+7.2 ptsvs 77.8 average · 1,755 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
478 of 1,755tied with 61 others
Score vs region
−0.7 ptsvs 85.7 average · 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg
Region 01: Edinburg placement
311 of 505tied with 16 others
Score vs county
−1.0 ptsvs 86 average · 127 rated schools in Cameron County
Cameron County placement
81 of 127tied with 6 others
Score vs similar-size group
+4.6 ptsvs 80.4 average · 4,673 similarly sized rated schools
Similar size placement
1,708 of 4,673tied with 147 others
Score vs state
+3.7 ptsvs 81.3 average · 7,646 rated Texas schools
Texas placement
3,064 of 7,646tied with 260 others
B85
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 87 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.8 average for 1,755 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is below the 85.7 average for 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg.The current score is below the 86 average for 127 rated schools in Cameron County.The current score is above the 80.4 average for 4,673 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
STAAR result
All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters
Meets
47%vs 40.5% avg · +6.5 pts
Masters
19%vs 16.1% avg · +2.9 pts
Among 1,630 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Read the full rating context and placement
Lucio MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 85 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.8 average for 1,755 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 3 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 478th of 1,755 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 61 others).
Lucio MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 85 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 85.7 average for 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg. It is down 3 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 311th of 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg (tied with 16 others).
Lucio MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 85 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 86 average for 127 rated schools in Cameron County. It is down 3 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 81st of 127 rated schools in Cameron County (tied with 6 others).
Lucio MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 85 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.4 average for 4,673 similarly sized rated schools. It is down 3 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 1,708th of 4,673 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 147 others).
Lucio MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 85 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is down 3 points since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 87 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement77 C+6.7 vs similar economic context · 1,630 reporting
School Progress90 A+11.1 vs similar economic context · 1,627 reporting
Closing the Gaps74 C−1.2 vs similar economic context · 1,618 reporting
Academic Growth69 D−4.4 vs similar economic context · 1,605 reporting
Relative Performance90 A+13.2 vs similar economic context · 1,626 reporting
Lucio MS
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,755 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
77
C
3
School Progress
90
A
—
Closing the Gaps
74
C
6
Academic Growth
69
D
1
Relative Performance
90
A
—
Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 6 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (90), so
Student Achievement (77) is published above but does not enter the overall
score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 90.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level72%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,630 reporting
Meets grade level47%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,630 reporting
Masters grade level19%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,630 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level76%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,630 reporting
Meets grade level58%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,630 reporting
Masters grade level23%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,630 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level69%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,627 reporting
Meets grade level43%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,627 reporting
Masters grade level16%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,627 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level83%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,538 reporting
Meets grade level57%+23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,538 reporting
Masters grade level28%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,538 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
Approaches grade level61%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 511 reporting
Meets grade level21%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 511 reporting
Masters grade level7%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 511 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,755 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this school serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
601
Economically disadvantaged
95.5%+3.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
37.4%−4.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
27.8%+10.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.5%+1.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
17.5%−5.9 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Lucio MS
African American 0.2%
Hispanic 98.7%
White 1.2%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,755 reporting for every category shown · 1,755 in full cohort
African American 15%
Hispanic 77.3%
White 4.7%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 1.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 1.4%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 01: Edinburg · 505 reporting for every category shown · 505 in full cohort
African American 0.2%
Hispanic 97.5%
White 1.9%
Asian 0.3%
Two or More Races 0.1%
Selected comparison averageFor Cameron County · 127 reporting for every category shown · 127 in full cohort
