Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Loraine T Golbow Elem

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 590 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
80/1002025-26
Change
−11 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+0.9 ptsvs 79.1 average · 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
959 of 2,019tied with 99 others
B80

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 88 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.1 average for 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
47%vs 45.9% avg · +1.1 pts
Masters
25%vs 18.3% avg · +6.7 pts

Among 1,894 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
45%vs 40.5% avg · +4.5 pts
Masters
22%vs 15.3% avg · +6.7 pts

Among 1,884 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
59%vs 50.7% avg · +8.3 pts
Masters
34%vs 19.9% avg · +14.1 pts

Among 1,892 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Loraine T Golbow Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 80 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.1 average for 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 11 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 959th of 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 99 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageLoraine T Golbow Elem 9171908180 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 88 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8079.1 2,019 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8178.8 2,001 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9076.7 1,985 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7177.3 1,960 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9182.0 1,941 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement76 C+0.1 vs similar economic context · 1,894 reporting
  • School Progress81 B+0.8 vs similar economic context · 1,887 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps76 C−0.2 vs similar economic context · 1,875 reporting
  • Academic Growth70 C−3.2 vs similar economic context · 1,831 reporting
  • Relative Performance81 B+2.4 vs similar economic context · 1,887 reporting
  • Loraine T Golbow Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,019 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement76C4
School Progress81B9
Closing the Gaps76C4
Academic Growth70C10
Relative Performance81B9

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 4 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (81), so Student Achievement (76) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 81.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level73%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,894 reporting
  • Meets grade level47%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,894 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,894 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level81%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 reporting
  • Masters grade level34%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,884 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,884 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,884 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level57%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,740 reporting
  • Meets grade level24%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,740 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,740 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,019 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
590
Economically disadvantaged
70.7%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
30.0%+9.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
23.5%+4.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.1%+2.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
4.1%−13.7 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Loraine T Golbow Elem

African American: 29.1%Hispanic: 42.3%White: 12.8%Asian: 8.7%Pacific Islander: 0.7%Two or More Races: 6.3%
  • African American 29.1%
  • Hispanic 42.3%
  • White 12.8%
  • Asian 8.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.7%
  • Two or More Races 6.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,019 reporting for every category shown · 2,019 in full cohort

African American: 12.4%Hispanic: 57.3%White: 24.4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.4%
  • African American 12.4%
  • Hispanic 57.3%
  • White 24.4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
584
Economically disadvantaged students
413
Emergent bilingual students
175
Special education students
137

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
60
Students in TEA mobility denominator
511
TEA-published mobility rate
11.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 590 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 50 (7.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
590

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−50

Decrease · −7.8%

Change since 2021–22
−278

Decrease · −32.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
590
Selected comparison
636.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,983 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Loraine T Golbow Elem
School yearStudents enrolledLoraine T Golbow ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 868 First available year 648.4
2022–23 959 Increase of 91 (10.5%) 655.4
2023–24 695 Decrease of 264 (27.5%) 653.8
2024–25 640 Decrease of 55 (7.9%) 652.2
2025–26 590 Decrease of 50 (7.8%) 636.9

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
13

1.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
23

3.40 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
677

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
1.9%
Selected comparison
13.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,544 rated schools reporting

−11.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
3.4
Selected comparison
30.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,654 rated schools reporting

−27.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Loraine T Golbow Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 912 15 1.6% 18 1.97 9.5% 18.8
2021–22 946 27 2.9% 59 6.24 12.9% 30.2
2022–23 1,041 33 3.2% 55 5.28 13.5% 32.4
2023–24 750 19 2.5% 38 5.07 13.3% 32.2
2024–25 677 13 1.9% 23 3.40 13.0% 30.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Loraine T Golbow Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 13 1.9% 23 3.40 13.0% 30.8
In-school suspensions 12 1.8% 18 2.66 11.6% 23.2
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Loraine T Golbow Elem
  • Parent district: Katy ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,086
Selected comparison
$13,180

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,000 rated schools reporting

−$2,094 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,086 per student for this campus, $17,981 per student for its parent district, Katy ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearLoraine T Golbow ElemParent district: Katy ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,504$14,611$13,054$8,036 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,864 rated schools reporting
2019$8,314$14,868$13,108$8,200 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,882 rated schools reporting
2020$9,102$15,576$14,058$8,743 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,904 rated schools reporting
2021$9,193$13,959$14,797$9,245 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,918 rated schools reporting
2022$10,053$15,755$15,708$10,509 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,942 rated schools reporting
2023$9,744$17,477$16,792$11,212 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,962 rated schools reporting
2024$12,235$16,789$18,125$12,402 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,984 rated schools reporting
2025$11,086$17,981$18,972$13,180 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,000 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$67,095+$632 vs similar economic context
Teachers
48+4.9 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.2−1.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Loraine T Golbow Elem

Beginning: 23.8%1 to 5 years: 37.5%6 to 10 years: 16.7%11 to 20 years: 15.8%21 to 30 years: 4.4%Over 30 years: 2.1%
  • Beginning 23.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 37.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 16.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 15.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 4.4%
  • Over 30 years 2.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,019 reporting for every category shown · 2,019 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.6%1 to 5 years: 27%6 to 10 years: 18.9%11 to 20 years: 27.5%21 to 30 years: 15.4%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 27%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.4%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Loraine T Golbow Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classLoraine T Golbow Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten19.717.9
Grade 11818.2
Grade 218.518.3
Grade 322.518.6
Grade 423.618.8
Grade 523.719.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

2 measures

  • 28of 1,950

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,950 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 91of 1,952

    Attendance

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,952 that report this measure · tied with 12

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101914113.