
+18
Increase · +2.2%
Change since 2021–22
+130
Increase · +18.3%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This school
840
Selected comparison
858.4
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 823 rated schools reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Mandarin Immersion Magnet School
School year
Students enrolledMandarin Immersion Magnet School
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
710
First available year
874.3
2022–23
739
Increase of 29 (4.1%)
879
2023–24
792
Increase of 53 (7.2%)
873.7
2024–25
822
Increase of 30 (3.8%)
868.1
2025–26
840
Increase of 18 (2.2%)
858.4
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
16
1.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment
Disciplinary actions
34
4.13 per 100 students
Cumulative year-end enrollment
824
2024–25
Share of students · 2024–25
This school
1.9%
Selected comparison
7.5%
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 593 rated schools reporting
−5.6 pts vs similar economic context
Actions per 100 students · 2024–25
This school
4.13
Selected comparison
14.6
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 673 rated schools reporting
−10.5 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Mandarin Immersion Magnet School
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
730
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
2021–22
721
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2022–23
737
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2023–24
800
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2024–25
824
16
1.9%
34
4.13
7.5%
14.6
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Mandarin Immersion Magnet School in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
16
1.9%
34
4.13
7.5%
14.6
In-school suspensions
16
1.9%
18
2.18
6.8%
11.6
Out-of-school suspensions
Suppressed
—
13
1.58
—
4.8
DAEP placements
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
Mandatory DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary DAEP placements
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Spending per student
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Mandarin Immersion Magnet School
Parent district: Houston ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This school
$8,824
Selected comparison
$11,215
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 821 rated schools reporting
−$2,391 vs similar economic context
For 2025, TEA reported $8,824 per student for this campus, $17,026 per student for its parent district, Houston ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Mandarin Immersion Magnet School
Parent district: Houston ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$6,686
$14,470
$13,054
$7,502
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 731 rated schools reporting
2019
$5,771
$13,643
$13,108
$7,564
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 745 rated schools reporting
2020
$6,943
$13,627
$14,058
$7,884
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 755 rated schools reporting
2021
$6,404
$13,515
$14,797
$8,433
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 760 rated schools reporting
2022
$7,414
$14,985
$15,708
$9,465
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 777 rated schools reporting
2023
$7,916
$16,350
$16,792
$10,022
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 793 rated schools reporting
2024
$8,003
$18,150
$18,125
$11,097
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 808 rated schools reporting
2025
$8,824
$17,026
$18,972
$11,215
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 821 rated schools reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers and actual class size
Average salary
$68,086−$646 vs similar economic context
Teachers
47−8.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
17.9+3.1 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Mandarin Immersion Magnet School
Beginning 8.5%
1 to 5 years 25.5%
6 to 10 years 25.5%
11 to 20 years 25.5%
21 to 30 years 8.5%
Over 30 years 6.4%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 828 reporting for every category shown · 828 in full cohort
Beginning 4.8%
1 to 5 years 22.6%
6 to 10 years 19.9%
11 to 20 years 32.5%
21 to 30 years 17%
Over 30 years 3%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 04: Houston · 1,303 reporting for every category shown · 1,303 in full cohort
Beginning 7.7%
1 to 5 years 27.3%
6 to 10 years 20.6%
11 to 20 years 27.2%
21 to 30 years 13.5%
Over 30 years 2.6%
Selected comparison averageFor Harris County · 911 reporting for every category shown · 911 in full cohort
Beginning 8.9%
1 to 5 years 28.4%
6 to 10 years 20.3%
11 to 20 years 26.2%
21 to 30 years 13%
Over 30 years 2.5%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 3,509 reporting for every category shown · 3,509 in full cohort
Beginning 6.2%
1 to 5 years 26.8%
6 to 10 years 20.2%
11 to 20 years 29%
21 to 30 years 14.9%
Over 30 years 2.8%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Beginning 6.2%
1 to 5 years 25.6%
6 to 10 years 19.2%
11 to 20 years 28.7%
21 to 30 years 15.9%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Average students in a class
TEA average class size by grade or subject for Mandarin Immersion Magnet School in 2024–25
Grade or subject
Average students per classMandarin Immersion Magnet School · 2024–25
Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten
15.4
18.7
Grade 1
14.1
19.1
Grade 2
14.4
19.7
Grade 3
13.8
20.8
Grade 4
17.7
20.1
Grade 5
16.4
21.8
Grade 6
22.2
19.4
Secondary English
18.5
17.7
Secondary languages other than English
19.1
19.8
Secondary math
13.4
18.3
Secondary science
20.3
20
Secondary social studies
22.9
20.1
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 12 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
#4–10 rankings
Fourth- through tenth-place results
4 measures
4of 812
Math — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 812 that report this measure
8of 874
All Subjects — Masters
Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure · tied with 1
10of 874
Reading — Masters
Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure · tied with 4
10of 873
Math — Meets
Harris County · of the 873 that report this measure
Other top-5% rankings
High placements in larger reporting groups
16 measures
12of 874
Attendance
Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure · tied with 1
12of 870
Chronically absent (lowest is best)
Harris County · of the 870 that report this measure · tied with 2
13of 874
Reading — Approaches
Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure · tied with 10
14of 869
Academic Growth
Harris County · of the 869 that report this measure · tied with 15
16of 874
Reading — Meets
Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure · tied with 5
20of 874
All Subjects — Approaches
Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure · tied with 10
21of 874
All Subjects — Meets
Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure · tied with 3
21of 873
Math — Approaches
Harris County · of the 873 that report this measure · tied with 11
24of 874
Student Achievement
Harris County · of the 874 that report this measure · tied with 17
26of 812
Relative Performance
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 812 that report this measure · tied with 10
26of 802
Science — Masters
Harris County · of the 802 that report this measure
30of 802
Science — Meets
Harris County · of the 802 that report this measure · tied with 7
32of 3,509
Overall score
Similar size · of the 3,509 that report this measure · tied with 26
45of 870
Closing the Gaps
Harris County · of the 870 that report this measure · tied with 13
68of 3,435
School Progress
Similar size · of the 3,435 that report this measure · tied with 55
114of 3,207
Science — Approaches
Similar size · of the 3,207 that report this measure · tied with 48
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above
this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears
once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any
tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones
no school would put in a press release.
Where this comes from
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101912460.