African American 0.3%
Hispanic 96.2%
White 2.9%
American Indian 0.1%
Asian 0.4%
Two or More Races 0.2%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 4,673 reporting for every category shown · 4,673 in full cohort
African American 12.2%
Hispanic 54.6%
White 24.4%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.8%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 3.6%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
African American 11.5%
Hispanic 52.6%
White 27.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.4%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
601
Economically disadvantaged students
574
Emergent bilingual students
225
Special education students
167
Campus mobility · 2024–25
Mobile students
254
Students in TEA mobility denominator
686
TEA-published mobility rate
37%
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 601 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 26 (4.1%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
601
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
−26
Decrease · −4.1%
Change since 2021–22
−144
Decrease · −19.3%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This school
601
Selected comparison
559.8
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,737 rated schools reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Lucio MS
School year
Students enrolledLucio MS
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
745
First available year
607.8
2022–23
698
Decrease of 47 (6.3%)
604.1
2023–24
653
Decrease of 45 (6.4%)
594.2
2024–25
627
Decrease of 26 (4.0%)
587.1
2025–26
601
Decrease of 26 (4.1%)
559.8
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
156
23.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment
Disciplinary actions
399
59.91 per 100 students
Cumulative year-end enrollment
666
2024–25
Share of students · 2024–25
This school
23.4%
Selected comparison
13.1%
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,021 rated schools reporting
+10.3 pts vs similar economic context
Actions per 100 students · 2024–25
This school
59.91
Selected comparison
31.1
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,106 rated schools reporting
+28.8 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Lucio MS
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
876
14
1.6%
21
2.40
6.9%
13.2
2021–22
770
125
16.2%
294
38.18
12.6%
29.9
2022–23
731
204
27.9%
586
80.16
13.7%
33
2023–24
681
189
27.8%
560
82.23
13.8%
33.2
2024–25
666
156
23.4%
399
59.91
13.1%
31.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Lucio MS in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
156
23.4%
399
59.91
13.1%
31.1
In-school suspensions
147
22.1%
266
39.94
11.5%
22.1
Out-of-school suspensions
47
7.1%
76
11.41
9.6%
16
DAEP placements
43
6.5%
51
7.66
5.1%
6.2
Mandatory DAEP placements
21
3.1%
24
3.60
3.9%
4.6
Discretionary DAEP placements
23
3.5%
27
4.05
3.3%
4
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Spending per student
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Lucio MS
Parent district: Brownsville ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This school
$12,669
Selected comparison
$13,308
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,737 rated schools reporting
−$639 vs similar economic context
For 2025, TEA reported $12,669 per student for this campus, $16,535 per student for its parent district, Brownsville ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Lucio MS
Parent district: Brownsville ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$8,111
$11,135
$13,054
$8,374
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,654 rated schools reporting
2019
$8,087
$11,998
$13,108
$8,375
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,677 rated schools reporting
2020
$8,740
$13,029
$14,058
$8,871
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,680 rated schools reporting
2021
$7,998
$13,534
$14,797
$9,724
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,682 rated schools reporting
2022
$10,807
$15,729
$15,708
$11,212
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,698 rated schools reporting
2023
$13,287
$16,177
$16,792
$11,878
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,718 rated schools reporting
2024
$14,690
$16,871
$18,125
$12,757
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,726 rated schools reporting
2025
$12,669
$16,535
$18,972
$13,308
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,737 rated schools reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers and actual class size
Average salary
$68,387−$142 vs similar economic context
Teachers
48+8.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.6−2.1 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Lucio MS
1 to 5 years 23%
6 to 10 years 6.3%
11 to 20 years 37%
21 to 30 years 31.7%
Over 30 years 2.1%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,755 reporting for every category shown · 1,755 in full cohort
Beginning 7.7%
1 to 5 years 27%
6 to 10 years 18.6%
11 to 20 years 27%
21 to 30 years 14.9%
Over 30 years 3.5%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 01: Edinburg · 505 reporting for every category shown · 505 in full cohort
Beginning 2.7%
1 to 5 years 19.3%
6 to 10 years 16.2%
11 to 20 years 35%
21 to 30 years 22.6%
Over 30 years 4.2%
Selected comparison averageFor Cameron County · 127 reporting for every category shown · 127 in full cohort
Beginning 2.5%
1 to 5 years 20.5%
6 to 10 years 14.9%
11 to 20 years 35.1%
21 to 30 years 22.3%
Over 30 years 4.7%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 4,673 reporting for every category shown · 4,673 in full cohort
Beginning 6.1%
1 to 5 years 26.5%
6 to 10 years 19.8%
11 to 20 years 29%
21 to 30 years 15.4%
Over 30 years 3%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Beginning 6.2%
1 to 5 years 25.6%
6 to 10 years 19.2%
11 to 20 years 28.7%
21 to 30 years 15.9%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Average students in a class
TEA average class size by grade or subject for Lucio MS in 2024–25
Grade or subject
Average students per classLucio MS · 2024–25
Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 6
18.8
17.2
Secondary English
12.4
15
Secondary languages other than English
23
18
Secondary math
15.3
16.7
Secondary science
20.6
17.6
Secondary social studies
19.6
17.6
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 031901051.